We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont recommend for lunch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thai House Restaurant

Thai House Restaurant
180 West Esplanade, North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
6049879911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 287 restaurants in North Vancouver
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Since 1986, the Thai House has been consistently setting the standard for quality and service through creative and careful attention to all details. Their menu offers a wide array of all the popular traditional Authentic Thai dishes.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“dont recommend for lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I went for lunch, at about 1 in a Sunday. The food came so fast it must have been sitting around, including the rice. I am 95% sure I got food poisoning from this lunch. I was sick by evening and did not have much dinner. We had a yellow curry, and a peanut sauce chicken dish with rice. Tasted good though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    17
    15
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“The Sad Decline of a Long Time Favourite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Thai House Restaurant is a long time favourite. The Chaing Mai Prawns have been one of our staples for years -- a special treat that we sought out two or three times a a year. We had a mediocre experience about a year ago, but this year's take out order was well below par. The Pad Thai was unimaginative and painfully dull. We threw half of it away. The green curry was fine -- equal to that of a standard Thai restaurant. The chicken and vegetable dish was unappealing -- it is the kind of Asian vegetable dish you can get at any Chinese food restaurant. The Chaing Mai Prawns were extremely disappointing. What was once a special dish had been rendered boring. For the first time ever, we had left-overs and then could not find any takers the next day. It is not quite sure that has gone wrong, but the Thai House has become below average. We will not be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor hygiene”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice, both times I had a reaction. Service was good, ambiance was good but I will not go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was filling but that was about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This restaurant has been a mainstay in North Vancouver for many years. We have gone once or twice a year since they opened at this location and I have noticed a downward trend in the quality of the food. The past month we were hungry so we dropped in to have a meal. The service, decor and location are the best things going for this restaurant. The food has decent sized portioned but they lean towards lots of sauce and are heavy on noodles and rice with little vegetables or meat. The pad thai had an odd aftertaste and the Thai spring rolls are the same ones you can buy frozen and in bulk at Costco. The green curry with chicken was tasty but mostly curry sauce. We left full but with no desire to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding soup!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I love Thai food - our favourite Winnipeg restaurant is Thai.
This location was near our hotel so we gave it a shot.
As one reviewer mentioned, don't "judge a book by its cover".

It is unassuming from the outside but very well done on the inside. Modern & comfortable.
The entries were fine....nothing out of this world.

But the soup...that's another story!
If you enjoy soup with intense flavour, do yourself a favour and try the Tom Kah soup. We had it with prawns. Extremely well prepared and terrific flavours.

We could have skipped the entries and just ate soup for our meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai House Restaurant also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Thai House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.