We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport

Save Saved
You added Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3233 St. Edwards Dr, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3K4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 24 hotels in Richmond
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not very clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed in a loft suite with family. The room was very small. If you were to pull out the hid-a-bed it would touch the opposite wall making it impossible for others to get to the bathroom. When I did pull open the bed, it was covered in chips and nuts! Disgusting! I did not sleep on it, just threw the blanket on the couch itself.
The coffee pot did not work properly. When I told a housekeeping staff, she just looked at me.
The restaurant attached was excellent though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    51
    57
    23
    10
See reviews for
38
49
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The room maybe is not the best but very good value, location is also good for us, staff has been friendly and helpful. would recommand to everybody else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

An unexpected layover in Vancouver was quite pleasant. Room was small, but clean and bed was comfy. Fluffy towels and a robe were a nice touch. No noise to contend with. Enjoyed a nice dinner at Moxie's, little pricy, but delicious. Would stay again for airport access.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This room was gross. We had spent the night, and I thought I would give it a decent review based on the "you get what you pay for rule". But in the morning I went to have a shower, turned around to see a huge wad of HAIR stuck to the wall at eye height. Throughly disgusted that they must not have cleaned the shower, I went to grab the door handle out of the bathroom to realize it was sticky and covered in something (I don't want to know).

Will never stay here again. Not worth the parking. BLEH.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandmanYVR, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feed back. Please accept my apology for the poor level of cleanliness you experienced in your room, be assured this will be properly addressed.

Your experience is not of the level of quality and service we strive to offer our guests and we apologize. I welcome you to contact me directly so I offer a resolution for these shortfalls and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Respectfully,

Allison Donne
General Manager
Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

If your flying out and need a good long term park and fly rate this is good value, they also allow you more then 2 weeks. The rooms are clean and having Moxie's attached to the hotel is a bonus. Staff have always been friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If your 55 plus and belong to the Sandman club they will upgrade you for free
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in Richmond that had suites, as we were travelling with 2 small children. The Sandman Hotel was one of the very few that offered this amenity. While it was nice to be able to have two separate bedrooms for the family, I think this hotel could do with some updating. The decor, furniture, lobby, elevators, everything looked dated and shabby. The staff seemed preoccupied and weren't very helpful, either.

However, the suite itself was quite nice - we had a bedroom in a loft up a short flight of stairs from the living room, which had a pullout bed. Adequate for a couple of nights' stay while we explored Richmond and Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith BC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The shuttle was great it only took a few minutes each way. Though small, the room was clean and the bed comfortable, we left early so never had breakfast. Went to the pool, it was good.
Had dinner at Moxie's and that was excellent.
For one night it was great.

Room Tip: away from the elevator if you are a light sleeper, the pool spa area was nice. The shuttle service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport

Address: 3233 St. Edwards Dr, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3K4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from the Vancouver International Airport, the Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport offers exceptional quality and value. Complete with high speed Internet access, coffee makers, hairdryers and in-room movies, our 171 guest rooms include kitchenettes, executive, loft and jacuzzi suites. Enjoy on-site dining and then unwind in the indoor pool and whirlpool and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Richmond
Sandman Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.