We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is yummy compared to other AYCE sushi place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi on 7

Sushi on 7
4568 Hwy 7, Markham, Ontario L3R 1M5, Canada
(905) 940-9288
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 488 Restaurants in Markham
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Food is yummy compared to other AYCE sushi place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Went this week with a total of 4 adults and one kid! Found it tasty and fast!! After trying out other AYCE sushi place in RH a few weeks ago, returning to this place is heavenly! Menu was updated and now deep fried ice-cream is no longer offered which is a little disappointing!! Overall great experience and will definitely return!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I have been to quite a few AYCE Sushi places and we both agreed that this one has been by far the worst one. The food is not fresh, the sashimi was chewy! The maki rolls are huge and have so much rice that you can barely account for it having any sushi in it at all. The only thing we actually enjoyed eating was the shrimp tempura and edamame, but let's be honest here, how can those 2 things ever be done wrong? lol The service was mediocre and it's no wonder, they automatically apply a gratuity charge to your bill. So for 2 people it came to over $50. Definitely not worth it. We will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a let down!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

After reading TA reviews I decided to give it a shot...what a
disappointment.
The food was marginal at best...the atmosphere was diner like and the service was border line rude.
Drive a bit north west to Yellowtail...you won't be disappointed.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

sashimi are very fresh and tasty......over all great experience

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not as good as before.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The last time that I went to Sushi on 7 was long ago. Our last visit, the food quality and taste were much better. This evening, my family and I went again and we were quite disappointed at the quality of the sashimi and the taste of the eel with rice. The sauce that they put into the grill beef or enoki mushroom beef wrap and the eel rice taste the same. The tempura used to be crispier. Price wise is still affordable and they still serve good quality soft drink in a can and not the cheap brand. Sashimi wasn't as fresh compared to the last time I went for dinner. In conclusion, food quality has gone from excellent to satisfactory or need improvement. Hope the quality of the food will go back to the top again. Freshness is very important when it comes to sashimi. One other thing was the wasabi wasn't fresh and spicy. I guess they mixed too much and they left some overnight for the next business day. The wasabi was dry hard when I picked it up with my chopstick to mix it in soy sauce. Menu is still ok with a good variety. The restaurant is tiny. Reservation maybe needed when it comes to the weekend.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi on 7 also viewed

 

Been to Sushi on 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi on 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.