We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick stopover en-route north” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Vancouver Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added North Vancouver Hotel to your Saves list
North Vancouver Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Capilano Rd, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B6, Canada (Formerly Ramada Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in North Vancouver
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“quick stopover en-route north”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel before leaving the UK as it was conveniently located. It's pretty standard fare but the guy on front desk deserves a mention for his helpful service and local knowledge.

The room was fine, clean and no odd odours. Unfortunately our next door neighbour was a fellow Englishman who played music so loudly he couldn't hear his phone ringing or me banging on his door but eventually we sorted it out.

Breakfast was the usual complimentary continental style and set us up for the day.

All in all I would happily stay there again but hopefully not next to a music loving scouser.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Mr. Buchan,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. I believe our front desk agent, Thomas assisted you during your stay! We apologize that some of our other guests were quiet rowdy! We hope that you will come stay with us again during your next visit to Canada!

Sincerely,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    65
    50
    13
    13
See reviews for
64
60
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The north vancouver hotel is more a motel than a hotel. The rooms are smaller than you would expect for a hotel. Otherwise the rooms are fully equipped with all necessities. It is however conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood with access to the city of Vancouver and recreation areas such as Cypress Mountain. The hotel is also located on the access road to Whistler mountain. After all, a perfect place allowing you to combine city and mountain experience.

Be aware, the bridges to Vancouver are frequently congested.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Mr. Redmond,

Thank you for your thoughtful review! Yes, even lions gate bridge frustrates us locals from time to time! We are glad that you found the location to your liking and the rooms were satisfactory. We hope that you will choose us again the next time you make your way back to Vancouver!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Wow, complementary breakfast was the best we have had by far on our month long stay in Canada. The room was clean, spacious and no road noise annoying us. We would definately stay here again and recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, General Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest (Sherree S),

Thank you for your comments! We hope that your trip was blast and that you can look back on the memories you have of Canada in fondness. We look forward to having you back in Vancouver in the future!

Cheers,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was a good hotel prior to leaving for cruise to Alaska. Comfortable bed and pillows, clean room, water pressure and heat in shower were excellent. The free hot breakfast was excellent, serving eggs, sausage, pancakes, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit and other items. Coffee was excellent and strong, hot chocolate and assorted juices. Close to public transportation and within walking distances to several restaurants. Small heated pool. Very little noise. WiFi adequate. Only drawback is getting there and to cruise terminal. They do not provide airport shuttle on request, they send one a day and cruise shuttle on certain days only. Call hotel before leaving so you will not be surprised. Trip to hotel from airport $50. Around $20 for trip to cruise terminal. We opted for a rental car from enterprise, just around 1 mile who picked us up and delivered us to Seabus which took us to Canada Place for $4. Just walk down 1/2 blk to cruise terminal next door. Would recommend staying if not for cruise layover. Near Capiliano Suspension Bridge, Grouse Mountain all which have the bus stop right by hotel and Lane Canyon is also close by and free.

Room Tip: sayed in room across from pool and near lobby. No noise and convenient to free breakfast, pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, General Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest Darby,

Thank you for your well-informed review of our hotel. Indeed we apologize for the lack of clarity in regards to our taxi/shuttle services. The prices you have listed are correct and we would be happy to arrange taxi services with Sunshine Cabs (our corporate partner) for the flat fees that you have listed. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay however and look forward to serving you upon your next visit!

Sincerely,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was traveling with my family from Vernon B.C. to the Sunshine coast and needed somewhere close to the ferry terminal, we chose this hotel and were very surprised how good it was. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms spacious and clean, bed very comfortable, could easily have missed the ferry.Breakfast excellent,only hiccup Seating area was small and we had to wait for somewhere to sit. If I travel that way again I will certainly consider staying there.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room, very quiet, ask for a room near reception end, its furthest from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, General Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest (Metamik),

Thank you for your kind words. Our staff are warm and friendly and enjoy working together every day! We hope that your family enjoyed their time in BC and we hope that you will come visit Vancouver again soon!

Cheers,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The kitchenette was key, as we were travelling with our 10 month old son. The location is great, it's a short trip across the bridge to Stanley park.
The staff where very friendly and helpful, and the cleaning staff did a great job with our room everyday!
The breakfast was very good, the pancakes from the machine were cool.
The pool was open and looked clean, but we didn't use it.

I would stay there again. The only negative was the noise from the renovations.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, General Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest (JJFergie),

Thank you for taking the time to write! We apologize for the disturbance of our renovations during your stay. Our priorities are to provide our guests with the most comfortable experiences possible, which includes new floor work from time to time! We hope that it wasn’t too much of a distraction and that you will consider us for your next stay in Vancouver!

Sincerely,

Steven
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

After a horrible experience at the Grouse Inn down the street, we were moved here, and honestly, I was so happy we moved here! The rooms were very nice and clean, staff was very friendly, and the hot breakfast buffet was AMAZING! I would go back just to eat there haha! The bed I stayed in was VERY comfortable, and the bathroom was nicely done with tile floor and granite counters. The pool was an awesome bonus, it was nice to sit and relax and swim after a long day on the town. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, General Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest Chelsie,

Thank you for your kind words! We at North Vancouver Hotel pride ourselves in being one of the best hotels in North Vancouver and we hope that you will come visit us again next time!

Cheers,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Vancouver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Vancouver Hotel

Address: 1800 Capilano Rd, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B6, Canada (Formerly Ramada Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — North Vancouver Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foot of Vancouver's Grouse Mountain, home of the 2010 Winter Olympics, North Vancouver Hotel ranks among the best boutique hotels in Vancouver and was recently voted the People's Choice Hotel by readers of local publication North Shore News. The staff at our newly renovated and affordable pet friendly hotel in North Vancouver provides a luxurious and comfortable stay. Our hotel in North Vancouver features certain room types equipped with partial or full kitchens, ideal for your prolonged Vancouver accommodation. Unlike hotels in downtown Vancouver, we feature many complimentary amenities, including complimentary hot breakfast, as well as free parking, local calls, WiFi Internet and seasonal pool access. The North Vancouver Hotel is located within minutes of various Vancouver tourist attractions such as Stanley Park, Capilano Suspension Bridge and Downtown Vancouver, as well as exceptional dinning and shopping. We offer special packages, including Snowshoe Package or Ski Package for the winter season and Cruise Packages from May until October. We have both Canadian and International guests coming to stay in our hotel in North Vancouver. Book now at one of the boutique hotels in Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your North Vancouver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Vancouver Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.