We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't pay a cen't to stay in this dump.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2060 Marine Drive, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 1V7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in North Vancouver
Squamish, Canada
1 review
“Wouldn't pay a cen't to stay in this dump.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of September. WE have a dog so asked for a pet friendly room but we didn't assume we would be thrown into a filthy and disgusting room. As a housekeeper for a large hotel in BC, the things I found in this room were appalling and it shows very little dedication from the housekeeping staff at this hotel. Our shower was not cleaned at all, there was an old shower gel label stuck to the tiles and blue shower gel dripped all down the wall in the shower. No lighting in the shower so you cant see much at all and its very squishy, pubic hairs all over the bathroom floor, top of toilet was filthy with black muk on it. The handle to the desk drawer had white sticky stuff all over it, the coffee package was open and it had old sticky food residue stuck on it, coffee machine wasn't clean and old coffee filter left in it, carpets nasty wouldn't walk without my shoes on in the room, curtains smelled disgusting infact the entire room smelled gross. Thick layer of dust all over air conditioner that looks like its from the 18th century. My husband and I actually pullled back our bedding to assure they didn't just make the bed up with used sheets.. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone its definitly not worth the price. If I was a housekeeper at this hotel I would be embarrassed at the work going into the rooms. Take some pride! and do a good job! ppl have to pay good money to stay in these places and we should get our dollars worth! If you want your moneys worth and want the feeling of being in a safe, clean, saniztized place then do not stay here!

Room Tip: Don't stay here! no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, General Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. I was extremely dissapointed to read your comments on the housekeeping in your particular room. If you would be kind enough to contact me directly, I would like to address your concerns but need more information in order to do this. I encourage all of our guests to let us know if there is anything that does not meet your expectations so that we have the opportunity to address them right away.

Kind Regards

Randy Price
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    60
    49
    34
    26
See reviews for
65
54
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for one night. I know it is a discount hotel with no frills, so the price was great. Room was very clean. Front staff were very helpful and manager knowlegable of the area (where to eat, shop, etc). I have been there several times in past and have always been happy with experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments! We are pleased that you received the value you were looking for while visiting us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Randy Price
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Booked online as I already stayed there once and it was ok ( first time ). Big mistake... As I came to find out, two rooms down can be the difference from heaven to hell.

Where do I start... First thing that hit me hard as I opened the room was the strong wet dog smell. This hotel allows guests to bring their pets and it clearly shows.

Carpet was badly stained, see photos.

Desk chair also badly stained.

Uncomfortable bed, way too hard.

wiFi does NOT work inside the room! I had to go to the lobby to use it.

Way too pricey for the room you get. I can't recommend this hotel to anyone unless you have pets and need a place that allows them.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy_Price, Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We take all of our customers concerns very seriously, and your comments are being addressed. Because of comments like yours regarding the internet, we worked with our internet provider to arrange for an upgrade to the free wireless equipment which is being installed tomorrow. The issues you experienced with the carpet and chair were already addressed as we have contracted a new cleaning company to insure future guests arrive to a more welcoming enviornment.
|
Regards

Randy Price
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were traveling as a family and had a 60 pound Border Collie with us so we are used to getting pet rooms that are not the best in the hotel. We've never had to ask for a new room though. The room my daughter got was so smokey (No Smoking sign right on the door) that my throat started to close up as I was carrying bags in. My husband went to see about a different room and was told by a very helpful lady at the front counter (Rainbow?) that Canadian smoking policy is that you can't smoke in the room, but people smoke in the doorways and the smoke often blows back into the room. No kidding. The new room she got was much better but still had a faint aroma of urine.

The place looks like they are trying to update. Some of the furniture/fixtures are newer and some are beat up and shabby. Even the non pet room my husband and I got had an unpleasant, musty odor. It took forever to get the water temperature adjusted and there wasn't even a soap dish in the shower.

We were in the back and had little road noise. There was plenty of parking. The location was easy to find but the neighborhood didn't look very good.

All in all, it was a very unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: It is very quiet near the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

On a mini break and never slept a wink - noisy place to stay.
Bed uncomfortable and the shower was like a mini dungeon - not even a shelf to stand your shower gel on. Staff were fine.
On the whole - not for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate

Address: 2060 Marine Drive, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 1V7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lions Gate Travelodge in beautiful North Vancouver! Nestled at the foot of Grouse Mountain and adjacent to the historic Lions Gate Bridge into Stanley Park and the city centre, we are the best choice in value and comfort for your next great adventure. We are minutes from highway #1, skiing, tennis, waterfront parks, and extended shopping. So much to see and do in our own backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Vancouver Lion`s Gate Hotel Vancouver
Travelodge North Vancouver
Travel Lodge North Vancouver
North Vancouver Travel Lodge
North Vancouver Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.