We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a clear day a gorgeous view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grouse Mountain Skyride

Grouse Mountain Skyride
6400 Nancy Greene Way, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7R 4K9, Canada
604-980-9311
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$180*
and up
Private Tour: Capilano Suspension Bridge and...
Type: Trams, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic tram ride to the top of Grouse Mountain.
North Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“On a clear day a gorgeous view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The price for the skyride is a little expensive, but for a visitor to Vancouver, you get a panoramic view from the Northshore Mountains all of greater Vancouver, the gulf islands and Vancouver Island.
Don't go, if the Mountain is fogged in.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    78
    32
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Okay, but there are better places for a view of Vancouver...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

If you've got your heart set on a gondola ride, then go ahead and do this.

However if you're going up to the top of Grouse Mountain to wander around and see the sights, then go somewhere else (like Cypress Bowl- it's free :)

In general, Grouse Mountain feels very commercialized. Between the over-priced tram rides, the expensive great stores, and the worst offender of all- the Grouse Grind. They've taken hiking up the mountain and made it competetive- pick up your tracker, see you time at the end, check out the leader boards. Ugh.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Grouse Skyride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Make sure you do this on a sunny day. Otherwise, you may miss out on the tremendous views of Vancouver and mountains. If you are celebrating something, consider eating at the restaurant at the top of Grouse Mountain. It's a bit pricy but by dining there the restaurant covers the ride's price. It's best to make reservations.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exciting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We loved going up the mountain and the tree stumps that are carved out into eagles etc were amazing also we saw wolves and bears. The show was great

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset! A Must-Do in Vancouver!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have to admit, I have done these skyrides in other cities before, and was not super excited to spend the money to do another one. However, I am so glad I did. We went up to the restaurant for dinner - and if you order an entree at the restaurant (or spend a certain amount per person - I can't remember off the top of my head) the skyride is included in that dinner. There were three couples that went up on the skyride, and ate dinner as the sun set. I cannot imagine a more picturesque way to see Vancouver. It was just stunningly beautiful. I am so glad I did this, and would recommend to everyone who is in Vancouver to also go to Grouse Mountain and take the skyride. I didn't think the food at the restaurant was anything special - but the view made it feel like it was!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grouse Mountain Skyride also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Grouse Mountain Skyride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grouse Mountain Skyride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.