We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site

Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site
12138 Fourth Ave. (At Moncton Street), Richmond, British Columbia V7E 3J1, Canada (Steveston)
+1 604-664-9009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 31 attractions in Richmond
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1894 in the historic fishing village of Steveston, the Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site is one of B.C.'S few historically intact canneries. The 120 year old cannery is now home to a museum commemorating the history of Canada's West Coast fishing industry from the 1870's to the present. Learn about our unique local history through interactive exhibits and activities for visitors of all ages!
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Fun and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited this site in August 2012, and really enjoyed it. I was so busy when we got back that I didn't take the time to review our visit there. What has inspired me to do so now is that my daughter (age 9), continues to bring up our visit to the Cannery. It made such an impression on her, that she keeps wanting to talk about what she saw there, and how she would fit into that world had she been born back then. She's brought up everything from sanitary conditions, safety, child labour, etc, as topics of discussion. The rest of our family equally enjoyed our trip to this site, and spent a LOT more time there than we had intended. They had tons of displays, and we opted for the free guided tour which was conducted by very friendly and knowledgeable staff. We learned a lot about what life would have been like for workers back then, and the types of products they produced there. They also had a number of displays that touch on current issues facing our oceans (environment, over fishing, types of fishing, sustainability, etc.), and the kids found these really interesting as well, especially in contrast to how things were back when the cannery was operating.

There is no doubt in my mind that we will be back because anything that engages visitors in learning, while having fun, is worth the time.

I'd recommend allowing at least two hours, but it can be done in less (or more) time depending on what you want to get out of the visit, and how much time you have.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

They do a haunted cannery tour. It's the best! The museum deserves at least a couple of hours, but bring a coat - it gets chilly! Great little bit of history located in a beautiful harbor town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A walk into history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is very unique to view a cannery like it just closed yesterday. The smells, displays, and great posters to explain the various points of interest and what occured at each station is easy to understand for all ages!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We hadn't planned on visiting the cannery when in Richmond for a whale tour but we were given free tickets and had some time to kill. We were in there about an hour or so for what was a surprisingly detailed and historic site. We enjoyed the talk on how the cannery used to work from the catching of the fish to the sealing of the cans. The machinery models of a 1930s cannery are good and it's clear to see how it was all used even if you do a self tour and not a free guided tour. Would have paid the entrance fee if it hadn't been free.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you like fish, you'll like this museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

A worthwhile exhibit about the fishing and canning industry of the Vancouver area. The factory is still in almost original condition, so it gives you a real sense of what it was like to work there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site to your Saves list