We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grouse Inn

Save Saved
You added Grouse Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grouse Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1633 Capilano Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Northfield, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It was a nice place to sleep. We stayed two nights and a day. It was clean and the room we had was very quite. We were on the second floor on the end, and had a very nice view of the mountains. The breakfast was good for Coffee and cereal, anything more then that it was worth a walk next door to Denys. For dinner we walked to a wonderful restaurant called Earls. There were a couple choices to eat within walking distance.

They had a very nice pool there, although we didn't have time to go for swim. The Grouse Inn was very close to the attractions we wanted to see in North Vancouver, the Capilano Suspension bridge and Grouse Mountain. Public transportation as well as cabs were easily available if you don't want to walk.

I thought the front desk people were extremely friendly and helpful.

I didn't care for the sink outside of the bathroom, but I guess it works if one wants to do their hair and brush their teeth while the other is showering. That's probably my biggest complaint. All in all I thought it was well worth the money. If we ever went back to Vancouver, we'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    26
    31
    16
    22
See reviews for
26
34
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The room had no privacy with no net curtains so you closed the curtains and sat in lamplight in the middle of the day or got looked at by the passers by. In bed at night, you can hear the people upstairs walking around. Sink in the room , not the bathroom. Lots of very loud kids and a halal cafe in one corner. Stern, unsmiling East European staff, but helpful nevertheless.Breakfast food ok and aligned to the price but the dining room is a grim affair. The website is just like a real estate ad, totally misrepresents the quality level of the place.
Having said all of this, if money is an issue, it is ok for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Away from the stairs means less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Do not expect something fancy. You get something very basic for what you pay. Furniture is very old. Pictures are totally different from reality. Free breakfast is a joke. Rooms are not clean.
Thanks they brought a crib for my baby and upgraded us to a suite for our anniversary, but I wondered what would be a regular room if the suite is so bad like this!
One night is enough for the price and quality. Not recommended for long stays.
Bed and sheets are old. Hairdryer was not working!

Room Tip: Second level, you can get some view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elaaaki, General Manager at Grouse Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your comment, we were very surprised to read your review of your
recent stay at Grouse Inn. The experience you detailed is not the norm for our Inn.
Our guests typically find the Grouse Inn clean and comfortable.

Our Complimentary Continental Breakfast now includes many items for a great start of the day.
I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very good hotel, you'll feel comfortable there, also there are good restaurants like Deny's or Caspian (Persian cuisine) over there. You are close to beautiful places so you can go and walk around. Also you have a good view to see the mountains. Enjoy the good breakfast. But the only thing was the stupid wifi login!!!! But totally that's awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elaaaki, General Manager at Grouse Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are pleased to hear that our rooms and facilities were comfortable and met your expectations. Not often enough do we hear from our guests and your recognition is greatly appreciated and ensure our continued efforts to providing an exceptional and quality service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The room in this hotel was more than adequate in that it had a comfortable bed, and a fridge and a microwave. However the remote control for the television did not work properly. More importantly, the room was not clean. There were bits on the floor, cobwebs in the overhead ceiling lights, and the bedspread was stained. The breakfast is fine, and the front desk clerk was very nice. I obtained the room for about $50 on Hotwire, and I was very glad I had not paid more than that, as it is seriously lacking in the cleanliness department.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Upon arrival, I checked into my room and conducted an inspection of the room.

I turned down the sheets and bedcovers to find long dark hairs on them. The counters of the bathroom sink and bedside tables were dirty with some kind of liquid spills... coffee?

I complained immediately and was moved to a different room that smelled of cigarette smoke. Again, the counters were dirty. I slept terribly that night because the sheets were so itchy.

The next day the staff moved me back to the other room and I insisted that they give me non-itchy sheets. They did.

In the evening I took a shower while the water accumulated up around my ankles. The next morning same thing. I was taking a shower while 4-6 inches of water accumulated in the tub due to a non-draining drain. I looked down the drain and it was disgusting.

After the plugged shower drain incident, I checked out and found a B&B where, while it wasn't 100% clean, it was better.

I stayed 3 nights but should have left and stayed elsewhere after the first night. I decided not to because I had business to do in North Vancouver and it was convenient geographically. I would not recommend this motel to anyone.

Most of the staff, including the manager, are rude and apparently so bored with their job they would rather talk on the phone to their friends than help customers. In the end, the manager gave me only a $10 discount on the first night's stay. He became angry with me because I complained within hearing range of all his guests who were having "breakfast" in the breakfast room next to his office.

The "breakfast" was terrible. Dry bread. Cereals that looked grey. A 4-slice toaster where only 2 "slices" worked.


During that time the staff moved me twice.

Room Tip: Take a tour of the room offered to you. Inspect the countertops. Feel the sheets. Fold over the shee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Inn

Also Known As:
Grouse Hotel
Address: 1633 Capilano Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grouse Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.