We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate to your Saves list
Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2060 Marine Drive, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 1V7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I stayed here with my partner and some family in december, and we were greatly impressed by the staff, rooms, and the convenience of this location. I've stayed in quite a few Travelodge, and a lot of chain hotels in general, and I found that the staff here were very helpful, very friendly and personable. Granted, while this is not the Waldorf Astoria, it more than exceeds any expected value for your money. Our room was well outfitted, clean, and with a large bathroom! If you're looking for a place near downtown Vancouver, but don't want to have to deal with the craziness of staying downtown, this is the spot for you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, responded to this review, February 19, 2011
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us here in North Vancouver. We had the privilege of having several family groups stay with us over the holidays and appreciate the many positive comments we have received. We are working hard to make our future guest stays even better and invite you to return to see everything we are doing for you, our valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    72
    70
    37
    33
See reviews for
80
75
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two night while visiting family in Vancouver over Christmas. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was super comfortable. However, I think what made this stay exceptional, was the customer service. Everyone from the woman at the front desk, the housekeeper, to the manager were beyond friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you so enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the oppotunity to welcome you back to North Vancouver in the future.

Kind Regards

Randy Price
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

I have stayed at the NV Travelodge twice now. You can't beat the internet prices, but don't expect this to be a Las Vegas Hotel, it's not. It's an older Motel, but it's clean, convenient and easy access to Grouse Mountain, the North Shore and Vancouver.

I booked based on price, and was happy. The bed was decent, the room was older but very clean and the lady at the front desk was a sweety and very polite.

I ticked the box for a restaurant, but there isn't one. However there is a Denny's right next door and the motel offers a coupon for a deal on food there. While Denny's is pretty simple food, hey, a deal's a deal, right?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experince on your recent stay with us. We do indeed strive to offer value for money for all of our guests. I was particularily pleased to hear you enjoyed the new beds. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to North Vancouver on your next trip.
Kind Regards

Randy Price
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

This was one of the worst places we nearly stayed at. The room was disgusting. The place was genrally falling to bits. An absolute dump. It has made us adopt the policy of avoiding booking online trusting a name like Travelodge to checking the room before booking. The recpetionist was was of the most unhelpful, unprofessional people we have dealt with. We didn't even get the cases out of the car. We requested a refund 30 mins after paying for the room. The receptionist rang the manager to tell him we was not happy and he didn't even question, just told her to refund. Avoid like the plague!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
As we attempted to explain to you at check-in, the damage you saw on the overhead canopy adjacent to the lobby was caused by a rather large motor home that impacted the hotel. To say that the place is "falling to bits" is not justified. Clearly from your response at arrival you were anticipating that you would be stayting in a hi-rise hotel closer to Vancouver city center. I can see by your travel reviews that you found the full service hotel you were looking for. I apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered with our staff, but had she been giving the opportunity to speak uninterupted she would have gladly assisted in your concerns and relocation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I cannot work out what went wrong here, having read the other reviews. Our room was not very clean, BOTH of the rooms were smoking rooms ( I thought that was illegal in N America/Canada? ), which apparently can happen if you book through Expedia. They DID spray them both with air fresheners, as they were full and couldn't move us, but it was noisy, dingy, one of the lights didn't work, the bathroom was not very clean - it was only one night, so it didn't matter, but on a 17-night road trip this was the worst place we stayed at. By some way.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We were in Vancouver for a quick overnight and looking for a reasonably priced place for the night near the cruise ship port. The Lions Gate Travelodge fit that need. Upon arrival we were somewhat surprised as our accommodations surpassed our expectations. Our room was dated and somewhat worn, but exceptionally clean with a comfortable bed and a AC that unit worked well without any excess noise so that we could use the fan at night for noise suppression, which as it turned out was unnecessary because t he place was pretty quiet. While they did not serve breakfast on site the 20% percent discount at the neighboring Denny’s provided what was likely a better meal. This Travelodge is one we would stay in again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionsgateTravelodge, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We appreciate that there are many hotels to choose from in Vancouver and that you stayed with us. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

There was a long wait to check in (they need more staff). We arrived late and needed to be out early or WE WOULD HAVE LEFT! There was HAIR IN THE SHOWER upon arrival!
No elevator and NO BREAKFAST. The room was Ok otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionsgateTravelodge, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that there was a delay at check-in. Ninty percent of the time we are able to assist guests immediately upon arrival, but as with any hotel, there are periods where a number of people arrive at the same time and it takes a few minutes to serve all of our customers. Unfortunately, to have extra staff on to accommodate these few busy times would be financially unrealistic and at best would increase the rate that we need to charge. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with comfort and value and keeping the rates reasonable is a big part of that for our property. I apologize that there was a hair in the shower, as the rest of the room was satisfactory, clearly this was an oversight and will be shared with our staff.
For your future travels, please note that two story motels generally do not have elevators. As you noted, we do not have a continental breakfast at our property, however, all of our guests enjoy a 20% discount at the adjacent Denny's restaurant twenty four hours a day. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate

Address: 2060 Marine Drive, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 1V7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lions Gate Travelodge in beautiful North Vancouver! Nestled at the foot of Grouse Mountain and adjacent to the historic Lions Gate Bridge into Stanley Park and the city centre, we are the best choice in value and comfort for your next great adventure. We are minutes from highway #1, skiing, tennis, waterfront parks, and extended shopping. So much to see and do in our own backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Vancouver Lion`s Gate Hotel Vancouver
Travelodge North Vancouver
Travel Lodge North Vancouver
North Vancouver Travel Lodge
North Vancouver Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.