We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
5500 No. 3 Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 2C8, Canada (City Centre)
(604) 244-9969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 700 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
New Westminster, B.C.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Cactus Club has been an on and off favorite of mine since the early 90s. I could eat their old cajun chicken platter every day for the rest of my life. Sadly it only exists as a part of a burger now but I digress.

The teriyaki chicken bowl, jambalaya bowl and "the burger" are all quite good. they offer healthy options with each like brown rice for the bowls and a perfectly dressed salad with the burger. Cactus Club and I are in an "on again" phase now. The revamped menu seems much more appetizing than the fare that has been offered for the past decade but I have not had much more than those 3 dishes in the past few years so I can't speak to the whole menu..

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    37
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasty Tasting Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Wanted a nice relaxing night out & the atmosphere here was perfect. Comfy chairs on the patio, warm atmosphere, and best of all tasty food. For $35 each we had their Tasting Meal. Appetizer of ravioli & shrimp was excellent as well as their peanut butter crunch dessert. But our entrees were exquisite. Beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. I had Robs Hunter Chicken, my husband had the Peppercorn steak. My chicken seemed abnormally large but I would complain about the watery sauce on the bottom of the plate. The marinade was great but too thin to taste much of.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cactus club has gotten better. Very good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had not been to Cactus club for a year or so. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the service. This was a great restaurant, even for the little kids. Something for all picky eaters (grandma included) and food quality really good. We were impressed. Nice atmosphere for everything from a quiet family meal to a party of friends. Nice fireplace, pleasant staff. We will be back soon.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food, though a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Good menu selection. Everyone liked their meal. Beer was ok (had the ugly). Service was ok. Atmosphere doesnt mirror the quality or price if food. Feels like a Milestones.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Kool Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The food is great. Back ribs, Salmon, Salads. The hostesses are super friendly and quick serving. Atmosphere is amazing for fine dining with coleagues, friends or family.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
West Vancouver, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Club Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.