We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a mixed review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lonsdale Quay Hotel to your Saves list
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Courtenay, Vancouver Island, BC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A bit of a mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 9 years, and it's definitely been better. It's a great location, and there's nothing awful in any way, but it's dropped in some quarters for sure. Front desk staff is adequate - there are one or two who smile, make eye contact when you come in or go out, and offer help proactively, but most are just "doing their job". The amenities in the bathroom are the bare minimum. We did conserve water and not ask for our towels or bed linens to be changed every day, but the day that we did ask to have the linens changed, they were not. On the other hand, in all the times we've stayed there, this was the first time that a front desk clerk let us know that we could park in a free lot next door on the Saturday and Sunday if we wanted, and save ourselves the $12/day hotel parking (and we did!). It's generally in the "okay" category now, and at $213/night (including tax), it should be more than just "okay".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    149
    55
    30
    22
See reviews for
66
155
38
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lonsdale Quay Hotel. First of all, it is right at the SeaBus terminal and the hub of North Vancouver buses and is extremely easy to get to and get around while visiting. It is right on top of a lively market that has plenty of food and shopping choices, and is near many restaurants — we recommend Burgoo's, Boston Pizza and, of course, Tim Horton's.

The room itself was terrific. Clean, large and comfortable, with great views. We were on the east side of the hotel and, although lacking balconies, we were able to see much of the harbour (even getting to monitor a gigantic yacht during our stay) and east to Burnaby and the NorthVan mountains. The room is complete with a complimentary mini-fridge and microwave, and a comfy bed and two plush chairs. Despite all the activities of the market, transport terminal and marina, it was very quiet.

We had a great experience at this hotel and highly recommend it. If you're doing a lot of activities downtown, one concern you might have is the time and distance getting there on the SeaBus. In reality, the trip is not very long and the boats run continuously, so you aren't very far from downtown and we were hardly ever inconvenienced by the location...if anything, it was the perfect access point to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at Lonsdale Quay Hotel on 26 June 14 on an overnight visit to Vancouver. Our stay was a mix of good and not-so-good aspects. To be as fair as I can, I have listed both below.

Good:
a) The staff (with the exception of the on duty manager upon check-in...more on this below) were wonderful: friendly, helpful and attentive.
b) The Waterfront Suite was wonderful. Unbelievably large balcony overlooking the Sea-Bus terminal, the Market and the Vancouver waterfront on the other side. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have found in a hotel. The room was huge and very well appointed.
c) I don't know how we possibly could have been better located. The Market is right downstairs (there's even a private gate from the suite's balcony to the stairs to the Market!), the Sea-Bus over to Vancouver is a minute away, a really good coffee shop downstairs, close proximity to great dining and much more.
d) Did I mention how excellent this room is!!

Not-so-good:
a) Parking was very tricky. We were not too familiar with the Lonsdale Quay and actually finding the hotel parking took a phone call to the hotel for directions and a lot of hit-and-miss searching until we found it. There is no dedicated parking for the hotel. But there is an elevator from the public parking to the reception area.
b) We had booked well in advance into the "Carrie Cates Room" with jacuzzi. When we arrived, the hotel had double-booked the room and we were out of luck. They put us into the "Executive Waterfront Suite" in place of the room we had booked. The Waterfront suite was superb (see above). There was a price differential between the rooms. However, it took personal intervention by us to get the hotel to accept this. After being on hold on the phone for several minutes, my partner had to go to the front desk and address the situation personally. The on-duty manager was obviously staying too busy to be able to deal with my GF face-to-face but the lovely Irish girl at reception who was helping my girlfriend got a nice resolution for us: the price reduction plus complementary breakfasts the next morning. I just think that the manager could have stepped up to the plate a bit better.
c) I'm not a huge fan of the modern showers that have nowhere to put soap/shampoo, put a foot up or grab a hand hold to stop from sliding around on soapy stone flooring. Plus, for some strange reason, you need to reach through under the shower head to turn the water on i.e. you get a nice cold shower before you are ready for your shower.
d) This is minor quibble but the water cooler was empty within an hour of us being in the room. You think this is the sort of thing that would be checked before renting an executive suite.

