We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn - Vancouver Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn - Vancouver Airport to your Saves list
Days Inn - Vancouver Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2840 Sexsmith Rd and Bridgeport Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 2H3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were transferred to the Days Inn, as there were problems with the rooms at the LaQuinta where we had originally booked. We were concerned that it was in an industrial area and looked a bit old from the outside. But inside.... the decor was comfortable. The staff at the front desk were outstanding and provided excellent service. But the breakfast room.... the attendant is incredible. We have stayed many, many places that have breakfast rooms, but the service here is second to none. You start your toast, waffles, or whatever and she waits for it and brings it to your table when it is ready.... I've never seen that before anywhere. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The only things we missed having were a pool and fitness room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your experience turned out to be positive with us after the initial inconvenience you had to go through at La Quinta. Our staff constantly strives to provide excellent customer service and enjoy doing it, we all want to thank you for noticing our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    324
    105
    14
    18
See reviews for
191
272
84
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlensee, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

As a final night, we booked the Days in Vancouver. The hotel is perfectly located to the airport (10 minutes). The receptionist was very friendly. The entrance of the hotel looked a bit messy (cardboard, paper, eg), but for the rooms are very nice. Clean, nice flat screen TV and quiet.
The beds were very comfortable. Parking and WIFI is free.
I would book this hotel again.

Do not forget to snuggle the hotel-cat
:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We inclduing the hotel cat Freeloader appreciate your feedback and were pleased to know that you did enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was our second year staying at this property. This hotel offers more then the bigger name hotel downtown. For starters; they have a schedule courtesy van for pick up and drop offs at the airport, it starts a round 04:15 and runs to late at night. The early drop off at the airport allows plenty of time to clear security and US Customs. The hotel stuff at the front desk could not be nicer. They will try to meet any request prior to check in as well as during your stay. Rooms are quite and clean, beds are very comfortable, got lost in the King bed that was provided at no extra cost. Rooms came with in-room refrigerator, Flat screen TV 32", Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, ect... There is a breakfast area that offers Continental breakfast, The usual , fruit, beagles, toast and dry cereal. The locations could not be better. A block from the sky train which will whisk you to downtown Vancouver or over to the Richmond area. There is also a Casino (River Rock) across from the Transportation center. They draw a crowd for the night entertainment, not to worry about the noise level, the hotel is far enough away where you don't hear anything. The transportation center also has major bus lines running from there. We took the bus line out to the ferry and then the ferry across to Victoria BC. This hotel does deserve a another half star to rate it at 4 1/2 stars. Would of rated it a five but no guest laundry, though they do offer a dry cleaning service. Finally yes to give it that homey feeling there is even a hotel cat that stays in the lobby and outside. You won't go wrong at this hotel, Staying here is like coming home again.

Room Tip: take the hotel courtesy van to and from the airport and save some money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great way to start our day by learning that our customers are noticing our efforts to make them feel welcomed and consider us to be their home away from home. Thanks a bunch for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

We were here for 3 nights of which we regretted. We stayed before at other DAys Inn and the staff were all nice and friendly unlike this place Should have stayed somewhere else Upon cheek in I was told they will hold $600.00 right away. I was never told about this when I made advance reservation. Other Days Inn where we stayed did not do this.

The next day,when we came back around noon, we noticed that our personal belongings were gone. We can not believe they took our things. I called the front desk asking where our things were. The front desk said he will check and put me on hold for 10 minutes and he said they will bring back to us. Found out that the head housekeeper took our stuff and her excuse was she was thinking we check out.Told her why not check twiced if our personal belongings still in the room she should not take them and keep them, why take other stuff inside the refrigerator and all the stuff inside the dresser and leave our luggage in the closet She said she do not touch .Told her why not when she touch all the others in the dresser etc. Told her did not appreciate what she did and to get out of our room. She never apologized what she did nor the manager about the incident. They did not finished cleaning the room when we cam back And they are taking stuff .

Beware of this hotel. Stay somewhere else. Regretted staying here.




Y

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for bringing your concern to my attention. I do apologize and is aware that all the staff did apologize numerous times for the misunderstanding that our housekeeping staff had regarding the room being a stay over or check-out leading to accidental removal of food and drinks from you room which was promptly returned when realised. Also when the housekeeper when to apologize for the same, you asked them to leave immediately and that is why front desk had to wait for you to give us OK to clean the room as per your convenience. But you are right, the housekeeping staff should have double checked before doing so and we accept our mistake.

I do understand your frustration regarding the pre-auth(hold) on your credit card at the time of check-in which is standard practice in the industry. It is done to make sure all the charges including room and taxes, any long idstance phone calls or any other incidentals that may occur during your stay are covered. Unlike other hotels we believe in advising our customers about the pre-auth right away and not just swipe their card without them knowing as to how much is the hold. Even at any gas station when you insert your card to fill up gas, a higher amount is withheld regardless of how much gas is filled in your vehicle but only a few people know this for fact.

We would love to have you back and change your negative experience into a positive memorable one if given a chance. Once again please accept our apologies and all our staff is made aware of the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Ths was our first stay at a "chain" type hotelmon our US-Canada trip & we were pleasantly surprised. It was a short walk (less than a kilometre) from the SkyTrain from downtwn Vancouver (Bridgeport Station). The staff at reception were friendly & helpful. The room was spacious, clean & quiet. We were close to restaurants also. Next morning we got our wake-up call on schedule. Breakfast was fine (& included in the price!) & the shuttle service to the airport was efficient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were glad that you found us friendly and accessible, we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Me and my wife went to Vancouver for the weekend and we ended up staying in a king sized room on the top floor on May 12th 2012.

We came an hour before check in, however they were still able to get us in the room early. You can tell its an older hotel, with new renovations. Everything works in the room! They even phone up to see if the room was everything we were expecting.

The breakfast is not much, but enough. You can make waffles, or have toast or bagels with cream cheese. They have fruit juice and milk and cereal.

The shuttle goes every 30 minutes, so it made getting to and from the airport easy.

As mentioned before by others, the hotel cat is a great touch to make it personal. (Dont worry it doesnt go up into your rooms.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that we were able to live upto your expectations by providing clean and comfortable service. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Had come off a combination of long flights from Christchurch New Zealand, the free shuttle bus leaves from under the green shelter outside at 00 and 30 minutes past the hour. Very short ride to the hotel, reception very helpful and friendly, free wake up call for early flight. The bed is huge and very comfortable, coffee machine with decafe and ordinary supplied plus creamer & sugar, toiletries and lots of towells. It is a very short walk to the sky train, station is at the casino. Breakfast starts at 5.30am and is very nice with fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, toast, waffles and spreads etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnyvrgm, General Manager at Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you were pleased with our service and were able to enjoy your stay. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn - Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Vancouver Airport

Address: 2840 Sexsmith Rd and Bridgeport Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 2H3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn - Vancouver Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn - Vancouver Airport. We are a NON smoking property, located 2 km or 1.2 miles from Vancouver International Airport and approximately 20 minutes from downtown Vancouver, the British Columbia / Washington Border crossing and the Tsawwassen Ferry Terminal in the heart of Richmond just a few blocks away from River Rock Casino. Well appointed clean and comfortable rooms come with amenities and services like Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Free Airport Shuttle, Free High Speed Internet Access, Free Local Calls and Newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Days Inn Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn - Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Days Inn Richmond
Richmond Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn - Vancouver Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.