We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great hotel to stay in when you need to catch a flight at Vancouver International airport. Hotel provides a free shuttle, has a good restaurant and excellent beds. Rooms are small but they have every amenity you can think of. Staff are professional and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meggy H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear atouroperator,

Thank you for your review. Our rooms are not all cookie cutter size, so please let us know next time you are in town and we will upgrade you to a more spacious room. We have nine room types available for you to choose from!

Thank you once again for your review.

Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    182
    97
    49
    23
See reviews for
103
192
40
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is kind of weird looking from the outside but our room was great. Very clean and up to date. Location was close to the sky train so we just took off all over vancouver for $2.50 each way all day long. There is also a huge casino 2 blocks away. Downside is the work out room is lacking equipment. No biggie.

Room Tip: Get the king bed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meggy H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Buckwheat 999,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad that you took advantage of the skytrain that is just conviently located 10 minutes walk away from us. We do acknowledge the fact that we have a smaller than average fitness room but it is nicely equipped with brand new equipments we replaced last year. Hopefully, we can expand the size of the fitness room in the near future.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you at the Abercorn Inn soon!

Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have stayed at the B.W. Abercorn Hotel in Richmond for many years. They have always been courteous and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. Good hot breakfasts, pub and dining room. When they removed the Shepherd's Pie and Steak Pie from the menu, I wrote them telling them that Shepherd's Pie was my favourite dinner on the menu and was very disappointed. They not only replied, but gave me a future complimentary dinner (shepherd's pie) and drink, but put those two dinners back on the menu. Now who could complain about this service. I continue to book this hotel when visiting Vancouver.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meggy H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear HELEN C,

Thank you for your review. We do remember you and thank you for coming back to us! We do take all customer comments to heart and deliver our promises. We are extremly thrilled to see your comment and to win your support back with the Abercorn Inn.

Please do not hesitate to let us know of what we can improve on or anything we can do to make your stay better. We enjoy constructive criticisms from our guests as that is the only way to improve. Thank you once again!

Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Checked in to find front desk staff rushed and not polite. Furnace in room was outragously noisy and we had to sleep in the cold in order to sleep at all. We used this hotel for its shuttle to the airport and parking, however after being told we could have some sort of complimentary breakfast even at 5am when we departed, we found only a couple apples, oranges and three tiny pastries. When we did take all three pastries as there was three of us, we recieved the 'stink eye' from the man at the desk - who was also not friendly or helpful. My son left his hat behind in the room, when I phoned the desk 10 minutes after we left, the man said it was not his problem and we would have to call housekeeping the next day and hung up on me. It has been almost a month - we have even returned to the hotel to get the hat - we were given the runaround and still could not get the hat as we were told it was too late (7pm). We still have not got his hat back which pretty much adds $35 to my bill as I had to purchase him another similar one before sending him back to his moms. We will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meggy H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear KevinF,

Thank you for your review and we would like to start off by apologizing for your experience. Your experience with our staff is certainly not common to us. We emphasize our providing friendly, professional and efficient service to anybody that walks into our doors.

To our knowledge, your lost and found item was shipped out to you right after we received your request. We do apologize should you feel there was a delay. Our "to-go" breakfast is also something we provide to our early departures if they cannot enjoy our complimentary full hot buffet breakfast. We will certainly look into adjusting the quantity of the items. Thank you for your recommendation and feedback.

Thank you once again for your review and should you have further questions or concerns, please do not hestiate to contact Meggy Ho, General Manager at 604-270-7576 or generalmanager@abercorn-inn.com. We certainly hope that you can give our property another chance. Please contact us directly next time you are in town and we will personally look after your reservation.

Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and were greated by the excellent front desk clerk Steve! Steve was very helpful with directions and our checkin. We had some guests stop by to visit us and Steve was very curtous and helpful towards them. The hotel is situated close to the airport with fast service. The room was nice and clean with everything functioning well. The hotel has a character feel to it. We had a simple buffet breakfast included which was good. There is free wifi with good speed. All in all the abercorn is very good value for your money with excellent service. Thanks very much for your hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meggy H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Smashedbunny,

Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Steve has been with us for a long time and takes hospitality to heart. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to him. All our staff has been with us a long time and indeed it is a beneft to the company as they have all have in depth knowledge of the property, surrounding areas and hotel experience.

We are constantly seeking ways to improve and excel. Should you have concerns or questions, please do not hestiate to contact us at 604-270-7576. Thank you once again and hope to see you again at the Abercorn Inn in the near future!

Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to try this hotel. It is an older place ,a replica of a English Tudor hotel, which has been renovated. The rooms were painted, new carpets, original furniture reprinted topped with granite slabs. TV's are 32 LG flat-screens. The bed was comfortable but a little firm for me. The heater worked but with difficulty, slow to respond with heat. The room in my opinion smelled a little musty,mouldy maybe the heater or the old wood. Rooms were clean but dated. The towels were worn,in need of replacement. There are fridges but no microwaves. The WiFi was free and other than the constant sign in,it seemed to work well. The location is perfect, close to the airport, freeways and shopping. Free parking is a nice bonus. The staff was very helpful and friendly. This hotel is also pet friendly for a fee. I found the hotel to be overpriced for what you get.
I give it an average rating.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meggy H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear skyrider705,

Thank you for your review of our property. We will certainly look into the issues you mentioned in the review. The Abercorn Inn strive to provide the best in service and amenties and certainly want our guest to experience their value of price paid.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you back at the Abercorn Inn to experience the great value that our guests has complimented us for.

Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It rained virtually every day I was in Vancouver, but that's normal in the fall. At a less warm and comfortable hotel, it could have been a very long visit. But here, the desk staff was friendly, and whoever was on the desk greeted me when I can in at night.

I didn't eat in the Inn's restaurant, but many from the Holiday Inn Express across the street did, so I assume it must be good. And the hotel's proximity to the airport made two quick trips out of town easier.

Double pane windows and good bedding in my room made for easy sleep. To be sure, I will return when I have a chance.

Room Tip: The west end of the hotel seems to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meggy H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Forest20851,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We do agree with you that with similar amenities offered from different hotels, personable service it what really counts at the end.

Be sure to try our restaurant next time as we specialize in Scottish comfort food such as Sheperd's Pie, Scotch Broth etc!

We hope to see you again at the Abercorn Inn in the near future!

Regards

BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.