We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel you are sitting in a cafe in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Art Bakery

Sweet Art Bakery
109 Lonsdale Ave., North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 2E9, Canada
604-988-1000
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Dessert, Bakeries
Restaurant details
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You feel you are sitting in a cafe in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I love all their pastries, from cookies to cakes. they made my 40th birthday cake and they made it so special. I wish i could share a photo with your guys. I love how they serve tea in a little teapot and have tea leaf and not teabag(they got teabags too). I tried their sanwich too few months ago and i even loved that. I asked about the bread and they make their own sandwich bread too. okay you can tell i love this place so i totaly recommand them for lunch, breakfast or just a coffe with a friend. oh and they have free wifi too :)
OH I CAN SHARE A PHOTO:) SO HERE IS MY 40TH BIRTHDAY CAKE.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't know what a mocha is...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I'm surprised by the good reviews. I ordered a chocolate croissant, which was tough and dry, and a mocha. The clerk gave me an espresso and when I questioned her, she didn't seem to know that mochas have milk and chocolate. I felt like she was giving attitude that I didn't know what I was talking about. Not heading back there anytime soon.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

To be honest, I haven't tried that many things at Sweet Art. But what I have tried, seemed average tasting: croissant, cream puff, Neapolitan, and cookies.

I found their prices to be too high.

Although I haven't tried their cakes, they look quite appealing.

Whenever I have gone in, their tables were at least have full, so some people seem to like it.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Road
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Could be so much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Greater Vancouver is really lacking in places where you can get both coffee and in-house baking, so it would be nice to be able to recommend this place. Unfortunately, the last couple of times I was here I ended up leaving again because it was taking so long to get service (and that's not table service, it's standing at the counter and not getting service!). When I have eaten here in the past, it's true that some of the pastries are good, but others (e.g. everything cookie-like) are so-so. It used to be much better when some old guy was running it a few years back, but maybe it changed hands? If they don't improve, they'll have a hard time competing against the coffee chains.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming - great coffee and irresistable sweets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Highly recommend this little cafe for an excellent cup of coffee, service always with a big smile and delicious goodies. The ambience is restful and reminds one of a cafe in Paris - often they have music by Edith Piaff in the background. The cakes are absolutely exquisite and they are also delicious - works of art and a real treat for special occasions. This is my favorite coffee place in N orth Vancouver.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Art Bakery also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Sweet Art Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Art Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.