We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lonsdale Quay Hotel to your Saves list
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in North Vancouver
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cozy boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This boutique hotel is a great value for staying in North Vancouver. It's located right on the water and is about a 15-20 minute drive from downtown Vancouver. If you're unfamiliar with the area, it's difficult to find the hotel. Look for the Lonsdale Quay Market instead. The hotel is above the market on the 3rd floor. Parking is also very reasonable at $10 per day.

The rooms are quite spacious and free wifi is always a plus. Especially if you're not from Canada and need wifi to look up directions and things to do/eat. The staff are nice and helpful. I would stay here again if I were in North Vancouver.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your great review! YES! We are a cozy boutique hotel, and we offer ammenities that is very unique to our hotel. We recently added the Free Wi-FI access, and I'm so pleased that you where able to enjoy it freely. We look forward to welcoming you back at another time. Sincerely, Farah Stéen General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    136
    51
    27
    19
See reviews for
56
142
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel location is 2nd to none with a very reasonable price for a major city.
My stay was price-met to travelocity's listed rate with no questions directly on thier own electronic booking system.
Downtown is a short 5 minute ride across the bay on the SeaBus(the hotel is beside the terminal) - scenic views of Vancouver Harbour and the city, and especially the North Shore mountains with its 2 ski hills (night views of the lights are great). The seabus connects with the lower mainland transit system and also directly to Vancouver Airport and is faster than by cab (not to mention way way cheaper).
However carpets are old, windows clunky and not closing properly, heating/air conditioner battered, tiny tiny restaurant is on limited hours of service(breakfast only and doenst get out of bed early).
No portico to do check-in or get bags out - you have to haul your own bags out of the basement parking into clunky old and very slow elevators. No parking valet service that I could find. The underground parking is difficult to get into(one way only on the street) and no hotel dedicated parking in the underground. Signage in the underground parking is not great, takes a bit of figguring out - had to phone the desk about the meter and was told to not use the meter, "come up and we will give you a ticket to take back down and put on your dash" - whee, last thing I want to do after driving all day! There was a "lot full" sign when I arrived and had to double-park in the street and phone the desk to get into the parking lot! (I was not apprecitated by the transit bus drivers).
Been coming here on and off for the last 15 years, and will continue to do so for the convenience of the location and having the market right there on the 2 floors below the hotel.
However do need a good restaurant close by to be able to walk to (there is limited choice right now - its a long and steep walk up Lonsdale Avenue) - downtown Vancouver is your best bet - Seabus ride is only $2.50 and you have limitless restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for "harbour view" upgrade on checking in. and ask for the 4th floor rather than the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that we have been welcoming you back for 15 years! That's wonderful. I see that you are enjoying the excellent rates and continue to return. I read your comment about the parking, and wanted to let you know that you are only needing to give us your stall number. The balance is done at the front desk. At your convenience, you can add the parking pass to your dashboard. Also, I'm glad that you enjoy the property ammenities and surrounding restaurants. Our restaurant has limited hours as we are surrounded by fantastic choices on the property and in "walking" distance. The title of your review was very welcomed, and you should know that we are constantly looking for ways to improve. The airconditioners are definietly on the improvement list. You'll note that we have recently added Free Wifi and all the rooms have new LCD Flat Screen Tv's. Until we meet again, please let me know directly if you have any further concerns. Thank you for your patronage! Sincerely, Farah Stéen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night in a single room and overall it was a very good stay. The room was very spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The 32' LCD TV is definitely a pleasant surprise as well. The only downsides for the room was that there is no view at all, it literally looked out to a pavement. But given the rate I paid, I was not expecting a sea view, and the view did not bother me. The air conditioning unit was old fashioned and was difficult to adjust the temperature of the room, and is quite noisy.

The staff at the reception was friendly and efficient, the check-in and check-out were smooth and quick.

