We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WOWSER OF A BEST WESTERN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
Islip Terrace, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A WOWSER OF A BEST WESTERN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We're the Travelin' Travel Agents from Consumers Travel World. This was a real surprise for a Best Western. We know the chain recently re-classified their properties as sort of good--better--best. But this was a beauty!! In the busy streets of Richmond, BC, this property stands out for gorgeous and unique plantings in the parking lot!! The outside of the hotel looks like an alpine retreat (although the theme is clearly Scottish). The lobby and corridors are filled with historic maps and illustrations of all things pertaining to Scotland----lovely to browse. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed. Breakfast was extensive and even included Canadian bacon. Who could ask for anything more!?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CW_Mis, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear "Travelin' Travel Agents",

We LOVE that you LOVED your stay at the Abercorn Inn. Thank you for sharing your experience not only with us, but with all our future guests. We are proud be a different from everyone else, and strive to offer warm friendly service in a charming boutique environment.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you next you are in Vancouver.

Sincerely,

Christopher Mis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    163
    82
    37
    21
See reviews for
91
175
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Clean, very friendly, good breakfast, close to train into all the spots in the city--or the airport. A good, close choice for an airport hotel (gas station on corner for topping off rental car) OR for just a cheaper stay in Vancouver where you don't need a car to visit Gastown, China Town or any other site. The price is good but this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

Needed a room to stay for a field hockey tournament it was only a 15 min drive from airport and 10 drive to field hockey field great hot breakfast for the athletes and rooms were very quiet. Would recommed to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The free airport shuttle runs every half hour from Vancouver Airport which is great after a long flight as you don’t have to arrange your own transport.

Reception were helpful throughout and eased me through checking in and out. The room had two double beds, a fridge, microwave, television and all the other essentials. The shower was disappointing as you had to adjust the two taps which never stayed the same temperature for long. Add to that the shower head was too low for me (anyone over 5’9 may as well have a bath as a shower is uncomfortable). The bathroom in general was smaller than I would have liked for the size of the room. Free wireless internet is available in the room and was easy to set up and reliable (just key in your room number the first time you log on).

A buffet breakfast was included in the room price and you could choose anything from sausages and scrambled egg to oats, cereal or toast. I enjoyed this as it kept me going through the day. Naturally, tea, coffee, etc was available.

The exercise room looked like it was still being renovated but was still open to guests. There was a handful of equipment to choose from like a treadmill, bike and some light weights. Probably not the best place if you’re used to a proper gym. It is hidden away past the breakfast area so was very quiet. It still needs more work done to it.

Although being a 10 minute shuttle ride from the airport, it wasn’t noisy and with it taking only 20 minutes to get downtown by Skytrain from nearby Bridgeport station (5 – 10 minute walk), it’s a cheaper alternative to downtown. Also, Lansdowne Mall and Richmond Mall are a few Skytrain stops south, which came in handy for shopping, eating, etc. Vancouver is so good that I would visit again and I would stay in this hotel to do it. Despite the very minor faults, it makes a good base to explore Vancouver from.

Room Tip: Check the website for deals on rooms as savings can be had
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
602 helpful votes 602 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

They are remodeling, that being said, if you are on a budget and want a clean, friendlyl place, this is for you. They have free airport shuttle. They are within a short walk to the train. a day pass for train is $6.00 senior, $9.00 adult and you can easily get in and out to downtown VanCouver.
They have cruise to port transportation packages avail when you book hotel, if you want.
They are right by Cosco. They have free internet in lobby.
The have bar and restaurant on premises.
The continential breakfast is very nice, with fruit, eggs, etc.
We did not have car. Took airport free shuttle to hotel. Next day took train to downtown vanCouver.....took train to airport.....and then used free shuttle back to hotel. or you can just take the train back to Richmond and walk short distance to hotel. We traveled with another couple and we both would return to this hotel again. It is not plush, not fancy, but clean and friendly and centrally located with a good free breakfast.

Room Tip: We booked on line and included the cruise package for transportation to cruise port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This Hotel provided a Shuttle to and from the Airport, very handy. The Abercorn has an oldy worldly feel. A nice greeting awaited us. The room was very large, with two queen beds, very nice when you have been traveling for a number of hours. Very clean, and not overly noisy, considering there was a busy main road. There was a restaurent with this hotel, and we enjoyed a nice meal before retiring to bed. There was free car parking. We also had a buffet breakfast included, which had cerials, juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, pastries. Scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, tea/coffee, very good. The abercorn was a short walk from the bus station, so that was easy to make our way into Vancouver. A nice two night stay here, would recommend,for the convenience of having a shuttle service, and the ease to get into Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I was at the Abercorn Inn for business meetings two days in a row and was truly surprised. Upon looking at the exterior of the hotel, I assumed it wasn't going to be anything special but I was very wrong. The meeting room we were in was comfortable, and a great size. The refreshments that were provided were delicious, and it is my understanding that they are made by the hotel. The room I stayed in was great - king sized bed with a plasma screen T.V., and I loved the Scottish touches through out the hotel and guest rooms. The most incredible thing about the hotel was the restaurant - the Highlander. It has a small menu, but the dishes are incredible. They are fresh and flavourful, absolutely wonderful. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Richmond area, especially for the convenient proximity to the Vancouver Airport.

Room Tip: Backside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.