We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Vancouver Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Vancouver Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Vancouver Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5911 Minoru Boulevard, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 4C7, Canada (City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

very surprised to find our room was more like a mini suite with a separate sitting area. Short walk to local mall with everything you need or may have forgotten (never happens right?). Starbucks at hotel around the corner in neighouring hotel for those of us who just need that morning jolt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    174
    67
    14
    3
See reviews for
88
100
37
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very clean, quiet and comfortable. Right in the heart of Richmond and close to the airport. Excellent sound proofing means you see the planes but you don't hear the planes. Close to the Richmond Night Market and a short drive to Steveston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Close to Vancouver Airport. Free shuttle that is reliable and frequent. Shuttle driver is very helpful, friendly, and flexible. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and traditional. In last few weeks stayed in a king room and Jr suite. Towels could be less worn. Street noise was a bother (even on 9th floor).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I am giving the Hilton a 1 out of 5 because I had a terrible night's sleep on the sofa bed despite my mom having slept well in the King bed.

Do not book a suite at the Hilton if you are planning to actually sleep in the sofa bed. If you want a suite with a sofa bed, stay somewhere else where like the Marriott (which I normally use). I chose the Hilton because the room looked more modern and more importantly, at a lower price. A regrettable decision.

The Hilton should not advertise a suite with a sofa bed (mattress and sheets) if it is not up to the same standard as the rest of the suite. Ditto for the sound proofing. Although I did not hear any noise from the adjacent suites, the noise from the construction site across the street permeated through the balcony door.

Here are the details:
:
We checked in early just after 11am on July 24th and dropped off our bags in suite #903. It was not until after we got back late from dinner that I realized the sofa bed was in terrible condition. There were some holes on the sides of the bed sheet covering the mattress. Not to be deterred from this, and being so late in the evening (after 11:30pm), I lay down and could feel the springs across my back / shoulders. A closer inspection revealed a sagging mattress and thin pad underneath that seemed to be as old as the hotel - definitely needs to be replaced. Moreover, the extra blanket I took out of the drawer also had some small holes in it. See the photos below.

I called the front desk and Simon came up with extra sheets. He apologized for the poor condition of the sofa bed and holes in the sheet. There wasn't much he could do at this point except to replace the bed sheet and put on extra sheets to try and provide more padding. There were no replacement mattress pads available. Moreover, he noted all the sofa beds were likely in the same condition, and that I should provide my comments to the front desk at checkout. If not for the fact that my mom was asleep in the next room, I would have demanded another suite, so I made the best of it.

I awoke earlier than planned the next morning to the sound of trucks backing up and hammering from the construction across the street that permeated through the balcony door next to the sofa bed. I did not get a chance to provide my comments to the Hilton management the next day as we had in a rush to leave to catch our flight after getting back later than planned from lunch.

In summary, the staff was friendly and helped us to catch the shuttle bus to the airport but the construction across the street and poor condition of the sofa bed made for an unpleasant and very disappointing stay given the Hilton's reputation.

Room Tip: Avoid room 903!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, General Manager at Hilton Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Terry,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize for the deficiencies that you experienced, this is clearly not a positive reflection on our hotel and a far cry from the usual high standards that we set for ourselves.

We have inspected all of our rooms with sofa beds and you are correct, there are a few that need some attention. We are in the process of rectifying this by replacing some of the mattresses and mechanisms. Where required, we are also added additional mattress pads.

Being an airport hotel our rooms are quite soundproof from exterior noise so I was surprised to hear about the disruption from the adjacent condominium construction. However we have the option of moving our guests to the opposite side of the building if this is a concern to them.

Once again, thank you for bringing these comments to my attention, we try very hard to offer the best service possible and hope we can welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Richmond.

Gary Collinge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The staff are what make this hotel amazing!!!!! They are so friendly and bend over backwards to help you. I stay here all the time. The rooms and the views are fantastic. The hotel has ample parking and the rooftop pool is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Pulled up to the hotel at night - awning there, but no valet parking - went to front desk and they advised there is no valet, and I have to self park in a huge parking lot which is not visible from the lobby, they said they have security walking around - not good enough for me and I almost cancelled my reservation and left - however, another girl at the desk said I could park in the 15 minute parking and leave my car there overnight - I accepted the offer and the rest of my stay was pleasant - as a woman travelling along, I refuse to park in parking lots that are not visible by the property and was not impressed - would not stay there again for that reason, unless they could confirm I could have that premium parking spot again - restaurant was nice and staff was accommodating

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed overnight enroute home from business trip and was pleasantly surprised with the staff and accommodations. I have stayed in different hotels in the immediate vicinity and this was by far the best for cleanliness, service and comfort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vancouver Airport

Address: 5911 Minoru Boulevard, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 4C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Vancouver Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton quality boutique hotel located 5km from Vancouver International Airport and just 20 minutes from Downtown attractions. Spacious Guestrooms and Suites feature items from the Hilton Serenity Collection and include exclusive Suite Dreams mattress and box spring, down-filled comforters and pillows. Complimentary shuttle service from Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Hilton Hotel Richmond
Hilton Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Vancouver Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.