We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whats going on at Calvins?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calvin's Cafe & Catering - CLOSED

Calvin's Cafe & Catering
3720 Mount Seymour Parkway, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7G 1C3, Canada
604-929-0990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Whats going on at Calvins?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our group of eight went for dinner last night. Everyone enjoyed every single dish. Food was fresh and tasty. But no ambience here - no background music and pretty dead for a Saturday night. Service was okay but slow to get our drinks considering it was almost empty. We'll go back and try it again but I'm really not sure how it's lasted this long if last night was any indicator. Seeing as it was so quiet and were we a big group it would have been nice for the chef to come by our table and check in?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Gave it three tries... But no more- big disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

This cafe is fairly near my home, so I wanted to like it. The first time I went with a friend the food wasn't very good and the service was even worse. My coffee never got refilled at all. My friend had a eggshell in her eggs benny and the hollandaise was tasteless. The second time was about the same- not horrible but really nothing great. Finally I went for the last time on a Wednesday for lunch. My friend and I knew not to order the eggs benny again, so we tried the quiche. It was completely soggy and the Caesar salad was totally brown. Neither of us even ate any and when we complained about the salad being in edible, they didn't even remove it from our bill. I will never go back to this place!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charming place and excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Calvin's is a real find -- a restaurant that really feels like "dining out" at a very reasonable price. Service was prompt and friendly, I was able to sit out on a patio not too close to traffic, and the meal was fresh and hot. I had schnitzel which came with spetzle and vegetables with a homemade mushroom sauce on the side. There were many other options, from vegetarian crepes to fresh seafood to steak. The house wine, for just $5 a glass, was quite good. All in all, an elegant meal in pleasant surroundings for just $27, including tax and tip. (I did not try the dessert, which I'll bet was good, as I understand the owner/chef is Swiss.)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Calvin's is a Terrific Addition to the Parkgate Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My partner and I are so happy to have Calvin's in our neighbourhood. We've been four times in this summer- once for brunch and three times for dinner. The eggs benny for brunch was delicious and I love that they give a choice of one egg or two. We really enjoy sitting on the patio and it's a bonus that the waiters provide blankets to take the edge off the evening chill. Dinner's were good. We've had pastas, fish and a really yummy schnitzel with spatzle. My partner always orders the dinner special. These specials are creative and have ranged from good to great. The very best thing, though, is that you can get a decent glass of wine for $5. We love it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Road
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“A Food Oasis on the Mount Seymour Parkway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

It's an awfully long way from Deep Cove to Lonsdale, but until Calvin's opened recently, where could you eat in that stretch? There are a couple of pubs that serve okay food, but what if you're with kids or otherwise don't want to go to a pub? Anyway, this place is a welcome addition. It's certainly nothing fancy, but neither is it utilitarian. It's a nice, small restaurant, with a good, small menu. Breakfast is the strong point here, lunches are good, dinner is okay.

One question: the menu makes a point of specifying that several of the dishes involve prawns from Chile, but I'm not so sure that fish farming in that country is done responsibly. Is it? If not, then maybe Chilean prawns aren't the best choice.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calvin's Cafe & Catering also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calvin's Cafe & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.