We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotels need to have prpoerly working Internet for business travellers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Minthorn Court, Markham, Ontario L3T 7N5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Western part
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Hotels need to have prpoerly working Internet for business travellers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

The hotel was fine - kept in good order. The staff was friendly. However, they are one of these places who does not have a good guest room internet services provider. You end up wasting a bunch of time with the tier 1 tech support, then I was on hold with tier2 for almost an hour...at 3 am! I hung up. I tested from another room, same flakey internet, couldn't even work or load normal web pages. I had to leave, checked into a competitor's hotel and had no problems with internet for the remainder of my stay.
Note to management: you have a nice hotel, but you have to get a proper internet service.

  • Liked — I generally like courtyards, it has a good location.
  • Disliked — The non working internet was a show stopper. Did not appreciate support wasting my time.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
35
26
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

Husband and I stayed at this hotel for five nights and were very pleased with the accommodation. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Complimentary tea and coffee in reception and free use of a computer.
Nice swimming pool and gym available.
Breakfasts were charged at about $12 and there was a good choice of foods. Waiting staff were very friendly and helpful toward us two visiting Brits with lots of information about the area.
There is a whole range of eating places nearby.
This hotel is about 40 minutes drive from downtown Toronto and about 2 hours from Niagara falls. Reccommend a visit to the Black Creek pioneer village which is only about 15 minutes drive.
All in all this was a good hotel with friendly helpful staff.

  • Liked — overall friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Hotel is new. Good computer connection.
Hotel has Very good lobby with computer and printers areas.
$12 for bunch buffet breakfast.


Hotel clerk was English young girl.
She did not know Bill and William is the same person.
My friends and business clients called and asked for me, and Hotel told them I wasn’t registered.
Major confusion and missed appointments and meetings.

Well, the shower water control fooled me. It seems to only have one temperature (hot – cold) control, and I cannot control the water flow – only setting is high. And I have been travelling to over 64 cities staying at different hotels around the world.

Good central area in Markham. But make sure you do not drive on Highway 407 – because this express is paid only, even this is not shown on the map (So, avoid this) and go around on 404.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

Our family of four stayed there for three days for a hockey tournament in North York. For the price we paid, this hotel is a great steal. Comfortable beds, nice environment, near major shopping areas... what more can be expected. The front desk staff is very friendly, espeically the guy with Rene as the first name.

Computers and printer at the lobby area are free to use and nobody except us used it during our entire stay. The pool is small but very clean and the hot tub is very cozy and clean.

One of the good things about this hotel is that it is located just across the street corner from Time Square Center with lots of oriental stores and restaurants. Everything is tasty and inexpensive. I told my wife that we don't need to drive far and still tasted a different restaurant every day and loved them all.

  • Liked — Clean and spacious
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

Consistently good Courtyard next to great eateries like Baton Rouge for steaks and Jack Astor's for an upbeat upper-casual dining and/or bar. Courtyards rarely disappoint and this one definitely does not.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

The room was spacious (two queen beds room) and clean. Our room was quiet even though it is next to the elevator.
Did not use the pool, so, no comments. Nice coffee served at the Lobby. Convenient to have a computer/internet access at the lobby area. Staff were great! Will recommend to other people.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

Stayed at the Courtyard on business.

The rooms were clean.

The lobby was nice and the staff were nice and helpful with directions.

There is a Market Cafe which you can buy drinks, snacks, fruit platters, and small sandwiches 24 hours a day. This worked out well for me since I had to be at work before they served breakfast in the restaurant.

My room had a jacuzzi in it even though I didn't request one!

The hotel is located around a small business park area and there were plenty of restaurants in walking distance.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham

Address: 65 Minthorn Court, Markham, Ontario L3T 7N5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Toronto Markham Hotel Markham
Courtyard Markham
Courtyard Toronto Markham
Markham Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Toronto Markham Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.