We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE SUCKS. DONT STAY HERE. NOT WORTH THE HASSLE.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7095 Woodbine Avenue, Markham, Ontario L3R 1A3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE SUCKS. DONT STAY HERE. NOT WORTH THE HASSLE.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The Internet and the wifi DO NOT WORK in this hotel. They transferred me to a third room and it still does not work. I have lost so much time from work because my company is we based. I planned on getting so much done. I lost money staying here. The manager felt bad so they offered me dinner, which was horrible. Don't eat here either. The cook couldn't Even get a veggie wrap correct for one guest. The place is older and not as clean as you would expect. Garbage still full of trash from last guest. Nothing works, everything is old and shabby. Looks good at first glance but not worth it. Never again!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
razMarkham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi;
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that you encountered. Our records indicate that your lap top was connected and working properly in each room, but that your mobile was not connecting. Not all systems automatically connect. That is why we have a complimentary 24/7 internet help desk for any guest who wishes to avail themselves of that service. We will be reviewing our internet service as part of a major renovation that will take place starting this summer.
Thank you once again for your comments, as these will help us improve the services that we provide to all our guests.
Regards
Rawi Zayadi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    46
    21
    22
See reviews for
66
26
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

(1) I was scared when the toilet wiggled;
(2) I ordered the 'prime' rib burger from room service-cooked and then cooked again and then maybe cooked one more time to make sure it was done;
(3) Large breakfast buffet
(4) Bedding was nice

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
razMarkham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi;
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
The hotel will be undergoing a major renovation through the early part of summer to refresh our appearance.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the very near future.
Regards
Rawi Zayadi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California, United States
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a convenient hotel if you have business or personal activities in the Markham area. Good restaurant in the hotel and several others including a fun local pub within walking distance. Rooms have decent light, parking is good and there is a small workout room.

Room Tip: 8th and 9th floors are for frequent Holiday Inn travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
razMarkham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi;
Thank you for your comments.
It is great to read that both the hotel and the surrounding area met your needs.
I hope that we will have the privilege of hosting you again in the very near future.
Regards
Rawi Zayadi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Front desk staff were efficient, friendly, professional and empathetic. Good location, right off the 404 so easy access to highways. Good eateries and shopping close by. Good internet service (which was free). For the price, the room was good value. The property and the room I got looked a little dated, worn and needs attention to detail. A bit dusty in the room (especially behind the dressers when I reached down to plug in coffee maker), mildew on the grout in bath (but hard to keep away in this region due to dampness), tub didn't drain very well during shower (had to stand in a pool of my own dirty water), someone had already opened the lotion and torn the cap from it's attachment and then put it back, bed had a dip in it (aggravated my back) and throughout the room there were little things that were in need of repair. These little hiccups I see as a failure of the inspection process from the head housekeeper, management and what has been mandated at a higher level. This has been a consistent issue in the three ICH properties I have stayed at in North and South America in the last several years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
razMarkham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi;
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that we caused you during your stay. This is an isolated incident and certainly not reflective of the high standards that we wish to provide for our guests. Please be assured that this will be discussed with our housekeeping team, and that remedial action will be taken. Furthermore; our renovations are slated to start in late spring this year.
I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you our true hospitality in the very near future.
Regards
Rawi Zayadi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel check in staff was friendly and helpful. She gave us a room on the 11th floor which had been renovated recently. The bed was comfortable. There was a loveseat,and chair. There was a desk and office chair. All in good condition. The heating worked well but was a bit on the loud side. The lobby was very cold. Parking was free and in a covered garage which we appreciated due to the snow and cold. The pool area was clean, the water temperature was fine, but the air temperature was too cool for comfort when out of the water. It was very cold out and perhaps the hotel heating was strained? We had taken this hotel as it was convenient to someone we were visiting. For our purposes (a decent place to sleep) it was fine.

Room Tip: We asked for a room that was not used for pets as we both have allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
razMarkham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi;
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments.
Thank you for letting us know that we were able to meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies, though, for the cold pool area. I agree with you that the pool area should be at a comfortable temperature no matter how cold it is outside. There was an issue with our heating system, that has since been corrected.
I hope that you will allow us to host you again during your next trip to our area.
Regards
Rawi Zayadi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here from 1/17 to 1/20. Got the hotel thru IHG's priority rewards program, so I cannot comment about the price/value for money. From my experience, the staff was pretty good. Check in was quick and efficient, was expecting to be offered a room upgrade because I'm a platinum member but didn't get one... however I did get free breakfast for all three nights so that was not overall. Overall, the rooms are fine. A little outdated, and the TV is pretty small, but it was it clean and the bed pretty comfortable. I will gripe about the internet, MAN it's soooo slow. And my phone and tablet lost connection to the wifi all the time, it was frustrating. Had to go down to the lobby often to get a strong signal. I need to remember to ask the front desk to be put in a room that's close to the wireless router. Anyways, considering it didn't cost me a dime I can't really complain.

Room Tip: ask for a room that's close to the wireless router!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
razMarkham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi;
Thank you for your comments.
Please accept my apologies in regards to the internet. We are aware of the issue. Most recently we upgraded our service to 40 mb's in bandwith. We are presently negotiating to increase that to 100mb's in bandwith. I am glad that the rest of your stay was satisfactory.
We are expecting to start a renovation program in the spring of this year as part of an on going improvement plan.
I hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in the very near future.
Regards
Rawi
Rawi Zayadi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have spent some time in this hotel, almost more than 20 days in Dec 2012 / Jan 2013 period. it was my home away from my actual home. Front desk staff are very helpful, rooms are clean and somewhat outdated, but hey this is an older building.
internet connection is kinda slow, but tolerable for business purposes.
As for food, food is good and priced accordingly.
Only thing is that the menu in the restaurant needs to be updated more frequently.
overall very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
razMarkham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi
Thank you for having chosen our hotel during your stay in Markham. Thank you also for giving us your comments.
I am glad to hear that our team's efforts were able to meet your expectations. We are expecting to start renovations in the spring of this year as part of an on going improvement plan.
I hope that we will have the privilege of hosting you again in the very near future.
Regards
Rawi
Rawi Zayadi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham

Address: 7095 Woodbine Avenue, Markham, Ontario L3R 1A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of the hotel. Relax & Rejuvenate at One of the Best Markham Hotels With a central location close to highways and downtown Toronto, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto Markham has a comfortable atmosphere, convenient amenities and all the perks you desire in a hotel. Markham attractions include art galleries, shopping centres and golf courses. If you're planning a vacation and looking for hotels, our Markham Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites near Toronto is the perfect choice. You'll be near a variety of attractions including Markham Museum, Markham Theatre for Performing Arts and Varley Art Gallery of Markham. Our hotel is close to Toronto and its many attractions, including the Hockey Hall of Fame and the Toronto Zoo. Heading our way on a business trip and looking for hotels? In Markham, you'll find that we have the best solutions for your business needs. With 16 meeting rooms with audio/visual equipment, a Business Centre with copy and fax services and complimentary high-speed Internet access, we have all your corporate needs covered. When it comes to quality hotels, the Markham, Ontario Holiday Inn is the smart choice, as we provide comfortable rooms and choice amenities, including on-site dining, an indoor, heated pool, a whirlpool and a Fitness Centre. Our friendly, professional staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Toronto - Markham
Holiday Inn Hotel Toronto
Holiday Inn Markham
Markham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Toronto - Markham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.