We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room - unpleasant manager” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Vancouver Hotel

Save Saved
You added North Vancouver Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Vancouver Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Capilano Rd, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B6, Canada (Formerly Ramada Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in North Vancouver
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice room - unpleasant manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The rooms were clean. But no help was offered with the bags. The manager was completely rude and didn't seem to have a clue about local attractions, nor did he seem interested in helping us. The breakfast was badly organised and buses of school children piling in made for an unpleasant experience. The lady who worked in the breakfast room was obviously working her best and was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are glad to know that you found the rooms clean and the breakfast staff helpful. We do have a lot of sports teams that stay with us, and although there are a lot of them they are usually very good about keeping the noise to a minimum and being respectful of the other guests. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in Vancouver.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    64
    48
    12
    13
See reviews for
56
51
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and 6 month old stayed in the North Vancouver Hotel for one night to break up a trip from Victoria (Vancouver Island) to Whistler. We also chose this hotel for it's closeness to Capilano Suspension Bridge.

Our stay overall was fine, we booked with Booking.com and received a room on the bottom level, close to the street and across from the reception - but didn't hear much traffic during the night. The room was clean, tidy and crisp. They supplied a cot for our son with bedding. The kitchen in the room was small - I wouldn't cook there, but good enough to maybe heat something on the stove or in the microwave.

A 15 minute walk around the corner accessed a Save On Foods as well as other shops - 10 minutes in the opposite direction were fast food outlets.

The only issue we had was that we required a kettle to boil water for our son's formula, when we asked for one the response was 'there should be one there' even though there wasn't - and that was it. Luckily there was a saucepan and stove as a poor back up.

The free breakfast is average, and the room to eat in is tiny. We lobbed in around 8am and we had to sit outside in the rain, under a small marquee that leaked. The free WiFi is also quite slow / non-exisent. Go to Denny's around the corner for faster..!

There are a bunch of other hotels on this strip - Best Western etc... check them out for better prices, they all looked the same as this hotel. Good for a one night stay, mainly because there's not much in this area of Vancouver to keep you there any longer than a stop off trip.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom level - I don't think there are lifts, so that would have been hard for pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your thorough review. We are pleased to know that you found our location convenient and our rooms clean and comfortable. We do have kettles at front desk for guests to use but there would not be one already in a kitchenette room. It is our mistake that front desk did not inform you of this and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We have an indoor seating and outdoor seating for breakfast, and there is also the option to take the food back to your room. We are aware that our Wi-Fi is slow due to shared band width and a large volume of traffic and are in the process of upgrading it.

There is a lot to do and see in North Vancouver, not to mention it is just 10 minutes from downtown and has way more reasonable prices. Just up the road from us is Capilano Suspension Bridge and Grouse Mountain. We have Park Royal shopping mall 5 minutes away and Ambleside beach. Maybe next time you are here you can enjoy all the great things there is to do around our hotel.


Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, in a double queen room close to the main road. The room was not cleaned well, with hair in the hair dryer and shower, and dust on the surfaces. My general opinion is that it was a little run down. However, the location is great, the breakfast is good (cold and warm options), and the staff were very nice and helpful. Everyone else seems to love this hotel, so perhaps we just had a bad room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you found the location convenient, the breakfast to your taste and the staff friendly and helpful. It is very unusual that we would have a room that was not thoroughly cleaned. We apologize if that was the case and we hope that you will stay with us again to see that this is not our usual standard. Thank you again for your feedback.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a terrific and within walking distance of other chain hotels and local restaurants. The room was clean, but did have a strange smell that eventually dissipated. Parking is tight and it's an easy drive to get downtown. Earls restaurant is around the corner and should be part of your plans. The front staff were very helpful and the breakfast was average. Other hotels nearby.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you found our location convenient, and our staff helpful. It is unfortunate that there was an odor in your room. It is possible that you were put in a pet designated room, in which case we would have let you know and offered a discount rate if you don't have a pet with you. Unfortunately we do not have enough information to know exactly what happened. We do, however, apologize for any inconvenience and we hope you will consider staying with us again.


Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel was just fine. The people at the front desk were helpful as I had many questions about where to go and what to see. Parking right in front of our room was a plus. The room was spacious and appeared to be clean. The bed was even comfortable. The only reason I can't give a better rating is due to the smell of the room. There definitely was an odor. Our friends room did NOT have this problem. After spending some time in the room one got used to it. However, as soon as the door was opened, it hit you all over again. (The best way to describe the odor: smelly socks.) So do try the hotel but avoid Room 103.

Room Tip: Avoid room 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our free parking, and clean, spacious rooms. Room 103 is a pet designated room. We do a deep clean of all our pet rooms. Unfortunately there is still sometimes a bit of an odor, but as you said this is not the case in our other rooms. Pet rooms are discounted if you do not actually have a pet with you. Unfortunately we do not have enough information at this point to understand why you were in a pet room, whether it was because you had a pet with you, or perhaps it was our last room available. It is our policy to inform the guest in that case. We hope this did not cause too much inconvenience to you and next time we will be sure to put you in a non-pet room, provided you do not have a pet with you. Thank you again for your response and we hope you will consider staying with us again soon.


Yours in hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

decent standards , good value motel just down the road from Grouse Mountain and Capilano suspension bridge. Short drive into Vancouver and handy to see the sights to the north of the city. Wifi, small pool and breakfast room with reasonable choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you found us to be of good value and a convenient location. We are near many outdoor attractions such as Grouse Mountain and the Capilano Suspension Bridge, and we are also only ten minutes from downtown. Our closeness to nature and the city is the great thing about the North Shore and our particular location. We provide many amenities such as free hot and continental breakfast, parking, and Wi-Fi. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Vancouver.


Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Not a hotel. It is a Motel. That being said, good pride of ownership and the property is kept clean. Outdoor pool, grounds and room are all very clean. The rooms are updated and modern. Access and location is fine, but there is significant road noise from Capilano. Some of the staff are stand-offish. The breakfast room is tiny and at 0930, the spoons are practically removed from your hands. Where's the customer service there? As well, on check-in, the full rate was charged to credit card...not a pre-authorization.

Overall, nice clean property, Need some work on staff attitude.

Room Tip: ...as far from the road as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found our hotel clean and tasteful. We are near the road and there is some noise, however we do have quieter rooms that are farther from the road. We have three different seating areas for breakfast all of which you may stay and enjoy your breakfast in for as long as you wish. The only part that closes is the actual serving area. Also, it is our policy to take payment on check-in, but you may pay in cash, debit, or credit. If you have any questions or comments in regards to these things, it is always best to mention it during your stay so we can clarify any issues and accommodate you the best we can; that is where our excellent customer service really shines. We hope you will stay with us again in future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Vancouver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Vancouver Hotel

Address: 1800 Capilano Rd, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B6, Canada (Formerly Ramada Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — North Vancouver Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your North Vancouver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Vancouver Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.