We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get to ride down with the Grouse Grinders” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grouse Mountain

Grouse Mountain
6400 Nancy Green Way, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7R 4K9, Canada
604 984 0661
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$180*
and up
Private Tour: Capilano Suspension Bridge and...
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding, Helicopter rides, Group tours/air tour, Hiking, Group tours/walking tour, Biking, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just 15 minutes from downtown Vancouver, Grouse Mountain attracts locals and tourists alike. During the summer, guests enjoy hiking, Zip Line Adventures, paragliding, sightseeing, lumberjack shows and more. In winter, we have skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, sleigh rides among many other activities. Grouse Mountain also features several different dining venues, from café style at Lupins to casual dining at Altitudes and fine dining as a guest at The Observatory. We also have a refuge for endangered wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“You get to ride down with the Grouse Grinders”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Here's the thing you might not get from the others' reviews. The Grouse Grind is the alternative to taking the gondola to the top of this mountain. It is an arduous straight-up hike on rugged trails which the fully fit pride themselves on completing. The sad news is that they ride back down with you on the gondola ; ) Once up the views are world renowned. Trouble is our 'winter' consists of grey, overcast, non-view days roughly from November to April. So if it works out weather-wise please do but I'd add it is pricey so make sure the weather is clear.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,169
    637
    185
    58
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of the best views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Grouse Mountain in the summer of 2013. Even though this is no ski time, we had a great time catching the views from the (packed) main lift, and then from a second lift that takes you closer to the "Eye of the Wind" wind mill and the ziplines. There are also cool shows to show the natural wonders of this part of the world: bears and birds of prey (owl, eagle or hawk, and a vulture). They also had a cool show for kids with lumberjacks and tasty Beaver Tails. Even in this time of the year it can be cool at the top of the mountain, so bring at least a sweater.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Grouse Mountain is easily reached on Vancouver's excellent public transport system - it's a short bus ride from the Lonsdale Quay bus terminal. Going up the mountain on the gondola is well worth the money. If you walk up to the top of the mountain from the gondola stop the view all around are just amazing. I enjoyed it so much I went two days running, going across to Lonsdale Quay on the brilliant sea bus and stopping off in Lonsdale Market for lunch before taking the bus to the mountain. The same bus also takes you to the Capilano Suspension Bridge and to the fish hatchery. Worth stopping off to look at the dam on the way up as well.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“grouse mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

fabulous view however a bit expensive for a quick gondola ride up the mountain but it was made up for by the first snowfall of the season on the way up. The bears unfortunately were sleeping but the ranger was hugely informative so we didn't we had missed out on too much

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Grisly bears are the highlight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went up Grouse Mountain and the weather was very good for October and very warm I think the highlight is always to see the two bears and this year, due to the weather, they were out in their compound. They have now built a viewing platform and it is a joy to see these animals, playing to the crowds. My only observations are that it is a little expensive to go up on the gondola and the queues to get down can be lengthy. The problem being in October they are using the smaller cable cars and we waited one and a half hours to get down.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grouse Mountain also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Grouse Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grouse Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.