We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Gateway Hotel at Vancouver Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Gateway Hotel at Vancouver Airport to your Saves list
Pacific Gateway Hotel at Vancouver Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Cessna Drive, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 1C7, Canada (Formerly Delta Vancouver Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great one night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The beds were so soft and very comfortable, I felt like I was in my own bed at home! The room was very clean too!! We will definitely stay there again! We travel to Whistler a few times a year from Chicago, Illinois and depending if we have a late flight into Vancouver, it's very convenient for a good night sleep instead of trying to do the drive late at night. And the same goes for if we have an early flight, we can take our time leaving Whistler to Vancouver the night before and get a decent nights sleep and it also breaks up the trip especially if you have kids like we do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    302
    98
    26
    15
See reviews for
106
245
75
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Chose this property due to an early early morning flight - the previous comments regarding the shuttle are correct and that was what made this Delta our hotel for one night. Rooms and main lobby have been renovated but are just above average in decor. But again, for an in and out property this met our needs. Needed to drive in to Richmond to eat - as mentioned in previous review, Pier 73 attached, was the closest. Could hear planes taking off / landing in middle of the night,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Closest hotel to the airport, with excellent shuttle service that was prompt, reliable, good frequency. Property was standard Delta: high quality bed and furnishings; everything worked; ask for something extra (decaff. coffee) and get more than you need; pool area was clean and well maintained and the water warm. Room was quiet, soundproof, comfortable; we toured the neighbourhood and didn't have time to turn on the TV; had a window that actually opened. Bathroom large, clean, fully equipped. This was a 2-night Priceline booking for two adults; front desk offered to sell upgrades to a better room and to an expensive breakfast. Helpful concierge in lobby recommended some restaurants in Richmond Chinatown, and the courtesy van took us there, with optional pick-up. Pier 73 is a classy restaurant, and even provided real cream at night for in-room coffee, which was much appreciated since I react to that powdered stuff. Quirky elevators at night; poor signage for your room key to be required to get to your floor, and sometimes even that didn't work e.g. multiple tries; trip to floor and back to lobby with the door not opening. Well kept property on the river made for inviting walk; quite handy to Richmond and Skytrain; 20 minute walk is more realistic. Helpful advice from front desk about buying Skytrain tickets; shuttle picked us up several times at YVR. This was a quality hotel at a great price -I would have still been happy at higher rates.

Room Tip: Although there is the possibility of upgrading your room, we found the basic Delta quality absolutel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place is great for flights into/out of YVR. The free shuttle service every 20 mins really helps, and while there isn't much nearby, Pier 73 (its restaurant) has a decent selection of food and drinks. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Canada Line, which takes you to downtown Vancouver in about 30 mins.

Would definitely stay there again if I was flying to YVR.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Close to the Airport with an excellent shuttle service, Delta was a convenient, comfortable, quiet and good value hotel to stay. Good facilities and friendly staff. 10 minutes walk to the train to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a few times now for a weekend trip to Richmond/Vancouver. We both like to drive up to Richmond from Seattle for a weekend to enjoy all the authentic Chinese food. So my requirement is reasonable price, comfortable stay and not too bad location. This hotel's location is definitely NOT in walking distance to all the restaurants in Richmond downtown, but also not too far, probably less than 10 minutes driving. The good thing about this location is that it is more quiet than those ones right in the downtown. Price is relatively reasonable as well, because I often find it's on the Express Deals on priceline.com (Yes, I've figured it out how to recognize it's this hotel, there are not that many same star level hotels in Richmond anyway).

The only two cons I can think of for this hotel is that parking is like $14 every day and no free wireless in the room (only in the lobby). Overall, it meets our requirements and purpose, will stay in the future for sure.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the water. If you picked the second floor, you can still see nothing on the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, Manager at Pacific Gateway Hotel at Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear AdrianneLL

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel as our unique location on the Fraser River is a feature that is a nice surprise to many guests. Also please accept my apologies for no WIFI as it seems that we may not ahve communicate at check in that we offer complimentary wired and a Wi-Fi internet access in every guest room as of earlier this year.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you wish to discuss your stay in greater detail and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Barry Johnson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night after a week in Tofino before heading home to PHL. On arrival at the South Terminal, we called the hotel for shuttle pick up and it arrived very shortly thereafter. We returned to the main terminal at 4am (first shuttle time)i the following morning, and the shuttle was right on time. Check in was a breeze, and we were upgraded to a water view room. The Pier 73 restaurant on the waterfront was marvelous. Food was good, waitress superb, and we sat there for a few hours in all - with no one rushing us to move on. The room was spotless as was the modern bathroom. We had a great time chatting with the morning concierge. He was very chipper which is amazing considering the time of our flight. We will definitely utilize this hotel again should our travels take us back to Vancouver. You can't go wrong with this hotel - simply amazing and not your "cookie cutter" airport hotel.

Room Tip: Waterfront was an added plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin M, Front Office Manager at Pacific Gateway Hotel at Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear RosieSPennsylvania,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We love hearing that our guests got the full 360 degree experience with us.

We hope you will come back for a visit very soon. If there is anything I can do to make your next stay more comfortable please feel free to connect with me directly.

Thank you,

Kelvin Monteiro
kelvin.monteiro@deltahotels.com 604-303-1381
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Gateway Hotel at Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gateway Hotel at Vancouver Airport

Address: 3500 Cessna Drive, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 1C7, Canada (Formerly Delta Vancouver Airport)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#8 Business Hotel in Richmond
#10 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Gateway Hotel at Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on November 1st 2014 as the Pacific Gateway Hotel. The hotel property is now a member of Preferred Hotel Group, a global collection of more than 650 independent hotels in 85 countries. In addition to the branding change, the Pacific Gateway Hotel at Vancouver Airport will continue an extensive refurbishment program that commenced this spring. This will include a new marina with additional mooring space, upgraded utilities and accessories, fresh and enhanced landscaping, significant changes to both of the hotel's restaurants, upgrades to the existing meeting and conference spaces and a new look to the hotel lobby including an interactive lobby bar and social space. The hotel is also the closest hotel to the luxurious McArthurGlen Designer Outlet, opening in June 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Gateway Hotel at Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Vancouver Airport Richmond
Delta Richmond
Richmond Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Gateway Hotel at Vancouver Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.