We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi California

Sushi California
501A North Road, Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
604-931-8284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 255 Restaurants in Coquitlam
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Fresh, hot,,,, Service ok but price is attractive, Always line up... people like it.
At list once a week we are eating with friends

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Its a little cramped and very busy but thats what makes this place the best.
Good sushi for the dollar
Good service too. You wont run out of tea
Double spicy tuna roll is my new favourite roll and only sushi cali on austin and lougheed has it!
Check it out :))

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Choose quality over quantitiy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place was really good when it first started, but now not so much. Their quality has gone way down, they make your rolls without care because its so busy and I just don't enjoy it anymore. The reason why its popular is because its so cheap, but that's about it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver bc
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Big does not always mean better!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Since this place was so busy we would give it a try. First off we asked for real crab... not available. O.K. then we will not order crab. My Dynamite roll was pre made and soooo BIG? Yuck. The Ebi is huge too. Small bites are the way you eat sushi. We saw the Sashimi and they gave you a hunk of a fish. This was like eating at a MCDonalds. The bigger the better. The only good thing was the girls who serve are fast and attentive. No quality here...only if you want nasty sushi.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Crazy Busy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Super good food and good prices, but really small place and really busy!! Servers did the best they could!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi California also viewed

Coquitlam, British Columbia
Coquitlam, British Columbia
 
Coquitlam, British Columbia
Coquitlam, British Columbia
 

Been to Sushi California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.