We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After the renovation???” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10688 No. 6 Road | at Steveston Highway, Richmond, British Columbia V6W 1E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“After the renovation???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

They are adding about forty rooms and changing the ground floor architecture. Most staff continue to be as professional as ever, and the cleaning staff better than most. Still the only act around, and another guest fears that the hotel will lose its attentiveness after the renovation. I'm predicting they won't.

Room Tip: Request a fourth floor room, far from the renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhieriverport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear LuviPortland,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your visit to Vancouver area and we certainly appreciate welcoming you back to our hotel. We are in the process of beautifying our hotel to serve our valued guests such as yourself better and while we are adding more rooms for guests to have more options we are upgrading our already new lobby and changing carpets in our hallways. We are most appreciative for your understanding during this short period and absolutely agree with you that our front desk staff and housekeeping staff along with other team members are doing a stellar job to make sure our guests are comfortable around this beautification project.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit and once again thank you for staying with us.

With my warmest regards,
Ken Kantman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    181
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
194
136
34
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We normally stay in slightly higher end hotels, but were put out of our home for a few chilly November days due to a power outage and needed to find somewhere close at the last minute - the Riverport HIE fit the bill. Front desk staff were excellent, rooms were new, clean and well laid out. When we arrived late and exhausted and wound up next to a room with some "parenting challenged" people with kids screaming at the tops of their lungs (at 10:30pm), the front desk staff moved us to another, much quieter room in less than five minutes. Best of the "Express" type hotels I have stayed at in recent memory. If I had to search for a complaint it would be that the wi-fi was a bit slow. Otherwise good bang for the buck. It is right next to Richmond 6 (a multi-sheet ice rink), so I would expect some weekends that it could be full to the gills with hockey teams there for tournaments - so keep that in mind.

Room Tip: I believe they are adding on to this hotel (Nov 2013) If you are sleeping in, you may want to ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We used this hotel as a stopover between flights. They offered an excellent deal pricewise, and had a free airport shuttle. That's why we chose it. They excelled on all fronts. The first time through, we had to leave at 3:00 a.m. to catch a flight. They offered us a to-go bagged breakfast, consisting of a muffin, apple and juice. The second time, we were able to partake of their delicious free breakfast. The coffee is excellent, the pancake machine was appreciated, and the variety of hot and cold foods was great.

The first trip through we arrived early enough for supper. We were within walking distance of a Subway, a Stanley's in the arena, and an Old Spaghetti Factory, which is where we chose to go.

We used their free airport shuttle four times, twice in each direction. Each time they were prompt, courteous, and personable. We didn't use the pool or hot tub, so I can't really comment on that. The front desk staff was excellent, and greeted us warmly each time. They do have excellent staff there.

Our beds were comfortable, the rooms were a good size, and they had a very large bathroom. Both times we were in rooms with two double beds, which each had four pillows. They have free wifi, a table and chairs in each room, bath amenities, and did I mention the great staff?

I don't foresee that I will be flying out of Vancouver any time soon, but if you are, I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhieriverport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Princess_Lu,

What a wonderful feeling we get when we know that our guests are 100% satisfied and that we were able to provide you with home away from home experience. In the end of the day, people make the difference on how a hotel stay is experienced and we are very proud to have provided you with our friendly, professional service. We will be sharing your feedback with all of our team members so that they can partake in this satisfaction.

All of us thank you for choosing us during your visit in Vancouver area and for sharing your feedback with fellow travelers. We await your return with open arms!

Warmest Regards,
Kanat Ken Kantman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in the Riverport entertainment centre of Richmond is typical of the hotels of this type found throughout Western Canada's cities and larger towns. This hotel is four storeys high, has sufficient surface parking, a pool/hot tub, and a complementary continental breakfast. The Riverport area of Richmond is in the south east part of the city, on the Steveston Highway just east of Highway 99 which comes up from Seattle. Although easy to access, it is kind of remote to businesses and attractions in Richmond and Vancouver: having use of a car is almost essential (although a city bus does stop in the area). An attached four-storey addition is being constructed behind the hotel.

Registration was smooth. The front desk staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. My wife and I were assigned a fourth-floor room which had two double beds. Although okay, we really felt a king would be more appropriate for our needs, and, when we requested one, we were given one on the same floor the next day without any hassle. The only drawback to our new room was that there was no bathtub, just a large shower. Not a major deal. The room was comfortable, modern, clean, and quiet. Maid service was excellent.

The continental breakfast was, as in most Holiday Inn Expresses, very good. Several entrees of hot food (potatoes, scrambled eggs, sausage/bacon) were available, as well as pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, juices, and coffee. A self-serve pancake-maker was a unique feature, producing freshly-cooked pancakes at the push of a button. The staff in the breakfast area were quick to refill any food trays that ran low. Seating was comfortable, and overflow space was provided in an adjacent board room. Should one wish to eat lunch or dinner nearby, there is a very good pub as well as an Old Spaghetti Factory restaurant in the Riverport complex (which also includes a large multi-plex cinema with an Imax screen, kids' fun centre, bowling, pools, and hockey arenas.)

