We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay At The Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Vancouver Airport to your Saves list
Fairmont Vancouver Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 1X9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% on Room & Dining
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Stay At The Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Well, usually I land and then jump into a taxi to get to my hotel. But this time I was surprised right after baggage claim and customs, a lady at the information desk just told me to use the elevator on the left side and I'm at the hotels reception. Because of my first time at Fairmont I've got an upgrade and just enjoyed the faboulous view on the Airports runway and stunning surroundings. Room was top and also quiet in the morning time.

Room Tip: The higher the better ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    326
    37
    18
    11
See reviews for
360
501
168
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having stayed stayed in downtown Vancouver at the start of our Canadian trip, we decided to stay our last two days (one night) at the airport hotel. The choice was based on convenience - no worries about getting taxis, lugging bags, risk of traffic delays - and given the hotel is directly in the terminal building, you knew that your flight was just a lift ride away! Perfect.

What we received in addition to convenience was an extremely stylish room, impeccable service and great views of the mountains and the runway! I loved it.

A lot of people might be put off by the thought of staying at an airport hotel - but it was not at all noisy and I found it totally fascinating to watch the planes land, off-load, re-load and go again. And great to watch our own plane land (before having to leave our room!) Further, it was so easy to get the train to go downtown, I think this hotel should be given serious consideration for those planning to stay longer.

The room had everything you could possibly need - so modern and well appointed - and the staff could not do enough to help - so professional and attentive. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: To maximise the convenience - pay for a late check out if need be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

For the past several years, I have stayed at the Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel at both the beginning and the end of my vacations in Europe. The hotel is a perfect place to break up what would otherwise be an exhaustingly long trip between my home and whatever European destination I have chosen. Just as important, the hotel is extremely well appointed, quiet (rooms are soundproofed against airport noise), and comfortable and all of the rooms offer wonderful views, either of Georgia Strait and Vancouver Island or of the North Shore mountains. The bar and restaurant are both excellent, if somewhat costly, and the staff is unfailingly friendly. I will certainly return in 2013.

Room Tip: While the view from either side of the hotel is very good, watching planes take off from the south s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Bill H,

We greatly appreciate your recent review on The Fairmont Vancouver Airport. We love how you were able to emphasize so many wonderful aspects of the hotel, and we agree the views are spectacular. Please ensure to notify our reservations team when flying through YVR again to one of your favourite European cities. Perhaps Paris next?

Bon Voyage,

The team here at The Fairmont Vancouver Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

although airport hotels are not my preferred place to stay, this one really ofers a great experience with the high quality of its restaurant and service. The check in process is fast, so you can get to your room as soon as you arrive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Ditorresm,

Thank you kindly for the recent review on The Fairmont Vancouver Airport. We appreciate your ability to highlight the experience you encountered at our restaurant, Globe@YVR. Please inform us of any future travels plans which incorporate a stay at the Vancouver International Airport. Our reservations team would be delighted to assist with any reservation enquiries.

Warmest Regards,

The team here at The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

On our way home from Hawaii we had an 8 hour over night layover in Vancouver. Our flight arrived in shortly after 11:00 pm and we had to be back on a plane by 8:00 am. We were looking for a place to put our kids down to sleep in a bed rather than sleeping in the airport.

I had called the hotel directly over 4 months in advance and spoke to the front desk. I explained that when searching on line I could only find a room that would hold 4 people. The front desk quickly explained that they could put a cot in the room for us. This thrilled me as I could not envision spending $298 + taxes per room on 2 rooms.

We arrived at midnight and were nicely greeted, and assisted to our room. Upon arrival we noted that they had already set up the cot and it was made up and ready to put the kids into bed. That was so nice to see, as they were all ready to fall into nice clean beds.

The room was spotless and well maintained. There were plenty of clean towels and toiletries for us to use. Everyone was eager to sleep. The beds were very comfortable and the room temperature was good.

Would I stay here again? yes definitely. It was clean, spacious for 5 people and 3 beds and a load of luggage. The bathroom was well appointed and very clean also. The staff were gracious and delivered what they promised.
Truly a top notch hotel. Thank you to the young lady who took the booking and made sure everything was as requested. As a family travelling with a child with special needs this is very much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Kikisweets,

We love your recent review on Trip Advisor! Thank you for taking the time to voice your experience. We will ensure to notify the departments involved of their success in guaranteeing your stay was seamless and relaxing. Please notify our reservations team of any future bookings you wish to make with our hotel as they would be pleased to assist with any requests you may have,

We hope you had a lovely time in Hawaii,

The entire team here at The Fairmont Vancouver Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent a few nights in this excellent hotel in October, and December 2012. Having stayed there before, we were looking forward to the experience and we were not disappointed. The rooms, the bed, the views of the runways and mountains, the shower, the fitness room are all first rate. It;s quiet too, ith well sound-dampened windows. Perhaps the bathroom is a little short on privacy, but it's not really an issue for us a couple.

Our room was on an excellent corporate rate so we can't speak to the reasonableness of the price, but we will always call this hotel our first choice when at YVR

Room Tip: We're not big breakfast eaters so we just nipped down to one of the Coffee outlets in the airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello xj6response,

The entire team here, at The Fairmont Vancouver Airport, greatly appreciates the time you have taken to write a review on our hotel. Thank you kindly for pointing out the soundproofing of the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you return in the near future. Please contact our reservations team for any future bookings as they would be delighted to assist with any reservation requests,

sincerely,

The entire team here at The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Coming and going out of YVR (we live on Vancouver Island) we always stay at the Fairmont at the airport. If you have an early departure or a late arrival this hotel offers convenience and comfort. If you are thinking about staying somewhere near/close to/not too far from YVR the costs for taxi, parking and your time make the Fairmont a better deal. And the restaurant offers a wide ranging menu including vegan, gluten free, and other special diet options. Wake up refreshed, unrushed and catch that early flight ready for a holiday or return home. Staff is pleasant, well trained and ready to offer advice and assistance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Brenda002,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your recent Trip Advisor review on The Fairmont Vancouver Airport. We love how you were able to highlight the savings opportunity when staying at The Fairmont Vancouver Airport, which is located directly within the terminal. We understand that due to living on Vancouver Island you are a loyal customer of ours, please ensure to reach out to our reservations team as they would be very pleased to assist with any future reservation requests.

Sincerely,

The team here at The Fairmont Vancouver Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Address: 3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 1X9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#1 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel is the only soundproofed, luxury hotel and spa conveniently located within Vancouver's International Airport (YVR). Situated directly above the US departures terminal only a two-minute stroll from the luggage carousels. Sleep in luxury right above your gate and avoid shuttles. This AAA / CAA 4-diamond airport hotel features:- an extensive Health Club and Spa- soundproofed guestrooms- breathtaking floor-to-ceiling views- day use roomsThe Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel's award-winning, signature restaurant, GlobeYVR Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.Wireless Internet Access is available in all of our guest rooms and is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport
Fairmont Richmond
Vancouver Airport Fairmont Hotel
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Richmond Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Vancouver Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.