We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent locations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lonsdale Quay Hotel to your Saves list
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent locations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Lonsdale Quay for three nights.

Pros:
-Excellent location, right on the quay with the markets below. -The hotel is also close to nearby restaurants and supermarket.
-Easy accessible parking underneath the hotel for $12 per night not including tax
- Roof top views of the ocean and city

Cons:
- Gym is way to small, went in the morning and there was so many people some guests had to leave.
- we went out in the morning and left the 'please make up our room sign on the door' returned at 3 in the afternoon. The room had not been clean but the towels had been taken and not replaced. We decided to have an afternoon nap, due to jet lag and put the ' do not disturb sign on the door' we got woken up at 5pm with the cleaners trying to open the door, then call the phone which woke us up. We had to leave the room so they could clean it. The cleaners Returning at 5pm to clean the room is really late. We were not impressed
- My pet hate- finding black hairs on the towels in the bathroom- yuck!


  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    143
    54
    30
    22
See reviews for
61
150
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Deciding to spend our honeymoon at this hotel was one of the best decisions we ever made! I couldn't believe how easy it was to access all forms of transit (bus and sea bus depot are literally across the street!). We didn't have a vehicle any day but one, when we decided to drive up to Whistler, and we never missed it at all! Yet we saw every major attraction Vancouver had to offer easily thanks to the excellent proximity to transit. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly, always willing to help us out. The mix lounge serves delicious breakfast with so many choices, I had trouble deciding what to get! Loved the shops and stores downstairs in the shopping area. In fact, we found it hard wanting to leave the hotel with all of the shopping and delicious food right outside our door! I'll never stay downtown when I have this amazing hotel on the north shore I've discovered. Oh and let's not forget about that view! Walk out the front door, or look from your balcony, and there's the entire Vancouver skyline across a peaceful strip of the ocean. It literally took my breath away. And I wasn't the early one. Standing out on the deck of the mix lounge one day, I heard several other guests walk outside and gasp as they first soaked in that view. Staying in the Carrie cates suite, which offers a 180° view of the city, one night, was the highlight of our trip. We both agreed it was the most romantic spot we'd ever been, as we enjoyed the jacuzzi while looking out at the shimmering lights of the skyline in the water right outside our room . I cannot say enough good things about this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the skyline. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

When we arrived at night, the first thing I noticed was the safe feeling of the area and many people walking alone. Great vibe. Very relaxing.

At the hotel, friendly staff, great location, clean room, cozy bed, GREAT view, quiet, affordable... loved it. I'd recommend parking on the street and saving a few bucks, just move your car before 9am. We had two motorcycles that the pay lot wanted to charge individually even though we share a spot, so we declined. The front desk staff was very helpful with parking tips and restaurant suggestions. I wish we could have stayed longer and explored the cool neighborhood.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Vancouver Island, BC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 9 years, and it's definitely been better. It's a great location, and there's nothing awful in any way, but it's dropped in some quarters for sure. Front desk staff is adequate - there are one or two who smile, make eye contact when you come in or go out, and offer help proactively, but most are just "doing their job". The amenities in the bathroom are the bare minimum. We did conserve water and not ask for our towels or bed linens to be changed every day, but the day that we did ask to have the linens changed, they were not. On the other hand, in all the times we've stayed there, this was the first time that a front desk clerk let us know that we could park in a free lot next door on the Saturday and Sunday if we wanted, and save ourselves the $12/day hotel parking (and we did!). It's generally in the "okay" category now, and at $213/night (including tax), it should be more than just "okay".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lonsdale Quay Hotel. First of all, it is right at the SeaBus terminal and the hub of North Vancouver buses and is extremely easy to get to and get around while visiting. It is right on top of a lively market that has plenty of food and shopping choices, and is near many restaurants — we recommend Burgoo's, Boston Pizza and, of course, Tim Horton's.

The room itself was terrific. Clean, large and comfortable, with great views. We were on the east side of the hotel and, although lacking balconies, we were able to see much of the harbour (even getting to monitor a gigantic yacht during our stay) and east to Burnaby and the NorthVan mountains. The room is complete with a complimentary mini-fridge and microwave, and a comfy bed and two plush chairs. Despite all the activities of the market, transport terminal and marina, it was very quiet.

