Checked into this hotel with my elderly parents at the end of February. They had a separate room and my wife and I shared another. From the moment we walked in we felt uncomfortable and even threatened. The staff at the counter were rude, unsure of procedures, took a large cash deposit from our bank card to cover "damages" and another one from my parents credit card. This created quite a scene in the lobby as the staff was very unorganized and very poorly trained and took wayyy too much money, didn't follow proper procedures and seemed to immediately decide we were problem customers. We questioned the reasoning behind the large cash holds and the credit card holds and were told that it was so that if we stole or damaged anything they could re-coup. Which made my elderly mother cry and my father had to sit down so he wouldn't get too upset.
Now we are in the accommodations business owning several properties and we know exactly how this works and why it is needed. However it wasn't the why as much as how it was done and they foulups with the amounts and double take on credit card and bank card. We decided to be vigilant with our statements, put the rude staff, embarrassing situation and trauma aside and try and have a good evening, (we did at Sammy J Peppers restaurant btw) and my parents went to sleep.
When we arrived in the room there was a very distinct smell of [-] in the room and there was a lot of dust etc around and the bed covers were disgusting. We didn't worry too much as the sheets were clean and as we had had a couple drinks we decided to wait until morning to discuss with the manager.
Upon waking we discovered much to our dismay a full rubbish can. FULL OF DIRTY BABY DIAPERS!!! Not from us obviously but from a previous guest. We also awoke with several bed bug bites.
What a terrible way to start the day to say the least. We brought the can of diapers down to the front desk and asked to speak to the manager. And if you can believe it things got worse! She totally blew us off! Unbelievable really. This woman did not even apologize, let alone even deal with the specific issues. She made sure we discussed the problem away from other guests and basically nodded her head. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, there are better choices with convenient airport shuttles and much friendlier service, cleaner rooms and of course no bed bugs and baby [-].
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May 22, 2009
In direct response to these comments, as is with most hotels we do require a reasonable cash deposit, from cash paying guests. As you may know from being in the accommodation industry, a security deposit is our only assurance against any property damage or smoking infractions that may possibly occur during ones stay.
Report response as inappropriate
We apologize if this policy created an inconvenience for you or your parents, during your stay with us.
With respect to your allegation of bed bugs, as I mentioned in our conversation, we have all our rooms checked regularly through a professional pest control company.
After speaking to you that morning, and in light of your claim, your room was thoroughly inspected. I was personally part of that room inspection & can with all honesty report the room was absolutely clean & free of bed bugs.
As far as the diapers that apparently were left in the room, our housekeeping team follows a very stringent cleaning procedure & each room is double checked by management prior to being offered to a guest.
We wish you would have brought this matter to our attention during your stay, in order for us to remedy the problem for you & investigate the matter further. At the very least had we had the opportunity to do so, we could have extended a different room to you.
Thank you for offering your comments. I would be happy to discuss this situation further at your leisure by contacting me
Christa Park - General Manager
Days Inn - Vancouver Airport
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.