We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So what if it's not *in* Vancouver.. you get WAY more bang for your buck here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10688 No. 6 Road | at Steveston Highway, Richmond, British Columbia V6W 1E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So what if it's not *in* Vancouver.. you get WAY more bang for your buck here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I really like this Holiday Inn Express (and I've stayed at lots of 'em).

Yes, this location is a suburb of Vancouver (you will need to drive 20 mins to get downtown) but we were driving in and wanted to find a safe location with free parking, an indoor pool and a good deal. This fit the bill, and then some. All the hotels we priced downtown were at least 30% more expensive, had far less amenities, no/paid parking and were in questionable neighborhoods. I think to stay downtown, you have to be willing to shell out the big bucks to stay in a nicer hotel -- or give up a lot of amenities.

Anyhow--

Upon check in I was pleasantly surprised to find out they had upgraded us into a king suite for free (since I'm a rewards club member, I guess). This greatly elevated the value for the moderate price paid. This room was MASSIVE and the ceiling was insanely high and gorgeous. It was way nicer than any other member of this chain I've ever stayed in. The king size bed was very nice, there were two huge flat-screen tv's, a very nice bathroom (with a large shower and good water pressure - hurrah!), a living room with a pull-out sofa and all decor/fixtures were very updated. This location was only built a couple years ago, so that probably helps.

I was also pretty happy with the indoor pool and spa. Both were open til 11pm, kept warm and there was a changing area and towels right off the entrance. This gets big points from me.

The complimentary breakfast was the best of any hotel I've stayed at recently. It's actual food you'd want to eat at home, and the menu changes daily. Their robotic pancake making machine was especially crowd-pleasing.

To top it all off, the service was excellent and went above and beyond what was expected. All staff members were very kind and accommodating, the housekeeping did an excellent job every day and we were quite happy with our stay.

Room Tip: If you are in their rewards club, be sure to flash your card - you may get a free upgrade upon check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Catering and Group Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello Melissa,

Thank you for your amazing review on our property and for being a Priority Club rewards member. We truly have a great team at our hotel that takes great pride in taking care of our guests and the hotel. It is reviews like this that show them that they are really appreciated for their work hard. We have shared your comments with the staff at our monthly staff appreciation lunch and there were smiles and cheers across the room.

We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy a lot of the amenities we offer at the hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

Have a great day.

Best regards,

Navi Dhillon
Catering and Group Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    181
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
194
136
34
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is, by far, one of the best Holiday Inn properties I've stayed at. The location is easy to find, there is plenty of parking available, and a number of attractions and restaurants close by. I prefer this location over downtown Richmond. As others have said, the service is very friendly. The rooms are very clean and new, the breakfast area is clean and stocked, albeit a bit cramped. The only negative about the property is that it can be very popular and the lobby gets very crowded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If we travel out from Vancouver Airport, this will always be the hotel we stay at. It is alittle ways from the airport but it worked out amazing. Close to the tunnel so relax and let them doing the driving. Our car was parked there for the week we were away for free. It was also right beside a theatre, pub, arena. Great food. Great employees.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Catering and Group Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello Linda,

It is really great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you were able to take advantage of the amenities around our hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time and writing a review on our property.

We look forward to your return visit.

Have a great day.

Navi Dhillon
Catering and Group Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Friendly polite staff from the room clean lady to the front staff to the maintenance guy to Daisy in the breakfast buffet super genuine smiles and all seem happy to assist in any way made us fell at home and welcome. the rooms are great a bit stuffy at first we opened the window beds are really comfy pool and hot tub and exercise great water in pool could be a little warmer you get used to it had two great swims tv and even view was good we in room coffee was horrible bathrooms was great and movie theater across the way was fantastic. all in all we did not want to leave thanks Holiday Inn for a great mini vacation. Special thanks to Daisy and crew in the Breakfast lounge We had the best breakfast we have ever had in any hotel THANK YOU coffee is wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room I did and was rewarded with a quiet room. Also watch were you park downtown Ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for a month as we just relocated from USA in May 2012. We called the hotel shuttle once we reached YVR airport around 1 am and the driver came quick and was very friendly. We booked a studio suite that has kitchen and stove, the room has good size and clean. All staff were nice and friendly. The breakfast was always fresh and good.The location is nice, not too far from town and it's quiet in the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Catering and Group Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Chayanin,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on our property and for thinking of us one year after your stay. We are very happy to hear that you continuously had great service and enjoyed your studio kitchen room throughout your one-month stay.

Thank you once again; we appreciate all your comments.

Navi Dhillon
Catering and Group Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for one night before an early flight. Rooms were very clean and spacious, staff was friendly, and shuttle service was great. As other reviewers have noted, they even packed breakfast to go for us as we were leaving early in the morning! Will stay here again next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Catering and Group Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback. We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complementary bagged breakfast-to-go during your stay. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our shuttle services and our hotel.