I realize that this has been one really wordy review. The Lonsdale Quay Hotel has a lot going for it. And some of the things that upset us is beyond their control, for instance the dedicated parking for which there simply is no room. But there is room for improvement and that is why I have included the comments.
In closing, let me say that I DO recommend the Lonsdale Quay Hotel to other travelers: the positives totally outweigh any perceived negatives.

Room Tip: If you are after a superior hotel experience, the Executive Waterfront suite would be hard to beat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I really was pleased with this Hotels location and the ease of access to it from the Sky Train Canada line from the airport and short Sea bus trip to the hotels front door. I arrived on a sunday so the train/seabus fare was under $8 for travel all day and the bonus on sundays is there are no zone restrictions so for the low fare you can train it anywhere in the city. The Hotel as many have wrote is above a market with shopping and some eateries and has a Tim's and Boston Pizza only 1 block away. Be sure to walk the Esplanade trail along the water front towards the Lions gate bridge from the hotel very nice and there is a park with a playground there too .

Room Tip: Ask for full Harbour view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so pleased that you had a great stay, and that you had the opportunity to explore our direct area. The public transportation system in Vancouver is fabulous, and we are at a major hub.
We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Sincerely,
Farah Stéen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummi Island, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were treating our military son & his family to a brief Canadian excursion, & these cheap retirees splurged on a really good hotel in a really good location. We were not disappointed! Not only did we have lovely rooms w/ fabulous views, we were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite, which was huge, gorgeous & included not only a hot tub, but a panoramic view of the Vancouver harbor and skyline. The staff were super nice & treated two of us to a free breakfast in their lovely restaurant. We all felt pampered! Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Both rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that you had a fabulous stay, and that you had the opportunity to experience the Carrie Cates Suite! We are so happy that you choose our hotel to celebrate your family.
We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Sincerely,
Farah Stéen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel was simply wonderful. Steps away from the Sea Bus. Overtop of the market. Countless nearby restaurants. Stayed there 5 nights for our daughter's wedding and we likely occupied about a dozen rooms. No complaints from anyone. Lucky us. Our room was 439. Faces the harbour directly. Nice to watch the cruise ships come and go. Yes the hotel is dated but it is extremely well maintained. Housekeeping staff were very kind. Front desk staff very helpful. Bonus fireworks on several nights from Canada Place. For anyone who is planning a wedding I cannot imagine a better place to stay. Sure there is not a pool but we were there to enjoy Vancouver. Transferring from the airport to the hotel was simple. Canada Line to downtown and Seabus to hotel. Less than $10 and about 40Min. Side note if your are still reading. Doc's Pizza two blocks north of the hotel has the best pizza.. Fishworks and Pier 7 are very good restaurants. Would we stay there again???? Definitely yes....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay during the wedding celebrations! It is a great place to entertain family, as the market below allows for many opportunities. We are so happy that you found the hotel well maintained.
We look forward to welcoming you at another time.
Enjoy your summer!
Sincerely,

Farah Stéen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lonsdale Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Address: 123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the Experience! Located on the spectacular North Vancouver waterfront! The Lonsdale Quay Hotel is a gateway to Vancouver's attractions, Whistler and major North Vancouver businesses. Whether for business or pleasure, our hotel is your best choice on the north shore of Vancouver! Explore our new Executive Rooms, Junior Suites and Standard rooms! Our Waterfront Boutique property will leave you with lasting memories. Fantastic Vancouver waterfront boutique hotel located in a vibrant market and shops. Your best North Vancouver Hotel choice. Accessible to all attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lonsdale Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Quay North Vancouver
Hotel Lonsdale Quay
Lonsdale Quay Hotel North Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lonsdale Quay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.