We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night, good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine for a night, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We arrived late Saturday evening at the Vancouver airport, staying one night before heading off to the cruise terminal downtown. We chose the Abercorn Inn because if was close to the airport, offered free shuttle service, and had available shuttle bus fee service to the cruise terminal the next day. We were told the airport shuttle ran at 15 and 45 minutes after the hour, and true to word the bus was there at exactly 9:45 PM. Check in service in the small lobby was fast and pleasant. We wanted a quick bite to eat. The on-site restaurant service closed at 10 PM but we were able to get a very good Shrimp Caesar salad in the bar. The facility was still undergoing renovation as there was a pallet of new mini-fridges by the elevator. The room was on the small side but was clean and comfortable. As we had checked in late, we just wanted a place to bed down. The 3rd party shuttle bus to the cruise terminal was on time in the morning. The desk clerk arranged it for us. The biggest negative was the free breakfast which was horrible. Of course, it was crowded due to other cruise passengers being on site. But breakfast selections were meager and not very good. Definitely below average even for a free hotel breakfast. Other than that, service was commendable, the place was quiet, clean, and comfortable, and the price competitive. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    163
    82
    37
    21
See reviews for
91
175
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and i stayed at this Best Western property in early October.
The hotel is well located near the airport and the free shuttle bus is very handy.
The property has an onsite lounge and restaurant and the rooms were very comfortable.
Staff were well trained and hospitable. We would have no hesitations in going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at this hotel after driving to Richmond from Seattle, WA. We arrived a bit after midnight, the night shift receptionist did what she was suppose to do to check us in and nothing beyond her job description, not even a smile. Ok, fine, maybe she was tried, I can give her benefit of the doubt.

After we got to our room (dark and poorly decorated in my opinion), we quickly got ready for bed because it was extremely late. In the middle of the night, I woke up with EXTREME itching of my right leg - yep, that's right. BED BUG! The next morning, on our way to the elevator downstairs, we saw a guy spraying some kind of treatment to the outside door frame of another room. I was a little relieved because it seemed like they knew about the problem and did something about it. Unfortunately the same thing happened on the second night, not to me but my husband, he was also bitten by bed bugs.

Now, on a more positive note, the hotel was located near the airport, on a busy street and pretty easy to spot. I also enjoyed its close proximity to Aberdeen center. The breakfast was excellent, offered both cold and hot items and Seattle's Best coffee.

I was surprised at how horrible my experience turned out to be, especially when I researched the hotel on TripAdvisor before we booked it. Maybe it was just my room #253, which was on the end of a very long hall way. Needless to say, I will never return to this hotel due to the potential health/safety/sanity issues.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CW_Mis, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank for you taking time to offer your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We regret you did not have a pleasant stay and I apologize that we neither met nor exceeded your expectations. We strive to ensure each of our guests enjoys a comfortable, clean stay, with welcoming superior service and high quality amenities.

Responding to your concerns I have had a technician look into the matter and am pleased to assure that there are no bedbugs, nor any evidence of bedbug activity, at the hotel. Thank you again, however, for bringing your concerns to our attention.

I apologize that you did not enjoy the guest room furnishings. The hotel had enlisted the aid of a Best Western Recommended professional designer. Overall we get very positive reviews on the décor and furnishings, and our unique, boutique styled rooms. We have just completed extensive renovations are are very excited about our 'brand new' guest rooms.

I would have welcomed discussing your concerns when you were at the property, but I was unfortunately not aware of them until now. Should you wish to discuss further please don't hesitate to contact me at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again, and I hope to have the opportunity to bring you back to experience all the hospitality and charm that we endeavour to offer all our visitors.

My best regards,
Christopher Mis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed at this hotel due it's location near to Vancouver airport which was only 5 mins drive away. Room was large, clean and tidy with free wi-fi. Room rate included buffet breakfast with limited selection of hot and cold stuff, but was more than adequate, just be sure not to leave it too late or certain items start running out. Was around 20 mins drive from downtown Vancouver although you can use the skytrain which is close to the hotel. Hotel has own restaurant and pub on-site serving reasonably priced selection of food in an evening. If staying here would recommend going to the Flying Beaver Bar & Grill which is located at the seaplane terminal at Vancouver airport, great food, great atmosphere, is around 5 mins drive from hotel. Would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CW_Mis, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time here, and that you were able to share your positive experience with future guests.

The Abercorn Inn has recently undergone a major renovation project, encompassing everything from 100% new superior beds, to full guest room carpet, painting, ceiling, and bathroom remodelling. We are also happy to offer one of the fasted wi-fi HSIA download speeds in Richmond at 10 Mbps,

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Vancouver.

Sincerely,
Chris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip Terrace, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We're the Travelin' Travel Agents from Consumers Travel World. This was a real surprise for a Best Western. We know the chain recently re-classified their properties as sort of good--better--best. But this was a beauty!! In the busy streets of Richmond, BC, this property stands out for gorgeous and unique plantings in the parking lot!! The outside of the hotel looks like an alpine retreat (although the theme is clearly Scottish). The lobby and corridors are filled with historic maps and illustrations of all things pertaining to Scotland----lovely to browse. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed. Breakfast was extensive and even included Canadian bacon. Who could ask for anything more!?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CW_Mis, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear "Travelin' Travel Agents",

We LOVE that you LOVED your stay at the Abercorn Inn. Thank you for sharing your experience not only with us, but with all our future guests. We are proud be a different from everyone else, and strive to offer warm friendly service in a charming boutique environment.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you next you are in Vancouver.

Sincerely,

Christopher Mis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Clean, very friendly, good breakfast, close to train into all the spots in the city--or the airport. A good, close choice for an airport hotel (gas station on corner for topping off rental car) OR for just a cheaper stay in Vancouver where you don't need a car to visit Gastown, China Town or any other site. The price is good but this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

Needed a room to stay for a field hockey tournament it was only a 15 min drive from airport and 10 drive to field hockey field great hot breakfast for the athletes and rooms were very quiet. Would recommed to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.