We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better fix up the rooms in the back section!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites North Vancouver

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites North Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites North Vancouver
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1748 Capilano Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in North Vancouver
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better fix up the rooms in the back section!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I had expected a typical Comfort Inn. What we got was roadside cheap motel. They had a "quiet back section away from the road", where we could park right outside our room. Okay, we agreed... then we saw the room. Crammed with two beds, a dumpy little kitchenette, a dumpy little bathroom, and even worse, the air conditioner was directly beside one of the beds. I mean, *directly* beside. If it was turned off, the room was stifling and smelled musty. When turned on, it blasted cold air directly across the bed. Seriously, it was about 6 inches from the bed, and it was impossible to redirect the air flow. Worst sleep of our 2 week trip. But, I will say, the front desk staff was very helpful when we checked in, and had we complained, I'm sure it would have been dealt with. But we were tired, and only going to be there for one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    87
    35
    20
    7
See reviews for
61
67
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

After spending hours on the computer comparing hotels for a place to stay, we chose the Comfort Inn on Capilano Road. What a gem of a place! Even though the rooms are not modern, they are unbelieveably clean. The king size bed was wonderful. We purchased day passes for the public transit system which got us every where and in less time than if we had rented a car. The "gem" of our stay was Helen, the day clerk at the hotel. She was so helpful, so pleasant and so kind. On our last day we walked out leaving behind directions she had written down for us on the counter. We were standing at our bus stop - in the rain - and looked up and here was Helen (umbrella in hand)running towards us - bringing us our directions for a faster route to the airport! What priceless service! Thank you Helen for putting the cherry on the top of our "sundae".

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This particular property met our family's needs. It is a motel type property with exterior entrance to your hotel room. Room windows could be opened; however our particular room had no screen & for the sake of our family's safety - we left windows closed.

The room temperature for our room was hard to maintain - either too cool or too warm.

We had a non smoking room with two queen beds on the second floor. Room was clean throughout including the bathroom. However, on our second night's stay we had to ask for more towels as we only had two sets of towels for our family of 4.

On our third night's stay, we experienced very noisy & inconsidertate neighbors that chose to smoke & drink outside their room & ours. As the night progressed so did their noise level with slamming doors which eventually led to vulgar language that could be heard throughout the property & by other guests. At this point, the front staff was contacted & was advised about what had been happening the past 3 hours. They advised that they would contact the party involved. Upon our checkout in the morning, we again advised the front desk staff, they apologized & nothing was done about the disruption or lack of sleep we received. (After all it wasn't the hotel's fault; it was the rude & inconsiderate behavior of the other hotel guests next to us)

The comp. breakfast that was offered was adequate (no hot items other than the coffee or tea). Staff ensured that the breakfast eating area was clean & that there were always no shortage of food items).

This property is conviently located in North Vancouver as you come off Lions Gate Bridge. Eating establishments are near as well are grocery & convienence stores. Also near to Capilano Suspension Bridge & Grouse Mountain.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed at this hotel only for one night in July 2010 and the room was very very dirty. We arrived at the hotel late with the kids so it was to late to ask for another room. The carpet, the bathroom (hairs in the bath), the phone, the microwave were dirty and the smell was terrible in the room.

But we received a discount from the personal of the hotel. We will never recommande and go back there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Location was good and staff was friendly. The breakfast buffet was good. Bad news: EXTREMELY overpriced for the value. I didn't expect a 5 star hotel, but the hotel's website paints a better picture than reality. Toilet leaked, wake-up call never occurred (thankfully I'm a light sleeper), room was musty, room missing TV remote. Realize that these were minor issues, with the exception of toilet, but expected more considering this was more expensive than other hotels of this quality level. Yes, Vancouver isn't cheap, but I think these guys jacked-up the rates for the Olympics and never came back down.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

This property was a huge disappointment compared to other Comfort Inns I have stayed at in the past. The room (so called suite) was old and very used looking and so small there was not even a closet to hang your clothes. The bed was old and you couldn't even see the TV from the bed. The room had an off odor ,it did not smell clean .The soap dish in the shower was hanging down by a metal stripand not usable. The craftsmanship on the tile in the shower was poor and the tub obviously had a prior sliding shower door which had been removed and a blue green hard substance was all over the area where it used to be.
Went out to the hot tub to spend a little time relaxing only to find the water green! Disgusting!! Next morning went to breakfast looking for the pastries and waffles they advertised, alas they were EGGOS Yuck! Left as fast as we could.
This is a property that I would expect to pay no more than $79 instead of $120
Definitely needs a lot of work! Will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Very small rooms, ants everywhere. Carpet filthy, mold in bathroom. Expected more from comfort inn.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites North Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites North Vancouver

Address: 1748 Capilano Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn and Suites North Vancouver 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites North Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites North Vancouver Hotel North Vancouver
Comfort Inn North Vancouver
North Vancouver Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites North Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.