We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2+, With Plusses and Minuses” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Coquitlam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Coquitlam to your Saves list
Ramada Coquitlam
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   631 Lougheed Highway, Coquitlam, British Columbia V3K 3S5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Coquitlam
Ocean Shores, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“2+, With Plusses and Minuses”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in July. The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. Sadly, the rooms are in serious need of a major renovation, especially the bathrooms. The towels are very threadbare, and there must have been a shortage on washcloths, because they only gave us one for two people and my sister got none! In addition, we had booked a king room with a sofa. Our sofa was missing, and in it's place were two banquet chairs. Not very comfortable or attractive. Housecleaning staff failed to clean clean my sister's room, right next door to ours, on the second day of our stay. When we returned that evening and discovered this, she was told my the person at the desk that he was the only person there and could do nothing about it. He didn't even offer her fresh towels or room coffee, which would have helped. The grounds were also very poorly kept--lots of weeds and overgrown grass did not offer a very good view from our window. On the plus side, while the bed was too hard for my taste, my husband was fine with it , and the bedding and pillows were great. Also very quiet, even though the hotel was full. Air conditioning worked fine, as did the microwave, fridge and coffee pot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
womanagment, Manager at Ramada Coquitlam, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear sreason7,
Thank you for taking the time out to post your review regarding your stay with us. We apologize that there were some issues regarding housekeeping with your sisters stay. Please accept our sincere apologies. We strive to keep our guests very comfortable and maintain a high level of cleanliness. We hope that you will give us a second chance and come visit us again.
Thank you kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    45
    28
    16
See reviews for
51
18
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Friend told me about this hotel but I must admit I was pretty hesitant after reading a couple of their past reviews but thought I'd give it a try, I was pleasantly surprised, the front desk staff was accommodating, I had expressed concern about bugs and she told me they were on a pest control program so rooms are regularly checked and that this is part of Ramada brand requirement which gave me peace of mind. I was impressed by the large 40" flat screen TV and the excellent condition of the room, wifi signal is pretty good and steady. Rate I thought was reasonable so I would recommend this hotel and I would come back and stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
womanagment, Manager at Ramada Coquitlam, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Joy A,
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit here. We strive to give our guests the best customer service we can and we appreciate you taking notice in that. We hope that you will come visit us again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here for 7 nights. This hotel has a pleasant and accommodating staff, and it's near shopping and restaurants. But the hotel is very run down, and the rooms were not clean. It's hard to get comfortable when you're surrounded by grime. The pool area looked dirty too. The AC/heating unit was not working. The room had very few outlets which made charging our phones and tablets difficult. The internet access was unreliable. It was better in the rooms in the main building. We switched rooms a few times, and none of them looked anything like the pictures they provide.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
womanagment, Manager at Ramada Coquitlam, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear CGTL,
Thank you for you feedback regarding your stay with us. We apologize that you experienced some inconveniences and we assure you we will make sure to prevent this from happening again. We hope that you see you again in the near future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent 14 days at this property, during recent business trip. Clean and Comfortable rooms. Loved the indoor pool & spa, after a busy day. Staff very pleasant and helpfull. Thank you Gloria, Linda, and Olivia. Plan to bring my family on next visit.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
womanagment, Manager at Ramada Coquitlam, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear uhuru1963,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We see that you enjoyed our indoor heated pool and hot tub. Many guests come stay here because of our spa area. Great place to unwind. We thank you for taking they time out to post your review. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Thank you kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Family emergency resulted quick travel arrngements and making hotel reservation without normal due diligence. Relied on the Ramada name - BIG mistake!!! This is an old 2 storey motel on the side of the highway that saw its best days long ago. Very surprised to see the Ramada label attached, but a sign does say it is privately owned and operated. A bit sketchy, but thought room looked Ok - dated, odd counter and sink in tbe room, single pane windows that rattled in the frames. Decided to chek the bed beore I settled in - pulled back sheet and there were live bugs moving. Gross! Left right away. Clerk did not seem surprised when I reported the bed bugs.

One star is too much or this dive.

Found another first class hotel a few bloks west or only $10 more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
womanagment, Manager at Ramada Coquitlam, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear CanTravel106,
These claims that you have made are incorrect and defamatory and we take this very seriously. Not only does this affect our business but putting false accusations affects our staff. We have a contract with a pest control company who come in on a monthly visit. The day you made this claim they were contacted and confirmed that there was absolutely no bed bug activity at our property. We have a letter of authorization to prove this. We suggest that you get your facts straight before posting lies on the TripAdvisor website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was the only one to allow our family of five to stay in the same room. While the size of the room is remarkable, it is hard to have positive comments otherwise. I suspect this was a great place when it was built, but my goodness, try some renovations. The key card took between 10-12 attempts before we could get in - funny the first time, not so much after. The wifi didn't work, the hide-a-bed is broken, the remotes don't work, the coffee pot doesn't fit together, it appears that someone kicked in the bedroom door and rather than replace it, they filled it in with plaster. Someone (more like ones) have beat the crap out of the outside door that opens onto a very dark back lot. And here is another kicker, the light bulb was burnt out in the lamp in the bedroom. I removed it and set it beside the lamp for the room cleaners to replace. They didn't, so I took it to the front desk to get another one...they didn't have a spare!?! The front desk said it would be done today, guess what? Still no light bulb. The staff in the restaurant are great, but I haven't much good to say about the care we have received at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
womanagment, Manager at Ramada Coquitlam, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Carmen Ryan,
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. We apologize that your experience was less than satisfying. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and unfortunatly the service you recieved was not up to par. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

- Typical Ramada, as Ramada's are hit-and-miss.
- This one is not new but is what you expect for that price and that chain.
- Front desk was useful as the magnetic key knob didn't work / unlock well and the clerk came upstairs to try to fix it.Then I had to call again as the TV was stuck on 1 channel.
So they ended up giving me another room but those are 2 basic things that should work without any doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
womanagment, Manager at Ramada Coquitlam, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear JohnnyCalgary,
Thank you for taking the time out to post your review. We apologize that you had some issues with the door entry and the tv channels. We hope with the change of room that everything was ok. We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Coquitlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Coquitlam

Address: 631 Lougheed Highway, Coquitlam, British Columbia V3K 3S5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Coquitlam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Coquitlam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Coquitlam 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Coquitlam offers an extensive selection of cozy rooms for the individual, families and groups. A dedicated staff aimed at providing the highest level of quality service for your comfort. Relax in our indoor hot tub & heated swimming pool ~ Surf the Net with complimentary Wi-Fi ~ On-Site dining offering a wide array of menus ~ banquet & conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Coquitlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Coquitlam Hotel Coquitlam
Coquitlam Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Coquitlam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.