We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jagerhof

Jagerhof
71 Lonsdale Ave, North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-980-4316
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 296 Restaurants in North Vancouver
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

After reading a few previous reviews we weren't sure we would try this restaurant. Although it is a bit on the small side with rustic German/Austrian decor, we had a wonderful dinner. We both ordered Jager Schnitzel served with red cabbage (first time I have tried it and it was delicious) and your choice of pan potatoes or spaetzle. My wife had the potatoes and I had the spaetzle. The schnitzel with mushrooms and gravy were delicious. The service was excellent, the owner seated us and was friendly and helpful in selecting a German beer. It was like a good home cooked meal.
We are glad we went and have already recommended this restaurant to a few of our friends.
The prices were also very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great dining experience !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We only recently heard about Jagerhof and what a good dining experience it was. We went for lunch, were warmly welcomed by the owner and staff. We had the lunch special. A true delight... my husband and I both are foodies , the potato/pea/butter lettuce pureed soup was unique, light delicious, the schnitzel was perfectly cooked ( not heavily fried as we've found in other restaurants) presented with a lovely side salad, we also ordered side-dishes of red cabbage (so much nicer than the rather sweet tasting ones we've had in other places) the freshly made spaetzle was excellent. Chris, the new owner ,obviously has an eye for what is needed atmosphere wise/foodwise in the up and coming area of lower Lonsdale- we look forward to seeing the updates Chris told us about, including the possibility of outdoor seating. We look forward to having many more great dining experiences in this truly delightful restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Under New Ownership”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This has been a place of 33 years history (and my eating there). However, this week we went and found it has changed ownership and cooks.
Menu is the same but we reserve judgement .. schnitzel was good (we had the Swiss) . The fried potatoes were even better than before but the red cabbage and the spaetzle were very disappointing. Its still very knew so we'll go back in about a month and see if its still going to be one of our 'regular' spots. (We only go for lunch because we retired and can do that -evenings always were too busy and too slow). They didn't offer a lunch special which we are used to (a special selection including soup or salad).

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Good wholesome food at a fair price, longevity speaks volumes and this restaurant has been a fixture for years.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Schnitzel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I were strolling around North Vancouver when we came upon this restaurant. The prices were reasonable so we decided to have lunch here. I ordered the jager schnitzel and she had dumpling soup with cheese schnitzel. The soup was very good and the schnitzels were excellent. The portions were large and we both remarked it was the best meal we have had in Vancouver. In fact, we had spent the month of May in Germany and Austria and the food here was better than anything we had in Europe. The decor is not fancy but the food was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jagerhof also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Jagerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jagerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.