The fairly large and very clean swimming pool and hot tub were in a large main floor room with large windows on three sides and access to an outdoor patio with several lounges and a barbecue. (Sadly for us, it rained almost continually the three days we were there.) A workout room is also adjacent to the pool.

I would certainly recommend this hotel, and would not hesitate to choose it in the future. (There is another Holiday Inn Express in Richmond, older but closer to the airport and on a busy thoroughfare, which has somewhat higher rates than this hotel.)

Room Tip: Parking lot and arena view to the east, large parking lot and distant river to the south, or street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

What can I say? These people are professionals and handled all our needs, challenges, problems and the like with courtesy and ease.

The staff is beyond accommodating the rooms are crystal clean and I wouldn't consider ANY other hotel to stay at for the tournament next year.

FIRST CLASS!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhieriverport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Terry P,

What a wonderful feeling to know that we made you and your team's stay home away from home! All of us here are very happy that your stay with us was very comfortable, and you enjoyed our friendly service, our hotel. Being next to the Ice Rink is definitely very convenient for the teams and parents.

A very big thank you from all of us Terry P and we are looking forward to welcoming you back with open arms!!!

Warmest Regards,
Ken Kantman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legal, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The rooms were average but clean. The location worked for us and having the theatre and the Spaghetti Factory in walking distance was nice. As we had booked the room for us to be able to do some conferences, we had to be up early both mornings and we needed to have breakfast both times a 1/2 hour earlier than it was available. And to cap to off the hotel changes its breakfast time on weekends compared to weekdays. So we got up on Saturday before our flight to have breakfast at 6:30 only to find out it was now at 7 am. Frustrating considering we had asked the front desk what time breakfast was.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhieriverport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear JeannieSmallTown,

We thank you for choosing us during your visit to the area. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us however disappointed that you were not able to enjoy our breakfast and we apologize for that. Our breakfast times for weekdays start at 6:30am and on weekends it starts at 7:00am. For any early breakfast requests we do have breakfast to go options and I will address it with our team to make sure that this information is pass along to our valued guests as we would like our guests to leave the hotel well rested and well fed.

I do hope that you will allow us to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

With my best regards,
Kanat Ken Kantman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed a few nights here while visiting family. This hotel offers a good night sleep with comfy beds and nice breakfast included. It is away from the craziness of traffic but close enough to shopping and eating areas of the suburbs. It is located right beside a four pad arena so on weekends there are alot of hockey players taking up rooms. The pool and hot tub were empty both times that I swam. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport

Address: 10688 No. 6 Road | at Steveston Highway, Richmond, British Columbia V6W 1E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Riverport | Richmond! Only the best for you, our hotel offers a complimentary on-demand 24/hour airport shuttle (call for pick-up), free parking, a complimentary Express Start Hot Buffet Breakfast, free high-speed wireless and wired internet as well as complimentary local calls. Relax after a hard days work or go for a leisure swim in the pool. Dip in the hot tub or simply fit in a last minute workout in our fitness centre. Planning a meeting? Look no further. The property offers spacious and technology-friendly meeting rooms equipped for any size group. Our staff are warm, attentive, and ready to help your event run flawlessly. Our Executive Boardroom is perfect for small groups of up to 14 people while our Banquet Hall seats up to 90. You'll love our location as we are conveniently located near several local attractions and business centres as well as to Vancouver and (YVR) Vancouver International Airport. Travellers enjoy staying at our hotel as they experience everything the Richmond and Vancouver area has to offer. Perfect for families or Business Travel in Metro Vancouver, we are just steps from the Richmond Ice Center, Watermania, and the Riverport Sports & Entertainment Complex. Numerous restaurants including two fabulous pubs and 19 movie theatres as well as, bowling are within walking distance. Nature lovers can tour the Vancouver Aquarium or explore the many parks in the area. Historic Steveston in Richmond and Gastown in Downtown Vancouver, just minutes from our Richmond hotel, offer visitors a glimpse into the past. Here for business? You'll appreciate our proximity to Ironwood Business Park, Crestwood Corporate Center, Annacis Island, Tilbury Business Area and Richmond General Hospital. Designed with you in mind, our rooms come complete with a fridge, microwave and coffee/tea station. Looking for a little extra room? Then you'll absolutely love our suites. Specialty rooms and Executive Suites to suit your needs - full kitchen; one and two bedroom suites (fully equipped apartment style), in-room Spa Suites, Junior Suites for the Executives, Kitchen Studio Kings, three fully ADA Accessible rooms and Standard King or Two Bedroom Queens rooms are also available. Stay connected with high-speed internet access and be efficient by using our media hubs allowing you to connect to the TV wirelessly via an HDMI plug-in or bluetooth (only available in our Executive Suites). Something for everyone - looking forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Riverport
Holiday Inn Express Riverport
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.