We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tours!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deep Cove Canoe and Kayak

Deep Cove Canoe and Kayak
2156 Banbury Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7G 2T1, Canada
604.929.2268
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep Cove Canoe and Kayak Centre is Vancouver’s premier paddling location. With one of the largest fleets in Canada, we offer rentals of high quality single and double ocean kayaks, stand up paddleboards (SUP), surf skis and canoes that will suit a wide range of paddling styles and experience levels. Our highly acclaimed kayak school offers a wide range of lessons and tours. We are also happy to arrange private group bookings for your family outing, office event or school group. With an emphasis on safety, our rentals, lessons and tours provide you with all the gear that you will need for a great day on the water.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Deep Cove Explorer tour was well worth it and seeing the tidal difference on the Full Moon tour was worth it as well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unique & Relaxing Trip in a Scenic Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We try to pick one "big" adventure for each vacation and we had never been kayaking! I read other reviews of Deep Cove Canoe and Kayak and researched the Deep Cove area to check out the scenery. Jill was a great guide, making sure we were all prepared to maneuver the kayak. I didn't know there were foot pedals inside attached to a rudder outside the kayak to change direction. We thought we would be really cold on the water, especially during the brief shower at the beginning of the trip. But moving the paddle kept our hands warm. Also, we wore layers of clothing and water-repellent hats. We didn't tip over and stayed fairly dry with the spray skirt. It's a beautiful area and fairly easy to find. Park in the lot across the street on a slow day. Bring a decent, but not expensive camera in a zippered, plastic bag. We have magnificent memories from an afternoon away from the other tourists!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Awesome day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Had a great time with friends and was a fun day! I sort of forgot when I went though

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth doing over and over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

One of the best ways to learn kayaking and to do something different outdoors that you might not ordinarily do. Once the weather warms up there never seems to be enough time to enjoy summer, so we plan to pencil in more dates to Deep Cove and do more kayaking this year. They have a range of kayaks and all the gear you'd need so it's just a question of picking your day and time. Regulars might want to invest in their own skirts and paddles for comfort. Paddling up Indian Arm is such a treat. Although it is the ocean, the waters are protected, so it's ideal for relative novices like we are. Recommend it to anybody!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Safe, stunning, and satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We started our day with a tasty breakfast at one of the cosy restaurants in the village of Deep Cove, then set off for a one day paddle on Indian Arm in a double kayak with my wife. It was necessary to book 4 days in advance for this time of year, as many school groups use the hire facility. We are experienced with sit on top kayaks, but I found the rear position foot steering very cramped as I have big feet. I would recommend that you use some kind of flexible footwear if you are going for a long paddle as it would become painful without it. The weather was perfect, with a light breeze. We paddled along the coastline for two hours, even cruising past a small group of seals resting on logs, then crossed the arm to the other side for the return trip including setting ashore at Twin Islands for lunch.
The return trip was a little more strenuous, as we were paddling against the wind, but arrived back after a thoroughly enjoyable paddle six hours after we left.
The venue is highly recommended for a kayak paddle, but the rental rates are exorbitant.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep Cove Canoe and Kayak also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Deep Cove Canoe and Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deep Cove Canoe and Kayak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.