We look forward to your return visit.

Have a great day.

Navi Dhillon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel caters to the tournament crowd with ice rinks and a swimming pool next door.
The hotel is overpriced because of the high demand for the area. Rooms were standard and clean. There was a noticeable lack of public spaces in the hotel so if you want to get together with other people from your team/group there isn't anywhere except the lobby or your room. The pool area is small with no tables. On this particular visit the fire alarm went off at 5 am due to a malfunction, while I understand somethings are beyond their control I would have expected some type of coupon or voucher for a future visit instead I got a too bad so sad line. We paid $130/night and with taxes and fees came to $300 for 2 nights. For what its worth I wouldn't stay again for more than $90-$99/night. Oh and we never got our room cleaned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Catering and Group Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello Matt,

Thank you for your feedback. We continuously are looking for ways to improve and to grow as a team and a company and we hope to be your #1 choice hotel when visiting Richmond for leisure, corporate or during sports tournaments.

Rate changes occur daily on all HIE property’s across our system. Rates are driven relating always to market demand. Although rates are increased during high demand/peak season, we offer extra perks to our teams to enjoy special conditions that are available such as; complimentary team storage, hospitality room for team gatherings (including coffee/tea available 24 hours a day), complementary late check, breakfast-to-go for early morning games, early check-ins if available and we work very hard to have all the teams’ rooms close together on the same floor. Our Great Room and Steveston A was open for all the teams to enjoy during this weekend. I am very sorry to hear that your team did not have a chance to enjoy any of our public areas.

We also sincerely apologize for the inconvenience due to our fire alarm. We truly appreciate your understanding that it was beyond our control and we hope your team had a chance to enjoy the pizza party we threw a token of our appreciation to all the guests and teams.

Our housekeeping department was working very hard to ensure all the rooms were being cleaned thoroughly throughout our hotel. We noted many rooms had do-not-disturb signs on the doors, and our housekeepers stayed late to ensure any rooms that contacted the front desk were being cleaned. Please email me at sales@hierichmond.com and I would happily take a look into this further for you.

As you have experienced firsthand, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Riverport/Richmond is perfect to accommodate Sports Teams and we would be very honored to serve you and your team once more.
Please advise me if there is anything else I can assist you with.

Best regards,

Navi Dhillon
Catering and Group Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport

Address: 10688 No. 6 Road | at Steveston Highway, Richmond, British Columbia V6W 1E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond
#2 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Riverport | Richmond! Only the best for you, our hotel offers a complimentary on-demand 24/hour airport shuttle (call for pick-up), free parking, a complimentary Express Start Hot Buffet Breakfast, free high-speed wireless and wired internet as well as complimentary local calls. Relax after a hard days work or go for a leisure swim in the pool. Dip in the hot tub or simply fit in a last minute workout in our fitness centre. Planning a meeting? Look no further. The property offers spacious and technology-friendly meeting rooms equipped for any size group. Our staff are warm, attentive, and ready to help your event run flawlessly. Our Executive Boardroom is perfect for small groups of up to 14 people while our Banquet Hall seats up to 90. You'll love our location as we are conveniently located near several local attractions and business centres as well as to Vancouver and (YVR) Vancouver International Airport. Travellers enjoy staying at our hotel as they experience everything the Richmond and Vancouver area has to offer. Perfect for families or Business Travel in Metro Vancouver, we are just steps from the Richmond Ice Center, Watermania, and the Riverport Sports & Entertainment Complex. Numerous restaurants including two fabulous pubs and 19 movie theatres as well as, bowling are within walking distance. Nature lovers can tour the Vancouver Aquarium or explore the many parks in the area. Historic Steveston in Richmond and Gastown in Downtown Vancouver, just minutes from our Richmond hotel, offer visitors a glimpse into the past. Here for business? You'll appreciate our proximity to Ironwood Business Park, Crestwood Corporate Center, Annacis Island, Tilbury Business Area and Richmond General Hospital. Designed with you in mind, our rooms come complete with a fridge, microwave and coffee/tea station. Looking for a little extra room? Then you'll absolutely love our suites. Specialty rooms and Executive Suites to suit your needs - full kitchen; one and two bedroom suites (fully equipped apartment style), in-room Spa Suites, Junior Suites for the Executives, Kitchen Studio Kings, three fully ADA Accessible rooms and Standard King or Two Bedroom Queens rooms are also available. Stay connected with high-speed internet access and be efficient by using our media hubs allowing you to connect to the TV wirelessly via an HDMI plug-in or bluetooth (only available in our Executive Suites). Something for everyone - looking forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Riverport
Holiday Inn Express Riverport
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.