We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn - Vancouver Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn - Vancouver Airport to your Saves list
Days Inn - Vancouver Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2840 Sexsmith Rd and Bridgeport Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 2H3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked the Days Inn as we were flying in from vacation late and could not get a ferry back to the mainland. We chose the Days Inn as price was reasonable and the location to the skytrain.. Got in late, easy check in, got a room on the top floor which was nice, no one above us but right across from the elevator. There was not much noise from the elevator which was good as we figured we would be woke up when people coming and going early but it was fairly quiet.

The only real negative is the $250.00 authorization they took on my credit card. We were there for less than 10 hours and the room was only $90.00 taxes included, did not think the it was necessary to take $250.00 We stayed at a more expensive hotel the night before we left on vacation and they did not take an authorization at all.

Not sure why but after reading other reviews, I sure hope they take it off soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to provide us feedback. We certainly understand your concern on pre-authorization but it is standard industry practice to make sure that apart from your room and tax charges any other incidentals like long idstance phone calls, damages if any are covered during your stay. Even if you were to fill fuel at a gas station in your car, the pump automatically authorizes a minimum of $100 on your card assuiming you will be filling up tank despite the fact that you wanted only $20 worth of fuel. Also when you eat in a restaurant, they authorize your card more than your bill total to acommodate any gratuities you might add after signing. Lot of hotels just swipe your card and do not even tell you how they are authorizing but we let customers know that upfront.

Apart from this concern we are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    378
    116
    21
    23
See reviews for
222
312
99
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I were invited to join a small group of fellow worshippers to attend a special religious ceremony in Vancouver. It was pre-arranged that the group would stay at the Days Inn at the Vancouver Airport. We called the Days Inn before we left LA to make sure that we had a quiet room with a king-size or queen-size bed. We were told it was not available at the time we called. Although Days Inn was not able to comply with our request, the hotel booked us in a room with two double beds stating that it would try to accommodate us with our initial request when we checked in. We did not object since we were part of a group.

We arrived on Saturday, September 8, 2012 and Days Inn was able to comply with our initial request, providing us a quiet room with a king-size bed. We were pleased.

After we moved into our room we went out to have dinner. We arrived back at our room around 7 pm. We were unable to open the door to our room. Both of our pre-programmed card keys did not work. I went down to the front desk and had my key re-programmed. I returned to room and the key still did not work in the door. I went back to the front desk and the young man at the front desk said he would send up his assistant to help. We waited about 15-20 minutes outside our room when a young lady arrived with general access card key. That access key did not work. She went back downstairs for another key. Somehow one of the general access card keys worked. We were finally able to enter our room at around 8 pm, but our card keys still did not work in the door. Since the keys did not work, we did not feel safe and secure in our room. The front desk attendant said that he would contact a repairman, but he was not sure if he would be able to come that evening.

While we waited for word whether or not the repairman would show up, we could not undress, take showers and go to bed. In the meantime we also noticed that the bathroom sink did not drain properly, which was unsanitary and inconvenient.

We finally got word from the front desk that a repairman was on his way. It was well after 10 pm when he arrived. Unfortunately English was his second language and it was a little difficult to communicate. He took the door lock apart, thinking that the two batteries inside the lock that activated the lock mechanism was either defective of old. He replaced them with two new double A size batteries. The lock still did not work. The repairman tried again with another set of batteries. The lock did not work again.

We had become so frustrated that we told the front desk that we were ready to move. The front desk said there was a comparable room, but it had two double beds. We said that it was not comparable and it was on a lower floor with more noise. He insisted that it was a room that was originally booked. We objected and insisted on a room with a king-size bed, which we initially requested.

We were so disgruntled that we packed our belongings and moved next door to another hotel. We need to add that we never opened and used the bed. We only used the bathroom sink. We asked the front desk attendant to destroy the credit card payment receipt. The young man said he would need to ask the general manager. I insisted on having the receipt destroyed.

We moved next door to the Hampton Inn and finally got some rest. It was now close to midnight.

