We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel ! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham to your Saves list
Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Cochrane Drive, Markham, Ontario L3R 8E3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto-Markham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 15%
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Markham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this hotel ! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are very happy with this hotel. Service is good and friendly, hotel is tastefully decorated from the lobby to the the room's bathroom. Very clean and happy with what necessities the hotel provided like hairdryer, enough towels, microwave, coffee maker & fridge. We even use their pool. It was close to shopping and restaurants. The only cons I can pinpoint are the older version air-con in the room that's noisy and can't control the room temperature. They have a flat screen TV in the room but no channels list. Overall we are very satisfied with our stay and will come back if I'm in Markham again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park i, Front Office Manager at Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. Penny we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    106
    47
    19
    13
See reviews for
76
41
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Park Inn in Markham area Ontario is OK to stay for several nights. It's not expensive compared to other hotels in Toronto. The location is good. It's close to all places, if you travel with a car. The food nearby is very good. You can have all kinds of delicious food. We stayed there for 4 nights. The old reviews were right about the A/C issue. It was very loud and sometimes too hot, sometimes too cold. We preferred it too cold since we could simply use the blanket to keep ourselves warm. The first day was too hot, and we didn't sleep well. They cleaned the room nicely everyday. Generally speaking, our experience was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

In 5 nights the only things cleaned in the room was the garbage and replacing the soaps. There was still dirt and hair in the bath everyday, the microwave was never cleaned out. The tables were never wiped. The counters in the bathroom were not cleaned (maybe they would do a little bit everywhere but I have travelled enough to know clean). The sheets were not changed in the 5 days nor were the bedcover. Even after I complained to the manager the room was still filthy that afternoon. Plus the supplies were left in the room. The rooms are run down as is the hotel. If there are new rooms I don't know where they are. The carpets in the hotel are so filthy I'm afraid to think of what's in there.The staff tried to be accommodating. We were traveling with a 3 year old and I was afraid for him to touch anything. My daughter left her Pandora bracelet on the bed. I remember seeing it there not aware she hadn't taken it. Tried to tell the front desk but she didn't pass it along. So the next day we reported it again. They have told us that they have looked everywhere as have we, but we know that it is gone. Don't know how they are going to handle it but I hope they do quickly. There is construction on the roads which is quite frustrating but it is all over the city of Toronto too!

Room Tip: At the moment I wouldn't know. It is definitely not new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park i, Front Office Manager at Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Park Inn by Radisson standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel bills itself as a "New contemporary hotel in Markham" and thats a quote from its website. In reality its an old hotel that has had its lobby updated and perhaps a few rooms. The website shows a photo of a nice bedroom, but didnt look anything like either of our rooms. I say "either of our rooms" because yes we tried 2. The first smelt so musty we asked to be switched, which the friendly staff did. The 2nd room was ok, no smells and the beds looked nice (but not like the photos)

I feel totally misled by the false advertising.

Other issues - The TV is a nice new LCD (as advertised on the website) but it only gets BASIC cable. I havent stayed in a hotel with basic cable in so long I'd forgotten hotels used to do that. So no high def channels (LCD does not mean high def) - just basic low-def cable.

The other big issue is the air conditioning. The unit is ancient - looks to be at least 20 years old and did not work properly. The thermostat knob was extremely stiff and not working. It basically either stays on at full cold or room fan only - had to get up in the middle of the night to switch it as it was getting too cold.

Overall not happy to have been misled about this being a "new" hotel. Definately not new - furniture is tired and chipped, hallways are drab and smell like they haven't had ventilation in years.

This would be okay if it was billed as an old hotel that has had a few upgrades, although I think it should be cheaper - more in the $70 range.

Oh and one last thing - we were denied free breakfast because we booked 2 nights before our stay. Had we booked more than 3 nights before we came we would have gotten free breakfast. That's just annoying.

Room Tip: Book more than 3 days i advance to get the breakfast, as for choosing a room, ask for the one in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed there this week for one night. We had zero complaint with our room, it was clean and decorated nicely, however there were other issues with the restaurant and the swimming pool.

The in house restaurant was terrible. There were three of us and we all received our food and three separate times. My 5 year old daughters "kids burger platter" was larger than our meals and the hamburger patty was literately all butchered up and partly in chunks. When she lifted it off her plate a hug chunk fell to the floor with led us to investigate and found that when you lifted the patty it looked like swiss cheese...giant holes through out it and all mangled.

Her replacement burger was a regular patty, however looking at it you cant help but assume the patty was DEEP FRIED........Why would you do that? ridiculous.

We paid and left unsatisfied and if we hadn't of consumed alcohol we would have ventured out for more food immediately. We let the front desk know and they notified the restaurant and they gave us a 5 dollar off coupon for another restaurant in the area......So go spend another 100 bucks on dinner and you get 5 bucks off!! we let the front desk know that we found that Insulating...When we checked out the next morning there was a letter stating if we return to the hotel we can get 15$ off on the next meal at the restaurant...We said but we would never eat there again all we want is my 5 year olds 6 dollar meal comped...the hotel manager came out and was extremely helpful and explained that though the restaurant is here its ran separately from the hotel, he instead of just taking off our daughters meal applied the whole 15 dollars off for "next time" off the current bill. Which we felt was quite fair.

Our last issue was that the swimming pool is used for SWIMMING LESSONS from 4-8pm!!!!!! This was my daughters first hotel trip and was quite sad about this and we found it quite annoying. We were not informed of this prior nor at check in and might not have chose this hotel is we had known. There is a small lane reserved for guests during this time, but its impossible to enjoy any time there during the 4hour lessons.... Very unfortunate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

In town with family, my friend recommend this hotel as it is close to their home. Like it a lot, very friendly staffs, nice room, quiet area with many good choices of restaurants around!! Will come back next time :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The room was a nightmare. Nite #1 - party next door kept us up until 1 in the morning. Took over 2 calls to the front desk and my personal appearance at my front door to get rid of the twenty-something crowd.

AC - oh, I wish we had some. The 1930 unit just had seen it's better days. All it was left for us is air and warm air I might add. We sweat thru Nite 1 and Nite 2 until they have a spare room to switch us to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham

Address: 555 Cochrane Drive, Markham, Ontario L3R 8E3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto-Markham)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Markham
#9 Business Hotel in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Toronto, the Park Inn by Radisson Toronto-Markham offers an ideal location near major corporate offices, including Scotia Bank, Mazda, Honda, IBM and the Seneca College Markham Campus. Modern rooms and suites boast a bright and colourful design, leaving guests refreshed and energized after a stay at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Markham
Markham Howard Johnson
Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.