We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stone Hedge Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Stone Hedge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Stone Hedge Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5511 Cathay Road, Richmond, British Columbia V7C 3C9 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Richmond B&B and Inns
Reston, Virginia
1 review
“Outstanding Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We're experienced travelers and have been to many bed and breakfasts throughout North America. The accommodations were comfortable and our hosts, Brian and Linda, could not have been more accommodating and extremely helpful. The breakfasts were outstanding, homemade, delicious delicacies throughout. We also loved Stone Hedge's Richmond location, because we are into all things Asian, and Richmond (not necessarily Vancouver) is the place to get this kind of exposure. There were four of us, two couples, and the suite was ideal. As our friends, well traveled visitors from Thailand put it, the Stone Hedge is one of the hundred things to experience during ones lifetime. We concur.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
12
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Nelson, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a great find! I don't usually stay at B&B's but I arrived in Vancouver to find that there were no hotel/motel vacancies that were under $400. This B & B is in the list of accommodations publication by Tourism BC.
I was very fortunate that a room came available as a result of a last-minute cancellation. I was so pleasantly surprised from the curbside pick-up at the airport to the quality of the accommodations. I stayed in the Safari Room. The high quality bedding and linen and furnishings rival any 4-or 5- star hotels that I've stayed in. The B&B was nice and quiet and private. Very enjoyable. The hosts (Brian and Linda) have put a great thought into providing anything that their guests may require (drinks, chocolates, etc.). I use that word "guest" rather than "client or customer" because I felt like a guest that was warmly welcomed.

Room Tip: Safari room was wonderful and has authentic memorabilia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Brian and Linda were very friendly and the Safari House was wonderful. We really enjoyed the pool as well. Breakfasts were very tasty and it was a treat to get a variety of homemade jams at the end of our trip! We also loved the breakfast area and talking with the other guests. Brian served us with great enthusiasm and a lot of tips about the area. We loved our first experience and will definitely B&B again if we get the chance!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is by far the best B&B. It's in a quiet Richmond neighborhood. For my husband, myself and my mother-in-law, we were given the lovely Family Suite which included 2 bedrooms (1 queen, 2 twins), 2 bathrooms (1 with a shower and 1 with a jacuzzi bath) and a sitting room with a dining table. We opened our French doors to a wonderful pool and garden area, shaded by the tall hedges that border the yard.

And our hosts the Coopers were just so warm and gracious. Linda cooked up 3 wonderful breakfasts each with fresh fruit, egg entrees, coffee, juice and warm muffins. And Brian was so helpful whether it was planning our day's itinerary or providing binoculars. We have never felt so happy and welcome. Thank you Linda and Brian!

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms with 2 separate bathrooms in one building with separate keys to each bedroom and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is the best kept secret in Richmond B.C. We wanted to get away for a night so we drove from Skagit County across the border. We didnt care where we stayed we just wanted to go away. We drove to Richmond and headed to the water. We passed many hotels and figured we would backtrack after dinner. We looked for someplace to eat and ended up at the Buck & Ear, We had a great meal and a great waitress. We asked if she knew of anything nearby where we could stay? And she told us about this little gem of a place. Tucked in the middle of this city is a little slice of heaven. Quiet, peaceful, clean, and that little taste of thinking you might be at home. Our hosts went above and beyond to answer any questions, offer directions and suggestions. The breakfasts where original and delicious. Our experience was so good we extended our stay for another night. All I hope is that when we go to run away again they aren't so booked we cant get in. By the way the waitress that served us happened to be their daughter.
Thanks to all 3 of you for the hospitality and the memories!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This B&B has customer service at a premium. If you have one of Linda's breakfasts, lunch is not required. Brian, served these delicious meals every morning accompanied by historical facts about the area. He has a wealth of knowledge regarding the local attractions and best values. The Safari House is aptly named and well recommended. It is well stocked with snacks and drinks, including the odd glass of brandy! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is one of the reasons why you want to stay in a bed and breakfast (instead of a hotel). The owner really cares about your needs and experience. Yes, a very cozy place and good value too. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stone Hedge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Hedge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5511 Cathay Road, Richmond, British Columbia V7C 3C9 , Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stone Hedge Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Stone Hedge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stone Hedge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.