The following morning, Sunday, we went back to the Days Inn to join our group and board a bus to our destination. Before leaving I asked the young lady at the front desk to go through the previous day’s receipts and make sure our receipt was destroyed. She assured me that my request would be carried out.

Later that evening when we returned from our event, I stopped in at the Days Inn again. There was another young lady at the front desk. She went through the previous day’s receipts while I was watching her. She said she could not find it. I left and she promised that she would go through them one more time to make sure.

I left thinking the issue was taken care of and resolved.

When we received our recent Citi Bank VISA statement, the Days Inn charge was included. My wife called the Days Inn and spoke with Ravindra Jadhav, the general manager. He insisted that the hotel offered a comparable room when we decided to move. My wife reminded him that our initial request was for a room with a king-size or queen-size bed, which the Days Inn could not comply until we arrived at the hotel on Saturday, September 8th.

Mr. Radhav was unyielding and not willing to reverse the unwarranted charge. My wife told him that the room was not only unsafe but also unsanitary with a backing up sink and that we never were able to move in to the room or use the room due to our keys not working. In all the years that we have been traveling, we have never faced a situation equal to the lack of customer service displayed by him.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We understand your frustration and like I mentioned to you during our conversation, we offered every reasonable alternative to make you happy but all our offers were declined. We even gave you early check-in with choice of rooms so you did not had to wait to go attend your function and the bathroom issue was never even mentioned until arrangments were already made to stay at another hotel and upon inspection we found that there was none.

We take pride in our service in providing clean and comfortable place for our guests to stay and given another chance would like to prove that to you. Once again please do accept our apologies for the inconvenience with lock issue but since we were unable to fix it for you, room change was offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed two days last week, the hotel is clean with comfortable beds and nice staff. Great value for the money, close to River Rock Casino, Airport and Skytrain. Shuttle to Airport runs often which makes it very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We welcome your comments and glad to know that we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telkwa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Two of us stayed for 3 nights before an international flight and were so impressed that upon return to vancouver came back for a night between flights and have now made this our Vancouver favorite.
The front desk staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The location to skytrain is great as is the free shuttle to the airport. The rooms are of average size,modern and immaculately clean. Beds were excellent.
The resident cat "Freeloader" makes this place special...give her a scratch :)
One note: I would recommend booking directly through the hotel. With my BCAA card it was actually cheaper for my second stay than my original booking with booking.com
Overall - Excellent value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled with your comments and thank you very much for letting us know that we are doing our best to keep our guests feel at home. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

An airport access overnight business stay. Days Inn was comfortable and reasoanble. Access to airport good with a complimentary breakfast and airport shuttle. People friendly and helpful, short walk to Casino, Subway Sandwiches. And Burger King.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments, we are happy to know that you were able to enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived very late, quick check in service, clean room great place to stay for a quick nights sleep. I stayed for a very short time so it is hard to come up with 200 characters to type. Nice to have a free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you were able to enjoy our warm hospitality during your short stay at an affordable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

When you first enter the Days Inn the front desk staff are so very personable and helpful. The rooms are very nice, modern, clean and comforable. I stayed for two nights and the first day there the front desk called to ensure everything was to my standard - which is was! They have a lovely continental breakfast all included in the price of the room. I wanted to go to River Rock Casino so the location was perfect and to stay at the Days Innn was much more affordable plus you are 5 minutes from the skytrain and buses!

Room Tip: I had a corner room with two windows which was very nice - on the 3rd floor and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We welcome and appreciate your comments and thank you for letting us know that we lived upto your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn - Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Vancouver Airport

Address: 2840 Sexsmith Rd and Bridgeport Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 2H3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Richmond
#12 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn - Vancouver Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn - Vancouver Airport. We are a NON smoking property, located 2 km or 1.2 miles from Vancouver International Airport and approximately 20 minutes from downtown Vancouver, the British Columbia / Washington Border crossing and the Tsawwassen Ferry Terminal in the heart of Richmond just a few blocks away from River Rock Casino. Well appointed clean and comfortable rooms come with amenities and services like Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Free Airport Shuttle, Free High Speed Internet Access, Free Local Calls and Newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Days Inn Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn - Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Days Inn Richmond
Richmond Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.