We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   462 East 1st Street, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7L 1B7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
View of Vancouver Harbour
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't be happier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Margaret was a gracious and lovely host. So friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and cozy. Little details like in room coffee and tv were thoughtfully in place. The house itself is very well designed and solidly built so I couldn't hear a peep from any neighbouring rooms. A short walk from trendy shops and restaurants. Close to the water taxi. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
23
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Værløse
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at Ocean Breeze B&B for 5 nights mid September 2013, and enjoyed it very much. The room (French Provincial) is equiped with all you can ask for, and has a lovely balcony with a great view to the skyline of downtown Vancouver. The breakfasts was very good as they changed every day. And frechly cooked and enjoyed, while chatting with Margaret and our co-guests about the expectations for the day. Margaret gave us some very good advice and hints as to where to go, how to get there, and what to see. The location is okay, about 20 min. (slow)walk from Lonsdale Quay - or 8 CAD taxi.
Marianne & Lars, Varelose, Denmark

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay In Margret's Home. She is a wonderful host and the accommodations were very much to our liking. We got the room we requested. Breakfast were very good and lead to a lot of discussions with other visitors. We would stay again when in Vancouver.

Only issue i had was there are a lot of steps (front entrance or back) and we had very heavy suitcases (On a 3 week vacation including cruise)

This was our base for three days in the Vancouver area.

We would stay again

Thank you Margaret for a great time.

Room Tip: we had the Romantic Room - great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed here two nights before our cruise. We enjoyed our stay and Margaret helped up arrange reservations for the bus to Butchart Gradens. Since we would not be there for breakfast she fixed us breakfast to go which was great! The next day we had a wonderful omelet for breakfast. Hardest part of our stay was all of the stairs and our luggage. Great place for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first three nights of our honeymoon and couldn't have been treated better. When we arrived late our first night, Margaret made us ham and cheese sandwiches before bed. How sweet! We met a lot of good people and had a consistent, tasty and BIG breakfast every day. Our room was large and our bathroom was different, but cool! We'd certainly come back and stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Romantica and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We made reservations in March to stay at Ocean Breeze while we attended a Convention in downtown Vancouverover the July 4th week-end. Efforts to get a response from her the few days before our trip went unanswered, however, and when we showed up Margaret had no record of our reservation. We did have copies of our emails back and forth, however so she was gracious enough, on a very hectic week-end when we could have been in big trouble finding lodging, to call a hotel at the Lonsdale Quay and negotiate a comparable rate. However, we could only get it for one night. She offered to put us up the following evening but we just decided to drive home rather than pack and unpack twice. Sounds like we missed a good experience.

We did love being on that side of the city and taking the ferry into downtown. The Lonsdale Quay area was fun and the view of the city spectacular. Two tips. One, be sure you have a good record of your reservation and second, know that parking on the week-end at the Lonsdale Quay Garage is free. It turns out the hike from Ocean Breeze to the ferry was a bit further than we'd anticipated but if you could drive and park free it would be super. Nice area of Vancouver. We'll probably stay in that area again. Not sure if we'll dare try Ocean Breeze again though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret012, Owner at Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sir.
In the era of " computerize World " mistakes are happening starting from hospitals , bank transactions/ identity thefts , airlines / hotels reservations .
In such situation the most important is quick reaction and finding immediate solution.
In less then 5 minutes of this misunderstanding ( sorry but your reservation was in the system from July 6th-8th ) I did found you most convenient accommodation for that first night with the same price being matched and for following night I was able to accommodate you in " Ocean Breeze ".
I'm very sorry for this inconvenience , I tried my very best as you know to make sure that you will be properly accommodated .
In 21 yeas of business we have many returning guests and as a matter of fact we just received reservation from our Dutch guests who stayed with us in 1992 !
Wishing you as little mistakes as possible :)
Sincerely , Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was a great place to stay for our visit to the greater Vancouver area! Margaret and staff are very friendly and made us feel very welcome and completely at ease. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed and had a private patio where we could sit and enjoy the magnificent view of the city. Ocean Breeze is located in a quiet residential neighborhood and is just a short drive from Lonsdale Quay and the Capilano Rainforest in North Vancouver. It was also an easy drive to the many attractions in the city. We will definitely be making Ocean Breeze our home base for our next visit to the Vancouver area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast

Address: 462 East 1st Street, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7L 1B7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" Ocean Breeze Executive B&B " is centrally located to all famous Vancouver tourist attractions and within walking distance to downtown restaurants , shops , waterfront European Market and transportation.All rooms are well appointed with fridges, coffee makers , wireless internet , private bathrooms , some rooms offers balconies and beautiful view of Vancouver Harbour / Alaska Cruiseships Terminal.Children / pets welcome is designated family suites.Full breakfast is served daily , free parking .Relocating to Vancouver ? Longer business trip ? Please ask us for long term fully furnished Vancouver apartments . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.