We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, wouldn't rush back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saucisse Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saucisse Restaurant
437 N Dollarton Hwy, North Vancouver, British Columbia BC V7G, Canada
778.340.1919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 287 restaurants in North Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dollarton Hwy and Dollar Road
Transit: There is a bus stop directly adjacent to the restaurant at Dollarton Highway and Dollar Road, as well as directly across the parking lot on Dollarton Highway
Vancouver
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“ok, wouldn't rush back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Overall, Saucisse did ok. We went for dine out. The $38 3 course dinner was not overly flavourful. The restaurant is long and narrow, and they could do to remove a few tables. The deuces (against the wall) were so close together the waitress had a hard time reaching the inside person. It was a little too loud (it was full) to hear eachother well, the other tables were so close we had to deal with hearing everyone's conversations.

I wouldn't call it poor, but average is accurate. It will do ok as a neighbourhood place. They seem to be aiming at fine dining, but with our waitress not asking us how things were, and removing a plate while I still had bread in my hand is not good enough for the prices they charge.

Maybe try a quiet weekday.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    5
    0
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The mediocre service is the most remarkable feature of this bistro!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We made reservations at Saucisse as part of Dine Out Vancouver. The food was ok. Surprisingly, they had to make substitutions to two of the entrées offered on their limited menu. We had to ask our server twice for wine which we had ordered. All in all, a disappointing dining experience!

Dine Out Vancouver should have been a perfect opportunity to put their best foot forward and gain a loyal following.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You have to try this new place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This restaurant is superb.......some of us had their fixed menu for the Dine out Vancouver last night for $38.00 per person and you can add a wine pairing for $24.00 (3 wines). We sampled the salmon , the goat cheese and the 3 sausage appetizer...all fabulous...then we all had tenderloin cooked to perfection with pommes frites (replacing the potatoe pave at no cost) with a delicious mushroom sauce and asparagus and a Callebault chocolate mousse to die for! It's too bad I am leaving for Portugal for 2 months! It's a bit of a drive from Coal Harbour where we live but well worth it.....and service is very attentive and discreet. Small place (only few tables and a confortable sitting area by the bar to wait for your table) so reserve well ahead of time. The tables are all close to one another (like most restaurant in Europe) so not too condusive to intimacy if that is what you are looking for. The noise level is perfect. It is in a little strip mall off Dollarton Hway. Can't wait to go back in the spring for more!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited Saucisse Restaurant for the second time last night. Again we had a great dinner, and service was superb. We will be back for sure.
Great to see such a superb restaurant in our neighbourhood.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A VERY pleasant surprise, worth finding !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Recently opened, we have now been twice and have not been disappointed in anything. Bistro style menu with homemade charcutterie and 35+day aged beef. The fries are the best compliment to the steak. Also reasonably priced wine by glass or bottle. The parsnip/garlic soup is silky like it should be.
She had the steak while I had the duck. A martini and 3 glasses of wine we were satisfied with a $75 bill.
Next visit I will explore deeper the appetizers (have already had a few and find no fault with any).
Pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff, and if you have a question - just ask for the chef, Kyle.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saucisse Restaurant also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Saucisse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saucisse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.