We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a comfortable place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Capilano Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Capilano Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Capilano Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1634 Capilano Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in North Vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was a comfortable place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were hoping for a place with free breakfast, but couldn't find one. This place is a little on the old side, but was clean and comfortable. The doors lead to outdoor balconies, but we were able to get fresh air, which was nice. The swimming pool was outdoor, but it was really warm (it was kind of a cold day). The kids had a good time in it. We read the reviews and stayed away from the pancake restaurant (over-priced and not that great). We went to Tom Horton's (sorry if I got the name wrong) up the street for a very decently priced breakfast of egg sandwiches, donuts, and beverages. McDonalds isn't too far either. The weight room is off-site, but my husband used it once and said it was really good. The folks at the hotel were extremely helpful with advice about the area and places to eat. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    41
    48
    16
    8
See reviews for
43
51
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

my parents and i spent 1 night there. and it was HORRIBLE!

the Bathtub didn't drain. and the sink was chipped.

there was no microwave or fridge in the room and was on my printed itinerary from best western. i was told "we're sold out" i didnt even get a sorry.

we asked for a rollaway and it didnt have a blanket. when i asked for a blanket i was told to come to the front desk and get it.

the staff at checkout was better. def not worth the price.

Room Tip: make sure the bathtub drains before you get into the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Upon arriving to the hotel and checking into our room, Michelle, the front desk employee was very rude in demanding that we did not have the proper paperwork. Regardless of the nature of the paperwork, she was not pleasant to deal with in the way she went about the matter and spoke much too loudly for how close we were standing.

I can only say I enjoyed my stay at this hotel (motel?) because there were so many faults to laugh at. I wish I could say the hotel was clean but after finding a slice of dried apple behind the nightstand, and washing my face with a towel that smelled like a cigarette smoke-filled bowling alley, our room left much to be desired. As for the smell of the room itself, it was initially an overpowering mix of old carpet and nilodor air-freshener.

Upon opening the window in the cupboard-sized bathroom, it literally fell out of its track and became jammed. We almost thought we weren't going to able to close it. Thankfully we did; otherwise we would have had the fortune of falling asleep to the sound of drunk teenagers dealing drugs behind the adjacent convenience store directly outside our window.

Could we open the large front windows? Sure we could. Could we keep out bugs? Nope. None of the windows had screens. I hope everyone likes pillows; our two-bed room had nine! However, you might need that many pillows to drown out the vehicle noise coming from the road.

In summary, this hotel looks like a old motel, was much too expensive, deviated from the quality usually associated with Best Western, and I would have much preferred to stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I stay in Best Westerns on a pretty regular basis in both Canada and the U.S. and have done so for many years. Last month, on April 20, we had occasion to overnight in North Vancouver and chose the Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites. We had booked our Unit over the telephone with the General Manager, Zahir, the afternoon before we were due to arrive. Zahir was unbelievably cordial and helpful and promised us a quiet upstairs room which I had requested and which he delivered on. The Hotel is in a great location, our Room was spotless and, although we did not have time to enjoy the Restaurant, it looked suberb. Although this is not a new Hotel, it is well kept throughout and WE WILL RETURN - Peter & Ann.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

At different times I must stay on the road. I've found the Best Western has become my second home. Staff has been great. Real accommodating. Each Best Western I've stayed at all have something different in features. I've stated in both the US and Canada and have it the best value for the dollar. I will be back to stay again in July.
Thank You Best Western.
Jeff Martin

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just a few blocks away from the Capilano Suspension Bridge attraction. Reasonably priced and clean. They even registered me for a frequent traveller account. Smooth checkin & checkout. Has attached restaurant for breakfast. Overall excellent experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Capilano Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Capilano Inn & Suites

Address: 1634 Capilano Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Capilano Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 4km from Downtown Vancouver, we are within easy access to many, restaurants, shopping and recreation areas. This core Best Western offers comfortable updated rooms and suites with kitchenettes. All rooms include amenities such as coffee makers (Tea & Coffee provided), Iron & Ironing board, Hairdryer, Free Parking and Internet Access (wireless). On site is an outdoor heated pool (open May- October), guest laundry and De Dutch coffee shop that is open for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Best Western, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Capilano Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capilano Inn And Suites
Best Western Capilano Hotel North Vancouver
Best Western North Vancouver
North Vancouver Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Capilano Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.