We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Modern Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seabreeze Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seabreeze Guest House
Save
You added The Seabreeze Guest House to your Saves list
3111 Springside Place, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada (Steveston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Richmond B&B and Inns
St. Albert, Alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Modern Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Seabreeze Guest House is deservedly ranked the Number One Bed and Breakfast in Richmond by TripAdvisor reviewers. Richmond, British Columbia is a clean and modern city of 200 000, located just south of Vancouver. The Seabreeze is just north of Steveston, an historic fishing village now part of the city. (Steveston doubles as "Storybrook" for exterior shots of the hit TV series Once Upon a Time.) The Seabreeze is on a quiet cul-de-sac, backing on to the dike by the Georgia Strait. The bed and breakfast portion of the residence was built specifically for this purpose about seven years ago; it has a private entrance and is totally separate from the owner's living quarters.

There are three suites: we spent one night in the Ocean View and the other in the Ocean View Deluxe. These two suites are side-by-side upstairs, share a large deck, and are very similar except for the Deluxe is slightly larger and has a two-person Jacuzzi. Both rooms are very comfortable, but not as sound-proof as one might want (my wife thought my snoring was in harmony with the gentleman's next door!). The third suite is the Garden Room: it is downstairs at ground level. Access to the walking-biking path on the dike is via a priviate bridge over a canal that separates the property from the public space. As it was somewhat rainy during our time there, we just admired the view, and preferred to spend time by the cozy fireplace in the living room.

Guests are provided with a continental-type breakfast, available in the large living-dining room from eight to ten a.m. Muffins and croissants were fresh-baked on the two mornings we were there; the rest of the food included yogurt, fresh fruit, cheeses, toast, dry cereals, juice, tea, coffee, etc. The kitchen can be accessed by guests as they wish for drinks and snacks. There is also a media (TV) room on the main floor.

The manager and housekeeper are both very friendly, and make their guests feel welcome and accomodated. Both my wife and I would recommend this bed and breakfast, and plan to return the next time we are in Richmond.

Room Tip: Guests' entrance is on the right side of the building, up a short stairway. The two ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a B&B which is a lovely home on the waterfront (with a grass field between) & nice views. My room had a balcony & a good size bedroom. Everyone was very nice and it was like going to visit friends in their home. There was only one family & myself staying there. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose the Seabreeze because it is so close to Steveston and because it over looks the dyke and the ocean. Not only was our room comfortable, clean and well appointed, but we also had access to a kitchen, livingroom, TV room, and large deck. We enjoyed the quietness of the area and the view of the dyke and ocean. We enjoyed a relaxing continental breakfast and were pleased to have some fresh fruit and even a bottle of juice.
Our one concern when we arrived was that the room had no other window except for the french doors which open onto a small deck which we shared with the adjoining room. This felt awkward and might be a problem in hot weather. On the other hand, the adjoining deck could be an advantage for four people travelling together.
We enjoyed the Seabreeze and plan to return on our next trip to Steveston.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This B&B is a wonderful place to stay if you are visiting the Vancouver area - walk the dyke path or drive to Steveston for the best halibut and chips ever. Richmond has a direct transit link into Vancouver. The Seabreeze is a comfortable, clean place to stay. We were in the Garden Room which had direct access to both the gardens and the dyke path. The room was well decorated with a very comfortable double bed; wall mounted TV and a jacuzzi bath. John (the owner) was very hospitable and there was 24 hour access to tea, coffee, juice, yoghurts etc. The continental breakfast was fantastic - cereals; yoghurts; fresh fruit; crossiants; warm muffins etc. ayYou will not find a nicer place to stay and it is fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We were looking for a final night of luxury to end our fly drive holiday of West Canada. This Guest House was total perfection. Warm, cosy, nicely decorated bedroom with a comfy bed, beautiful view and a 2 person jacuzzi bath to top it off. Made for a memorable final night followed by a continental breakfast (the freshly baked muffin being the highlight) and a morning walk along the dyke. We include photo's but can honestly say you can't get much better than this guest house. John the owner is friendly and happy to advise on nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This B&B is a lovely home right along the path for the dyke so wonderful if you like to walk. I enjoyed breakfast which was a well appointed continental (fresh fruit, fresh muffins, etc). This is a walk to the restaurants and shopping in Steveston so is easiest to access with a car. If staying in Richmond, I would return here instead of the local hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Seabreeze Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seabreeze Guest House

Address: 3111 Springside Place, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Steveston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seabreeze Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.