We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canyon Lights - Looking forward to coming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capilano Suspension Bridge Park

Capilano Suspension Bridge Park
3735 Capilano Rd., North Vancouver, British Columbia V7R 4J1, Canada
+1 604-985-7474
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Capilano Suspension Bridge Park like an insider
Private Tour
$194*
and up
Private Tour: Capilano Suspension Bridge and...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only 15 minutes from downtown Vancouver, allow 2 - 3 hours for your visit to Vancouver's iconic Capilano Suspension Bridge, hanging 450 feet (137m) across and 230 feet (70m) above Capilano River. The park offers more than just the bridge. Its surrounding 27 acres celebrate nature, history and culture in unique and thrilling ways. No more so than with the newest attraction, CLIFFWALK. Cliffwalk hangs for 213m (700ft) and reaches 91m (300ft) high, hugging the granite cliffside and offering a panoramic view of the thriving rainforest and canyon far below. On Treetops Adventure venture from one magnificent old growth Douglas-fir to another on a series of seven elevated suspension bridges, reaching as high as 110 feet (33m), for a squirrel's eye view of the forest. Guides, signage and interactive exhibits throughout the park help you in your understanding of rainforest ecosystems and their sustainability.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Canyon Lights - Looking forward to coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We hadn't been to the Capilano Suspension Bridge for about 10 years and decided to check out the holiday festivities at Canyon Lights -- evening events all light up. Our kids (aged 10 and 11) were immediately impressed with the lights, enjoyed hot chocolate, croissants, the gift shop, tree top adventure and the cliff walk, nevermind the suspension bridge itself. It's pricey at $68 for a family of four but for BC residents that means free admission for a year, and my kids are already asking to go back. In addition, given the number of friendly staff there for questions and safety, the various food kiosks, and events like glass-blowing, there was enough to keep us all entertained and even my frugal husband felt it was money well spent. "Good choice!", he remarked, as we hoofed through the treetops adventure. Looking forward to going again summer and winter.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,556
    906
    320
    123
    77
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cool place but over priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went up to see the bridge and the xmas lights as we had never been before. Most people advised 2-3hrs per visit and so we timed it to spend part in daylight, part @ dark. The bridge is cool ... and very wobbly when it is full of people. lol

The tree walks are amazing and the cliffwalk is also very cool. The $30 a person price is way too much....

The xmas lights were well done and the pathways are easy to navigate even in the snow. Might go up again in a few years but hope they bring the price closer to reality, like 15 bucks.

We spent 4 hrs there and walked it twice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just OK...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visited the park after reading high reviews on it, and it just wasn't what we expected. I suppose we thought the cliff walk would have been higher and a bit more "scary", but it was just a walkway that jutted out from the cliff, not as high as we had thought. The suspension bridge was just that, a suspension bridge over the river below. We walked the Tree Top Adventure which was informative and educational, albeit a "low impact" kind of attraction. We had no children with us so perhaps it was meant for a younger audience? We thought they had done the attractions well, but really, it was just OK. And at $32 for an adult admission, we just felt it wasn't worth it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Read the bad reviews. It is a rip off - paid 75.00 for myself and two teenage kids. Definitely not worth it. If it is for charity they should ask for a donation but not charge a fixed rate. Definitely not worth it. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California, USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Amazing Nature Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I wanted to do something exciting for my birthday and so since I was in Vancouver, BC anyway I thought I would check out the Capliano Suspension Bridge Park. I thought it sounded fun, but I totally underestimated what an amazing and fun adventure it ended up being! My friend and I arrived early, and believe me, we were glad we did! We were the first ones in the park when it opened and we had the bridge all to ourselves for the first ten minites the park was open! I highly advise you arrive at least 30 to 40 minutes before they open. Once the line forms and the park gets crowded you have tons of people all around you! Also parking can get tough after 12:00 noon.

People from Vancouver are the most friendly people on the planet and they have the best manners of anyone you will encounter so the locals that are there are very kind and helpful! There are tons of tourists so when it gets crowded on the bridge its like a roller coaster ride! The bridge is amazing but I also advise that you explore every area of the park! The Tree Top Sky walk is breath taking and the Totems are really beautiful. Make time to see them as well.

You will need three to four hours to fully enjoy this adventure. Make sure that if you come in the winter to dress warm as 99% of this is out doors. Its all about the main bridge which wiggles and moves as you walk accross it, I loved the looks on peoples faces as they went across! Everything they offer is fun and exciting and the views and vistas are breath taking. I have to say my time here was one of the most fun outdoor adventures that I have ever taken. Fun for the wihole family so everyone can and will enjoy this attraction.

Hints: Arrive EARLY!
In Winter DRESS WARM
Appreciate and thank the friendly locals
BRING A CAMERA! You will need one!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capilano Suspension Bridge Park also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Capilano Suspension Bridge Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capilano Suspension Bridge Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.