We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Buddhist Society (Buddhist Temple)

International Buddhist Society (Buddhist Temple)
9160 Steveston Highway, Richmond, British Columbia V7A 1M5, Canada
604-274-2822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 48 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The International Buddhist Temple is one of the largest Buddhist temples in North America, housing the largest Buddhist statue on the continent and the largest Buddhist mural in the world.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Unique Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

wonderful place to take pictures and relax! Very unique and tranquil. Great place to bring visiting friends and family!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice temple.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013


Took the wife kids and her parents here. The missis is Chinese and she and her parents enjoyed it a lot. The kids had fun looking for turtles in the pond. Plenty of parking. We saw some kind of service which was a bonus.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Magnificent temple - largest in North America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

very quiet, peaceful and beautiful Tons of carving, gold and craftsmanship. Pictures are not allowed in the temple buildings. Several explanations of the different Buddhas, lots of items that appeared to be paying homage to the deceased.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As we were in Richmond we visited this lovely temple. The gardens and temple are very beautiful, although the smell of incense was a bit overpowering. The golden Buddha was magnificent. We didn't get to sample the food, but saw the tables laid out for the "senior" day meals. It was well worth the couple of hours we spent there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We drove passed it and had to stop. the little Japanese garden in front of the Temple looked so serene I just had to spend just a few minutes admiring it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Buddhist Society (Buddhist Temple) also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to International Buddhist Society (Buddhist Temple)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Buddhist Society (Buddhist Temple), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.