Would I stay at this hotel again, definitely!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great review! We are so happy that you found the value to be excelelnt, and your room and bed to be comfortable. Some of our specials on the non view rooms are discounted accordingly, and allows guests to stay at our vibrant property at a great rate, allowing for funds to spend on your "memories"! We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Vancouver, Canada. Sincerely, Farah Stéen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I don’t have much to say and that’s a good thing. The hotel is quiet and comfortable with plenty of amenities in the immediate area. The wifi is quick. The rooms are clean with mini-fridges and small coffee makers. The staff are friendly and check in/out is quick. And to top it off, they have very competitive rates. I can’t find any fault.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far ends of the halls are quieter because you don't hear people going in and out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
Dear Valued Guest. Happy Holidays! We are so happy that you had a perfect stay with nothing to worry about, other than enjoying your comfortable stay! We are also glad that you found the rates competitive also. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future. Farah Steen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The location of this hotel in in a unique place. Located inside a shopping destination on a pier makes the arrival a bit of an adventure. After parking your car in the basement of the parking garage and locating the hotel elevator it all starts to make sense that this is an unconventional hotel entrance. Be sure to check out the small but scenic fitness room that has a harbour view!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! Yes, we are truly a different type of hotel experience, and that's what makes our hotel special! Yes, once you get through our unique entrance, there's so much to discover. The shops, the restaurants and the market below delight the senses, and are truly memorable. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Farah Steen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I used to live in Noth Vancouver and used the Sea Bus gateway for almost three years and I was intrigued about the hotel of top of the market. Fast-forward 5 years and I found myself looking for a hotel to stay in North Vancouver and I found this great deal in Expedia... Why not?
The location is great. You can actually be in downtown Vancouver in 15 minutes, instead of driving 30-45 minutes through the Lions Gate Bridge. You can't find a hotel in the Vancouver area with some many ooptions to eat, but studd than this hotel, all just a short elevator ride two floors down.
The staff was friendly and the checkin and checkout process were a breeze. The rooms are larger than other hotels in the area and they look clean and well-kept.
The one minus that really doesn't allow me to give the hotel 4 or 5 stars is the layout of the rooms and the other areas of the hotel. All rooms are located in a long corridor and reaching any of them is a little somber. In addition, the rooms go back to back against the meeting/ball rooms. We were very unlucky because the night of our stay, there was a company christmas party. Needles to say, the music and noise were almost unbearable. It was late and too late to change rooms or hotels, but I would have done it, had I known about this little feature.
After the party was done, it was actually pretty quiet and enjoyable, especially waking up with the sunrise in our window, overlooking the North Vancouver shores.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Well, from all the hotels, I had been, this is one of the best valued hotel, I've been to. The price was good 76+ tax in low season. The maid servixce was puntual and flawless and the rooms were confortable without been too simple, neither too much lavish, but it was clean, and safe. Although I think it could be safer if the 4 floor, the hotel's rooms floor it was restricted to only guest or have to be forcibly go by the third floor where the reception is. So there is more control of who gets in or out... but in general was safe with a electronic door to access the room door... I guess I am being a bit picky.

The location was great for me since all my business were conducted in downtown Vancouver, and it was only a 10 minutes ride via the seabus, and for me it was a moment of zen everyday. Of course, some might complain that it is too far, and if you go, let's say mapleridge for your way back you will have to take the extra step on the Seabus. But for me, it was worth it the effort since hotels in the downtown area (at least that I know, and for similar price) are not as well maintained and relatively new as this one. Plus, it has all the gear you need, Iron, Ironing table, Fridge, microwave, free drinking water, coffe and coffee maker, a big screen TV (for those who care about that).

Of course the market below is a plus, you can buy and find a acceptable variaty of food for those who wants a pick and go. The only downside is that they open at 8:00AM so if you leave early in the morning there is not food for you there...

The staff was good and profesional so no complains there. However if you are looking for a 5 stars treatment like in the Panpacific or fairmont, there is not comparison... but again! This is a different type of hotel... And plus the price you are paying is way less than the Fairmont or Panpacific... In a nut shell, this is a quiet, low trafic, confortable, and safe hotel.

Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a great and concise review! Yes, the seabus is such a great alternative to reaching the down town core, without dealing with the bridge traffic. Also, sitting on the seabus going to "town" is just amazing. It truly is the best view of Vancouver. Also, by getting a great deal, you could do so much in our lovely city! We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back in the future! Regards, Farah Steen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lonsdale Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Address: 123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the Experience! Located on the spectacular North Vancouver waterfront! The Lonsdale Quay Hotel is a gateway to Vancouver's attractions, Whistler and major North Vancouver businesses. Whether for business or pleasure, our hotel is your best choice on the north shore of Vancouver! Explore our new Executive Rooms, Junior Suites and Standard rooms! Our Waterfront Boutique property will leave you with lasting memories. Fantastic Vancouver waterfront boutique hotel located in a vibrant market and shops. Your best North Vancouver Hotel choice. Accessible to all attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lonsdale Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Quay North Vancouver
Hotel Lonsdale Quay
Lonsdale Quay Hotel North Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lonsdale Quay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.