We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 Warden Avenue, Markham, Ontario L6G 1A5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Getaway Package
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Markham
chicago, IL
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Good, but could be excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here for a fair amount of nights on recent trip to Markham/Toronto. Summary:

Front desk staff was very good. They were helpful and assisted with switching my reservation closer to an airport hotel on my last night before an early flight even though this was well after normal checkout time at no extra charge. The serving staff in the restaurant was nice the one time I went for breakfast to sit/stay. However, a couple times I went to use my room included continental breakfast coupon and though you'd get a coffee and Danish to go it seemed that was it was met with less than enthusiastic approach unless you were sitting and staying.

I stayed in the extended stay rooms and the rooms were large and seemed to be newly remodeled. Beds were comfy and room itself had all the needs of a kitchen, living room area and office area.

Here are some things noticed over the longer stay which was nothing super huge, but for a higher end hotel I wouldn't expect to see them per say. The first night I went to get a soda out of the machine in the hall. It was sold out. As I left to check out a couple weeks later the machine was still sold out-never filled in that long. A room service tray sat in the hall for multiple days without being picked up. The rate I had included parking, but if you didn't get that rate-paying $10 a night to park and it's not like the place is downtown or in a cramped area for parking. $10 to pay to park in a surface lot seems a bit crazy. I could even see it if maybe someone wanted the covered parking they had but the open air surface lot for hotel guests!? Free wired Internet but $9.99 for wireless Internet again is a bit steep. Now the wired internet did not work in my room or in another coworkers room so they gave us the wifi included which is nice, but the fact we had to have it charged and then ask later to have removed from the bill is some additional work.

I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
7
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you need to use the wireless intent when staying at this hotel be prepared to pay through the nose. $24.95 gets you 3 days or it is $9.99 for a 24 hour period. The rooms are not cheap, quite nice but it irks me they charge for everything else as an extra. Parking, breakfast, internet, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have travelled a lot over my career and stayed in many hotels. Earlier in July this one was recommended by a company I was dealing with as close to where I needed to be in the morning. I don't normally stay at Hilton's, usually staying with HI Express or Marriott.

Checking went smoothly except when I didn't get a wifi password. When I asked for one I was told that it would be an extra $10 per night! Is this 2004? I haven't seen a hotel charge for wifi in years and if I had know, then I would have stayed elsewhere.

That was start for me of a not so great stay. The room service menu wasn't great, and there was only a McDonalds close by. The room was nice, bed comfortable, but that was all I could say. Only one person ever said hi when coming and going from the hotel.

Overall, I would skip this hotel as there are much better, for either higher or lower price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, AL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is nothing particularly outstanding about this Hilton - other than the extremely courteous staff - but the location is fantastic if you have business in Markham.

The hotel is located just off the expressway and Warden Avenue is rich with dining options (especially Asian restaurants), shopping and entertainment. You will not feel isolated or bored at this property.

The only notable drawback is the paid parking. I understand why conference guests might be required to pay to park on site, but guests parking should be validated/included/complimentary. The same can be said for wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay in many Hotels around the world and this hotel has the open family feel that want's to make you keep coming back the people are friendly the open atrium bar area gives you a place to relax the full service restaurant does require you to look for a place to go and have a good meal ( it's a great choice)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First BIG, BIG ups to Grace in reservations. Mr Manager ...... Grace deserves a bonus because going forward all my stays in Toronto which used to be at Markham Garden Inn will be at Hilton Suites. My travel agent screwed up my reservation on this and long story short after cancelling this reservation and then calling back to get it back Grace was the picture of perfection and professionalism.
The hotel itself also excellent. Great value (although my company has a corporate rate so maybe better than others) very clean, modern, great rooms. I ended up with a very nice suite, and it was a suite. Many hotels trying to pawn off an L shaped room as a suite nowadays. This suite had a large living room with a dining table, couch, chair, and desk/work station. Seperate bedroom (with a door - yes this is a suite), two seperate closets, and two TV,s (living room and bedroom). My only complaint would be the TV chanel selection. Very basic, in fact maybe less so, did not even have CNN. Basic networks, one sports, several ethnic chanels. Hotel of this quality should have a better package. This would have probably made my star selection a 4, but Grace brought it back to a five

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The soaring atrium lobby is a great place to congregate, have a drink, do business. Fitness center is huge, very impressive facilities. The room was clean, and yes, it is a suite, so it is really 2 rooms. Our buffet lunch was not bad for a hotel. Bar service a bit slow but friendly and prices were not outrageous. Certainly would stay again.

Room Tip: Maybe upper floors are quieter? Level 2 for conference rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa

Address: 8500 Warden Avenue, Markham, Ontario L6G 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Toronto/Markham Conference Centre Hotel Markham
Hilton Hotel Markham
Hilton Markham
Markham Hilton
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.