We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel; awkward location without a vehicle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Old Lillooet Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7J 2H5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in North Vancouver
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel; awkward location without a vehicle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were traveling to/from Whistler via train, and chose this hotel based on reviews, and a rudimentary knowledge of the Vancouver area, for the nights before and after our train journey. Unfortunately, since we did not have a vehicle, the hotel was in a bit of an awkward location. However, the hotel itself was excellent. The room, common areas lobby and grounds were clean, bright and lovely. The hotel lounge was cozy and fun, and the nearby restaurant/pub had excellent food. The internal restaurant was average in terms of food quality and selection. The hotel had secured elevators, requiring room keys to access, which is a nice touch in a hotel in this category. The front desk staff was helpful and knowledgeable. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidaynorthvan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
From all the staff and Management our sincere thanks for your review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that our Hotel's location was not suitable but pleased to hear that our facilities and our services exceeded your expectations and it was a memorable stay.

Kind Regards,
Charmaine A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    104
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
108
71
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great location in North Vancouver, rooms are nice modern and clean I would stay here again. There is a pub next door and a half decent diner in the hotel. Nice pool area as well. A little hard to find with all the mature trees so go slow when you get close top the address.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidaynorthvan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear wayb:

Thank you from our entire team for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Charmaine A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Because of my business travels I have had an opportunity to stay in hotels in over 25 countries. This hotel is definitely at the top of the scale. The hotel security procedures requiring your room card to enter the elevators is unusual. The staff is professional and courteous and they go to lenghts to make the stay a pleasant experience! The ambiance, which includes a bubbling fountain, landscape is unbelievable and makes you want to stay longer. We highly recommend this hotel to even seasoned travellors! Thank you Holiday Inn for making our stay a pleasant experience! Zul D

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor where everything was just perfect! Thr view was out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidaynorthvan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear ZulD

Thank you for the wonderful compliments for our Hotel and especially our staff, we truly appreciate it! We look forward to having you back in the near future.

Regards
Charmaine A
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were in town for a family medical emergency and ended up staying at this holiday inn a total of 13 nights. During our stay Rick at the front desk went above and beyond to ensure our stay was perfect. He even recommended some amazing quesadilla's at the pub which we enjoyed several times.
We had one small problem one night and he immediately came up and rectified the situation. He not only ensured that we had everything we needed, his care and compassion for our situation was heartfelt. It was a real tough couple of weeks and he made us feel so welcome during this emotional time.
The quality of the rooms were great, the landscape was beautiful, the Pantry and the Pub served excellent food!! This hotel was a bit away from the hospital we were visiting daily but the little bit of travel was well worth it; i would definately stay here again! If you are ever looking for exceptional service and a great place to stay; ask for Rick at the front desk and he will take care of you. We can't thank you enough Rick.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidaynorthvan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
From all our team “Thank you” for your wonderful comments. We delighted to learn we exceeded your expectations.

Your recognition for Rick at front desk for his exceptional customer serviceis greatly appreciated. I will be sure to share this with Rick and the entire team.

The beautiful North Shore has a variety of lodging choices and we extend our sincere thanks for choosing our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,
Charmaine Alam - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sombra, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is located away from busy city centres close to major highways. This is an important consideration depending on the reason for the stay. An automobile is needed as there is only a large grocery store within a 10 minute walk. Walking/running trails are adjacent to the property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The exterior reminded me of a smaller scale Las Vegas casino: a bubbling fountain, hillside stream just across the parking lot from the main doors, open lobby area. Great staff, really competent and made us feel welcome on arrival after a long day on the road. We ended up eating dinner on both nights of our stay at the attached restaurant because we were tired...but we could not have found better food, at a better price, anywhere in the Vancouver metro area. Menu was varied and the quality was great in all four of the dinner dishes we had in the two nights. Our room was large (it was a handicap accessible room with perfect features) and really well equipped. It was quiet and we found the bed to be perfect. One of the things I like about staying in a chain hotel is when the quality is uniformly high in every location...no drama or guess work. This Holiday Inn Express lives up to all of the HI marketing hype. I really did feel smart for staying there...rather than paying half again more to stay in another chain hotel in Vancouver proper. The location is just 20 minutes from downtown Vancouver, over the Iron Workers Memorial Bridge, but the admosphere feels nicely separated from the urban world. I would recommend it without any qualms.

