We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka Sushi

Osaka Sushi
4369 Gallant, North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 296 Restaurants in North Vancouver
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The lunch box special was the perfect ending to a multi-day kayak adventure at Deep Cove. All of the selections were tasty and fresh. The outside seating on a warm summer day was great. This review would have been 5 stars had it not been for the server coughing into her hand repeatedly. This caused much anxiety and was very avoidable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stopped there after roaming around town.
And let me tell you, the sashimi I had ( tuna/sockeye salmon) was an absolute dream!
It was very good. I'm used to having sushi in Ontario, and there was no comparison.
I would recommend it for sure. The pieces of sashimi were generously sized.
Prices were ok. You definitely pay for what you get!
I also had two seaweed cones with the same meat. Very delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Japanese for a visitor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were visiting our daughter in North Vancouver and she took us to the restaurant in Deep Cove- a nice tourist spot in N Vancouver. My daughter eats there often and she really enjoyed the sushi. My wife and my son-in-law had the tempura and enjoyed it. Unfortunately, I had the special- ribs- and they were awful - there was literally no meat on the ribs and they were of poor quality and poorly cooked. The service was OK but the waitress was not particularly helpful to me as I do not eat Japanese food often and she seemed impatient with any question I had regarding the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“slow slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was a Thursday night (May 9th) and we walked to this sushi restaurant as I live near by and have not been there in years.It was not busy at all.the special on the board at the front door was unreadable and when I asked what it said the waitress rolled her eyes, had no answer and barely spoke english.We had to seat ourselves outside as inside was like a oven.We waited 15 minutes for a waitress then we had to ask for water .It took 30 minutes for our food. We had to again ask for water which was not even cold but warm.The waitress was rude when we asked how long for our sushi.I admit the sushi was very good but a bit overpriced.Another local was picking up his take out and he indicated "never eat in service always lousy".He was told 20 minutes for his pick up order and experience has taught him they are always slow so he came in 30 minutes.He told me he had to wait another ten minutes so there estimated time was 20 minutes yet he waited fourty.The waitress never brought our bill and we finally went inside to get it and pay.Never again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We live a walk away from this place. Went to it before and it was good. It is now under a new name/management. I took my hubby there, I think it was a Friday. It was very buzy but we got a table, a little japanese secluded booth, a nice romantic surprise (new from our last visit? ) except for the group of non stop giggling young girls in the booth beside us.
I had the Ebi sunomono salad which was quit different than the one I am used too. We shared beef tereaki, Yakatori and tempora sweet patatoes and prawns. The good thing about Japanese food is that the food is mostly healthy and one rarely feels too full like after eating a steak. All the food was very fresh tasting, cooked in fresh oil with no after taste that some other restaurants. The service was prompt and polite.
Go work out you appetite hicking up the quarry rock it takes about 1hr to 1.5 hr back. It`s a hike that takes you up and down and it is very scenic or simply have a romantic walk along the water...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Sushi also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Osaka Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.