We had a great experience at this hotel and highly recommend it. If you're doing a lot of activities downtown, one concern you might have is the time and distance getting there on the SeaBus. In reality, the trip is not very long and the boats run continuously, so you aren't very far from downtown and we were hardly ever inconvenienced by the location...if anything, it was the perfect access point to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at Lonsdale Quay Hotel on 26 June 14 on an overnight visit to Vancouver. Our stay was a mix of good and not-so-good aspects. To be as fair as I can, I have listed both below.

Good:
a) The staff (with the exception of the on duty manager upon check-in...more on this below) were wonderful: friendly, helpful and attentive.
b) The Waterfront Suite was wonderful. Unbelievably large balcony overlooking the Sea-Bus terminal, the Market and the Vancouver waterfront on the other side. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have found in a hotel. The room was huge and very well appointed.
c) I don't know how we possibly could have been better located. The Market is right downstairs (there's even a private gate from the suite's balcony to the stairs to the Market!), the Sea-Bus over to Vancouver is a minute away, a really good coffee shop downstairs, close proximity to great dining and much more.
d) Did I mention how excellent this room is!!

Not-so-good:
a) Parking was very tricky. We were not too familiar with the Lonsdale Quay and actually finding the hotel parking took a phone call to the hotel for directions and a lot of hit-and-miss searching until we found it. There is no dedicated parking for the hotel. But there is an elevator from the public parking to the reception area.
b) We had booked well in advance into the "Carrie Cates Room" with jacuzzi. When we arrived, the hotel had double-booked the room and we were out of luck. They put us into the "Executive Waterfront Suite" in place of the room we had booked. The Waterfront suite was superb (see above). There was a price differential between the rooms. However, it took personal intervention by us to get the hotel to accept this. After being on hold on the phone for several minutes, my partner had to go to the front desk and address the situation personally. The on-duty manager was obviously staying too busy to be able to deal with my GF face-to-face but the lovely Irish girl at reception who was helping my girlfriend got a nice resolution for us: the price reduction plus complementary breakfasts the next morning. I just think that the manager could have stepped up to the plate a bit better.
c) I'm not a huge fan of the modern showers that have nowhere to put soap/shampoo, put a foot up or grab a hand hold to stop from sliding around on soapy stone flooring. Plus, for some strange reason, you need to reach through under the shower head to turn the water on i.e. you get a nice cold shower before you are ready for your shower.
d) This is minor quibble but the water cooler was empty within an hour of us being in the room. You think this is the sort of thing that would be checked before renting an executive suite.

I realize that this has been one really wordy review. The Lonsdale Quay Hotel has a lot going for it. And some of the things that upset us is beyond their control, for instance the dedicated parking for which there simply is no room. But there is room for improvement and that is why I have included the comments.
In closing, let me say that I DO recommend the Lonsdale Quay Hotel to other travelers: the positives totally outweigh any perceived negatives.

Room Tip: If you are after a superior hotel experience, the Executive Waterfront suite would be hard to beat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I really was pleased with this Hotels location and the ease of access to it from the Sky Train Canada line from the airport and short Sea bus trip to the hotels front door. I arrived on a sunday so the train/seabus fare was under $8 for travel all day and the bonus on sundays is there are no zone restrictions so for the low fare you can train it anywhere in the city. The Hotel as many have wrote is above a market with shopping and some eateries and has a Tim's and Boston Pizza only 1 block away. Be sure to walk the Esplanade trail along the water front towards the Lions gate bridge from the hotel very nice and there is a park with a playground there too .

Room Tip: Ask for full Harbour view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so pleased that you had a great stay, and that you had the opportunity to explore our direct area. The public transportation system in Vancouver is fabulous, and we are at a major hub.
We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Sincerely,
Farah Stéen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lonsdale Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Address: 123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the Experience! Located on the spectacular North Vancouver waterfront! The Lonsdale Quay Hotel is a gateway to Vancouver's attractions, Whistler and major North Vancouver businesses. Whether for business or pleasure, our hotel is your best choice on the north shore of Vancouver! Explore our new Executive Rooms, Junior Suites and Standard rooms! Our Waterfront Boutique property will leave you with lasting memories. Fantastic Vancouver waterfront boutique hotel located in a vibrant market and shops. Your best North Vancouver Hotel choice. Accessible to all attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lonsdale Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Quay North Vancouver
Hotel Lonsdale Quay
Lonsdale Quay Hotel North Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lonsdale Quay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.