Room Tip: If you are a handicapped traveller, reserve well in advance...this is an outstanding hotel for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidaynorthvan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding the Hotel and our team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the recommendation of the hotel and location to other travelers.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Regards,
C.Alam
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

As my review is mostly negative, I will start off with the positives. The hotel decor is great and so is the pool and hot tub and the area is generally quiet, no complaints here. The pool is indoor and 24 hours, so is the fitness center, there are blue towels which you use near the pool. Unfortunately these are the only positives.

I am surprised how this is #2 in North Vancouver's best hotels (probably others are worse). We went there as a family, had little trouble finding the hotel and that's when the surprises began. There is a parking tab which you get at the front desk and are supposed to display on your car, which means a trip to the parking lot, an inconvenience, although a small one. Like all Holiday Inn's you can get complimentary toothbrush, paste etc. if you forget something, but in this one you might need to trek to the front desk depending on how 'lazy' or 'tired' the person manning that desk is, again an inconvenience, although a small one.

There is "supposed" to be a free breakfast at the pantry for two if you pay a higher room rate, but you get only $20 off each day. The breakfast buffet at the pantry costs $17+tax, how $20 is enough for two only management knows. The pantry as a restaurant shows a whole new level of greed and poor customer service, specially during breakfast. We were made to wait over 40 minutes just to get seated. Then another 30 minutes before we got a chance to "order" and another 40 minutes before we got our food. The restaurant is terribly understaffed and is too greedy to have a buffet for $10 which most guests will choose. The cheapskates want you to order a lot of dishes and drinks and then tip them for their pathetic service. There is supposed to be kids eat free, but this does not include refills for kids drinks unlike US restaurants. I would any day prefer to eat breakfast at a cheap motel 6 in the US rather than wait for 2 hours and get substandard food and get asked to pay extra and tip. Even other Holiday Inns usually have a reasonably priced buffet (except the one at Niagara Falls).

Coming to the rooms, you'll be surprised that TV does not include any kids channels, again this one is too cheap to keep them as a standard options package. The carpets are quite old and don't look in the corners, its full of dust. You'll also be surprised at how small the rooms are compared to US hotels. Also do not use all the soap or shampoo on your first day of stay because, you will only get one bar.

Finally the advertised price shows up as $140 which makes it appear cheap, but add breakfast + a wide variety of creative taxes and fees and you will end up at $210 per night, oh and you will need a car to drive to tourist spots or downtown, which means you'll end up paying for tolls and parking. Unfortunately in the $220-$250 range, you can get a decent hotel in Vancouver downtown, without any of the creative taxes and fees and breakfast at Starbucks costs $10 a head and is delivered in 5 min. with a smile. I am willing to bet most people would not come here if they knew the real cost.

I would suggest that others avoid this money trap of a restaurant. They do not stand for value and are interested only in cutting corners and trying to bill the customer for every little thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidaynorthvan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Prad A:

Thank you for your time to post your review about your recent stay at our Hotel. All your comments both positive and negative are important to us.
On behalf of my team and the restaurant management please accept my deepest apologies for the negative experience you had during your stay and understand your disappointment.
Please be assured your feedback will assist us with as we take steps towards making necessary improvements.
Once again, our thanks for staying with us.

Sincerely,
C.Alam
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver

Address: 700 Old Lillooet Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7J 2H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning hotel conveniently located off Highway 1. Spacious rooms and suites with features that include microwaves, fridges, free internet access, free parking & bottled water. Great amenities include restaurant, lounge, banquet rooms, indoor pool, fitness centre, hot tub & sauna. Pet friendly and accessible rooms offered.20 min drive to Downtown Vancouver and only 90 min drive from Whistler and minutes from Grouse & Cypress Mountains, Capilano Suspension Bridge, PNE & Deep Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn North Vancouver
North Vancouver Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.