We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in downtown instead” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate to your Saves list
Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2060 Marine Drive, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 1V7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in North Vancouver
Reading, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Stay in downtown instead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We read previous reviews of this hotel and though it would be ok for visiting grouse mountain. Although the staff were helpful and friendly the area is not the best. The room was fairly dark and frankly a bit scary.

The bathroom was extremely small and unpleasant - we have posted some candid photos.

We would recommend staying else where or even in downtown vancouver and catching the ferry bus over to the northside.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    62
    60
    34
    30
See reviews for
73
66
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Smell of meldew was overwhelming - opened the door for awhile to get some air in. The room size was fine for one king bed with closet. The bathroom had a tub and shower in it. The windows and bars in the bathroom (for shower curtain and towels were awful covered in rust and some black paint. What is supposed to be a bath towel was the size of a larger hand towel. The refrigerator was leaking. For $130/night not worth it at all. The are other hotels on Capilano Rd newer and nicer for the same price.

Great area if you go over the Lions gate bridge into West Vancouver - there is a mall with many restaurants. If you go east on Marine Dr - there is nothing interesting there.

  • Disliked — Smell of meldew. Hotel needs renovation
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionsgateTravelodge, General Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Thank you for your feedback, and although you did not enjoy your stay, your comments are still appreciated, that being said the hotel is under new Management since your stay, and we are very excited about the work we have done to improve the quality of our product, and based on the more recent comments, the renovations and work we have done has made a dramatic difference. You are welcome to contact me directly should you have any questions regarding the work we have done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duren, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

My husband and I spent two nights at this travelodge.

Pros: Good location, good service, nicely decorated rooms, discount cards for Denny's next door, good price. When we arrived, the friendly staff informed us of a fireworks show going on that evening. It was spectacular, so I was glad we didn't miss it.

Cons: Small shower, no refrigerator

Summary: Well worth the price. I prefered the discount card over the nasty breakfasts I've had at another Travelodge's.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no refrigerator
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionsgateTravelodge, General Manager at Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time, and for your feed back, I'm am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to hosting your next visit to North Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was quite tiny with a stall shower with mildew. Also the paint in the bathroom was peeling. I would agree with previous reviewers who said the walls are paper thin.
Motel lobby staff were friendly with quick check in and out.
We ate at the Denny's next door for breakfast with 20 % discount if you mention you are staying at the hotel.
Also, for an inexpensive, but tasty meal, the Whole Foods supermarket (2 miles down Marine Dr) is great with lots of delicious and freshly prepared foods. There are tables in the store so you can dine in.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

Not worth the money! I stayed here two nights in two different rooms.
The rooms I was in did not look anything like the ones in the photos. This is a old hotel in need of some serious remodeling. Walls had scuffs and dirt, bathrooms had mold and hair from lack of a through cleaning. One of the rooms had wet carpet from a leaking window or A/C unit. They have tried to dress it up a bit with new carpet and furniture. The bath towels were thin and about 2 ft square. Beds only came with 2 pillows and the bottom sheets were not fitted. Woke up sleeping in a bare mattress. The owners of this hotel have cut too many corners on the maintaince of this place. The staff was not friendly but not rude. The only thing this hotel has going for it is its location.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, B.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

We stayed here with our two children for a couple of days in February. I booked the room on line (paying only $49CDN per night for the four of us) and was sent a response right away. I didn't expect much being a two star motel but I was most pleasantly surprised. Our room was nicely decorated with co-ordinating neutral tones, fluffy duvet style comforters, excellent comfy pillows. The motel is set amongst many others in the area but is the only one in that grouping that is not on a main road so it was quiet. The only down side was there was no bath which we did know in advance so I was prepared. It is an older style building but the bathroom was the only room that made that obvious. Our last stay was at a Best Western near Seatac before a flight to Mexico and I was kept up all night by the partiers in the room above, so I was very happy to have the top floor and noise from the neighbours on both sides was non-existant. Also the kids loved it. There was a water tower and small fridge which are great to have with kids and being a motel it is easy access to the car parked directly outside the door for all the stuff that you have to carry. It was a very handy location for access to downtown Vancouver, Stanley Park etc. There is a Denny's on one side (which gives you 20% off if you are staying at the motel) and an inexpensive Vietnamese noodle house on the other. I had read the reviews before I booked and most were positive and ours was too. I have since sent my mother and sister there and they enjoyed the experience too.

  • Liked — value and comfort
  • Disliked — no bathtub
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

Booked on Hotels.com for $60, so a great deal. Had low expectations, but this motel was OK. The room was a good size, and plenty of room for luggage. Many TV channels. Very close to Lions Gate Bridge. 24 hour Denny's is adjacent, and guests get 20% off meals. We got around by public transportation. many frequent buses to downtown and other locations. Close to Capilano Bridge and Stanley Park. I don't really have anything negative to say about the hotel. As mentioned above, the walls are paper thin, and we were treated to quite the audio show by our must've-been-honeymooning neighbors...oh dear....

Friendly staff yet they were quite unknowledgeable about city sightseeing. I would stay here again, because I'm cheap.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Thin Walls
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate

Address: 2060 Marine Drive, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 1V7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lions Gate Travelodge in beautiful North Vancouver! Nestled at the foot of Grouse Mountain and adjacent to the historic Lions Gate Bridge into Stanley Park and the city centre, we are the best choice in value and comfort for your next great adventure. We are minutes from highway #1, skiing, tennis, waterfront parks, and extended shopping. So much to see and do in our own backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Vancouver Lion`s Gate Hotel Vancouver
Travelodge North Vancouver
Travel Lodge North Vancouver
North Vancouver Travel Lodge
North Vancouver Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Vancouver Lion's Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.