We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
Summerland, Canada
1 review
“Hotel review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Quite and close to the Vancouver Skytrain. Free parking and excellent complimentary full breakfast. All for under $100.00 per night for two. We have used this hotel before and never had any complaints. Definitely recommend the hotel to friends. Shuttle tot he the Vancouver airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear James B,

Thank you very much for giving us a five star! We were very happy to see the appreciation you had for the service in general. We looking forward to provide you with another superior experience!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    162
    82
    37
    21
See reviews for
91
175
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Tried to book a few rooms, called the hotel directly several times, emailed the hotel directly several times. No responses, no call backs. Very disapointing.
I called one month before scheduled trip, again a week later, and again a week after that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Rick B,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I would also want to share your comment with our front-line members to re-enforce quality service and rapid response. I hope to see you again so we can provide you a better service next time!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I've been visiting Richmond approximately 3 times a year for the past 10 years. If you know your way around Richmond and looking for an economic place to stay this is it.

I found the hotel staff to be friendly, the rooms are a bit on the small side (2 beds in the room fill it up), and the bathrooms have what seems to be an unusually large (half glass) shower, but a small turning area and a large counter.

My room had a coffee maker and mini fridge, plus a digital safe large enough to hold a few laptop computer in. Wifi is free and zippy. I got 2.89 Mbps down & 2.25 MB up (via wireless) when I speed tested it.

Complimentary served breakfast (Not a buffet but with servers, serving you) is available in the morning from 6:00am to 10:30am. The earlier you get there the better chance you'll get to help yourself to the complimentary fresh cut fruit and yogurt, but once they run out of those they don't get replaced. With your room stay you'll be issued a 8 CAD Voucher per person, which you can use on anything on the menu.

The gym is on the 1st floor, opens at 6:00am and only contains 3 pieces of equipment plus the TV is mounted at an odd angle. Towels were sometimes available in the morning, sometime not. On the way to the gym I suggest stopping by the bathroom to get some paper towels as they have spray sanitizer available in the gym but nothing to wipe down the machines with.

Breakfast: Stay on the left side of the menu and you should get what's in the (picture):
Coffee or tea, Fresh cut fruit, yogurt, eggs, potatoes, toast (white, wheat, multi-grain or sourdough), and a choice of ham or sausage, all covered by the voucher. But don't forget to leave a TIP for your wait staff. After all the breakfast was included and the service was pretty efficient. I left a $1 per person every morning.

This location is right across the street from the Costco in Richmond. If you are really hungry and don't feel like dining in the restaurant. To the right (East) and one long block away is a Tim Horton's. To the left (West) and two long blocks away is a burger king, but to me Richmond has the best Chinese food in the world and it's all along number 3 road. You can't walk from the hotel to any of the good restaurants along number 3 road but try to find a way to get there. A car would be extremely helpful. You can also walk to the River Rock casino (approximately 3 blocks to the north) which is where the nearest air train station is too and take that in to Richmond as it goes along No 3 road to the last stop Richmond Center.

This place also operates an airport shuttle. While I didn't take the airport shuttle anywhere, it seems to run frequently.

Parking is available and free and I think they offer a park and fly package (where if you stay 1 night you can leave your car in their parking lot for 5 days).

Lastly I suggest management fix the men's handicapped toilet seat. It's missing a screw so it's lose and also put the trash can in the men's room closer to the door so you don't have to basketball the towel when leaving.

Room Tip: Select rooms on the south side which is the opposite side of the roadway for a quieter nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear CWipes,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and your very detailed recommendation! We were very happy to see the appreciation you had for our service in general. We looking forward to provide you with another superior experience!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Best Western Abercorn is within walking distance to the Bridgeport Sky Station. The Boathouse Restaurant. Across from Costco. Has a reliable shuttle service to and from the YVR. We stay here because of the location and the courteous staff. Rooms vary. I have given the rating a very good as the restaurant is not what it used to be. They are working on it, however it could be better. It is not that the food is bad. It has room for improvement. Liked the old style buffet breakfast. They have gone back to a limited menu breakfast. Still worth it. If you are driving. The location has easy access to downtown, YVR, Steveston, Surrey etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Wibs39254,

Thank you for choosing your stay with Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn. We are glad that we were able to meet your accommodation needs.We appreciate your positive vision for the restaurant operation and thank you for letting us know. We do hope you return and look forward to the possibility of hosting you again!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, B.C.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had occasion to stay at this hotel overnight because of an early morning flight.
Hotel was very clean and the reception was courteous. Bed was comfortable. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was very good. Our only complaint was the occupants of the rooms next to ours where the inconsiderate people kept up the noise until 2am on one side of us and the other side of us a little dog was barking (although that stopped at a reasonable time). This was very annoying but I know I should have asked the desk clerk to put a stop to it. My fault. Other than that it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear JudySurrey_B_C_,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and your positive recommendation! We were very happy to see the appreciation you had for our service in general. Next time please definitely let front desk agents know, we can always coordinate noise situation for you to make sure every guest has a quality sleeping. We looking forward to provide you with another superior experience!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and myself checked in on Friday Feb 28 2014.We found the clerk very rude and not helpful.When asked where we parked our car for the duration of our trip she just grunted and said in the back,no directions of any kind,when I asked her opinion of what would be a good time for shuttle pickup for our flight time,she just glared at me as if to say you figure it out.We in the future will never stay at your hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Deborah J,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I would also want to share your comment with our front-line members as a training purpose. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We boked into Best Western Abercorn Inn in Richmond BC Canada for the purpose of getting to the airport next day real early (we live in Chilliwach, 130 Km away from airport , our flight was leaving next day at 9:25 am, didn't want to risk missing the flight if travelling from home all the way, so we travelled the day before). Plus, the hotel offers a long term parking for a small fee if you park your car on hotel premises if you spend a night in the hotel (hotel shuttle takes you then to and from the airport every 1/2 hour).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello Helmut_Sardis2014,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and your positive recommendation! We were very happy to see the appreciation you had for our service in general. We looking forward to provide you with another superior experience!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.