We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craftsmen Elegance with Warm European Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ThistleDown House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ThistleDown House to your Saves list
ThistleDown House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3910 Capilano Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7R 4J2, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Craftsmen Elegance with Warm European Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Nestled in a serene NW setting just 15 minutes from downtown we were confronted with the pull of one of the most amazing cities in North America and the desire to stay put and chat with Ruth (our incredible hostess, chef, and tour guide). We were delighted to experience such easy conversation with the guests while Ruth dazzled us with truly gourmet breakfasts in an array of courses that always had NW twist. We really enjoyed the braised fiddleheads with the trout.

A must- do experience while visiting in Vancouver!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
168
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I were in Vancouver to do some shopping, wanted to stay close to town but not in the thick of the noise and crowds. Making the short hop across the bridge to North Vancouver was well worth it. The historic home is beautifully appointed, the hosts are beyond gracious and the food was gourmet. This is going to be our home away from home in Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We visited Thistledown late September as part of my husband's birthday weekend. We were warmly welcomed into this delightful ,beautifully appointed home and immediately felt comfortable with the gracious host, Liz. Rex and Ruth have created a most unique and exquisite getaway coupled with an inviting atmosphere and gourmet prepared food. A top choice for sure! We will be planning another visit to Thistledown very soon!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park KS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited Vancouver in August and had the unparalleled pleasure to stay at this beautifully-appointed king suite.

Ruth and Rex were more than gracious and the atmosphere was so welcoming and relaxing. We so enjoyed the three course breakfasts around the communal table with a revolving slate of guests from all over the world.

Our only great was having to leave after all too short a stay. This is truly top drawer as you will note from the other reviews. Our hats hang are suspended in the air in tribute to Rex & Ruth. Brilliant!!!

Friends from America always, A&S

Room Tip: Our room, Pages, was on the lower floor. We found it to be very quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Calif.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

You need only look at all the reviews for ThistleDown - as I write this there are 267 5-star reviews and nary a single lesser one. What does that tell you? This is one very spectacular B&B. As others have said, we're only sorry we didn't stay longer. We had no idea North Van was such a pretty place, and that there would be an excellent restaurant almost in walking distance from it, and that the breakfast would be so spectacular (it was more like a dinner than a breakfast). The night we were there others were visiting from several different countries. The owners are delightful and the wife is a spectacular cook, for sure! If we ever return to North Van (or Vancouver at all) I'd definitely choose to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed only one night in a beautifully-appointed king suite. The hosts, Ruth and Rex, were very gracious and breakfast was exceptional. Capilano Suspension Bridge is a short walk away, as is Edgemont village where we had a fabulous dinner at Canyon Restaurant. The house is very quiet and relaxing - our only regret is that we didn't book more nights.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location was perfect for hiking in North Vancouver and for access to the beach towns there. We stayed in a lovely and light octagonal room near the front of the house. Breakfast was delicious and the owners and staff welcoming and very helpful with suggestions for activities during the day. They even gave us bear bells for our hikes!

Room Tip: We loved our room, but rooms at the back may have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ThistleDown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ThistleDown House

Address: 3910 Capilano Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7R 4J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ThistleDown House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A highly acclaimed, award-winning 1920 heritage-listed Craftsman style property fully restored and filled with fine antiques and works of art from around the world. Six rooms, all en suite, are beautifully finished and furnished and equipped with many amenities. Afternoon tea is served and breakfast is deliciously creative and multi-course. Fifteen minutes from the core of the city, ThistleDown House is situated on Vancouver's spectacular North Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ThistleDown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ThistleDown House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.