We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great home base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Rock Casino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added River Rock Casino Resort to your Saves list
River Rock Casino Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8811 River Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3P8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great home base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

although I was attending a conference in downtown Vancouver, the quality of this facility and its location between the airport and downtown and having the LRT stop right at the hotel made everything uber convenient.
I got a great last minute rate and had a great sleep.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Fivefootfifteen,

We are so happy that you found our hotel location so convenient to downtown vancouver and were able to utilize the Canada Line. I hope you can come and stay with us again soon.

Kindly,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    244
    81
    34
    25
See reviews for
147
272
31
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scottie
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First, handy for the skytrain to airport and Vancouver centre plus large bedroom with the usual trimmings (incl. comfortable mattresses which you can purchase!) good and friendly service. However, if you're not a gambling junkie, the slots require more understanding than in days of yore.Despite a 5 min! lesson, we didn't part with our $.I guess that if you have (at the weekend) more punters than you can shake a stick at, the management can't be too worried about entertaining the fun players. With regard to eating, we queued to get a table reservation for the Buffet (breakfast also served here) The fact of queueing lulled us into a false sense of security regarding the Steak and Seafood offering.Think quantity rather than quality, institutional rather than original, you get the idea that the Buffet is designed to fill indiscriminate gamblers up,to spend more money in the Casino. Some manager needs to visit Vegas, less is more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear greenscottie,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your stay with us. Although it is wonderful you enjoyed your rooms and the amenities provided, I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy our weekend buffet offerings. I will pass your feedback onto our chef as feedback like this helps us become a better property. Thank you again and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Kindly,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is modern, clean and the staff makes you feel welcome. Noone nudges you to use their bellhops or valets. It is right on the skytrain to the airport and downtown. Has one of the best casinos and poker rooms in Canada. Seucre/free parking is a major bonus for those who have to get downtown. No parking hassles to get to your meetings.. just hop on the skytrain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Swalli1,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to leave your experience online. Valuable feedback like yours enables us to further improve our service levels and the variety of products we offer. Honest commentary from the Guests' perspective is our greatest tool in our pursuit of service excellence. As this is our greatest tool, it also allows potential guests to get a better grasp of our amenities through this feedback. Thank you for your patronage, and we do hope to see you again.

Kindly,

Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is my second time attending conference and staying at the hotel. River Rock hotel has ample free and secured parking. My room has a king size bed and it is very comfortable. I had no problem sleeping each time. It has free wifi. The Theatre has hi-tech facilities. Their service staff and housekeeping provided excellent service.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear FY,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete this review. Valuable feedback like yours enables us to further improve our service levels and the variety of products we offer. Honest commentary from the Guests' perspective is our greatest tool in our pursuit of service excellence.

Thank you,

Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Beautiful facility with casino attached attracted us to it. Very secure free parking was a big bonus. Right in path of airport so many planes overhead but that didn't bother us (and got some great photos out the window!) Sorry we spent only one night (and didn't have a chance to try the 24-hour room service.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear 2013Rhonda,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The River Rock Casino Resort & we hope to have you come back and stay with us again. Our commitment is to provide superior products and services that set us apart from our competitors and we appreciate all the feedback you have provided.

Thank you
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have stayed at this property several times since my original review, the last time was for two days last week.
We have experienced rooms both in the Hotel and the Resort complex and they have all been maintained to a high standard and were very comfortable.
Staff encountered throughout were friendly, helpful and accomodating.
We have eaten in the Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and found the food to be adequate but nothing really special although they do have theme nights which we have not attended. We found breakfast to be the best value.
The proximity of the Canada Line makes it a perfect place to quickly and cheaply travel throughout Vancouver.
Free in the room wireless throughout is a nice touch.
I would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: In the Hotel building (not the Resort building) we prefer rooms on the north side and preferably a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Moosi_11,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at the River Rock. We are so happy that you are a return guest and enjoy your stays with us so much. Feedback like this is invaluable to our business and we sincerely appreciate it. Thank you again and we hope to have you stay with us soon.

Kindly,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast B.c.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went to see Mavis Staples and the Robert Cray Band.
We have to stay overnight from being out of town.
One bedroom was very clean and nice view of marina but living area seemed quite cramped.
Would take a single room with K size bed next time.
Hotel is great for casino and entertainment.
Had room service and hubby had the best bacon cheeseburger he ever had.
I had the caesar salad and the best wonton soup I ever had.
Chicken and shrimp wontons are made on premise and are fabulous.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: One bedroom is small. Marina view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Frannywestcoast,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay while coming to see Mavis Staples & te Robert Vray band. Thank you for your feedback, we truely appreciate you taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed the food and service! We hope you can come and stay with us again.

Kindly,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Rock Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Casino Resort

Address: 8811 River Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#3 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Rock Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Rock Casino Resort is a sophisticated and relaxing urban oasis; conveniently located in the heart of Richmond. With the addition of the new Canada Line, the Bridgeport Station rapid transit stop makes River Rock a quick 7 minutes from the airport, and 18 minutes from the downtown waterfront. If arriving by car, we’re a mere 10 minutes from Vancouver International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Vancouver or the US border. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort features a distinctly west coast style, coupled with stunning architecture, to create a vibrant yet tranquil atmosphere. River Rock’s four story lobby featuring ponds, cascading waterfalls and a variety of natural elements, transports you miles from anywhere. But rest assured you are right in the middle of the action with River Rock's dazzling casino, featuring close to 1,000 slot machines, and all your favourite table games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River Rock Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Richmond
River Rock Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Rock Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.